We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Burger Bar

Mel's Burger Bar
2850 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-7829 (Manhattan)
212-865-7100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,799 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A surprisingly good burger, with great selections of toppings. Even attentive service. And they have tamed the noise level to where you don't have to yell to communicate with others at the table. A few years in and Mel's seems to have hit its stride.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
415 helpful votes 415 helpful votes
“It's a Burger Bar and the Burgers Don't Disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a good, woody bar near Columbia and the sandwiches do not disappoint. The chicken cheese and bacon sandwich is like a patty melt only with chicken. The burgers and shakes take center stage. I personally loved the WTF Burger...American cheese, bacon, pickles, special sauce, cole slaw and great fries. There is a large and inviting burger menu and other food as well. The "hot mess" Burger is a little hot and messy for my taste, but is appealing to the spicier crowd. Generally, the burgers remind me a little of the Shake Shack at Citi Field. (That's a compliment).
On this football Sunday, some of my companions were a little put off by a College guy screaming for blood as he cheered on the Chicago Bears. (I notice other reviewers here referencing "noisy" Columbia students) and on any given Sunday or any given time, the place can be noisy. But this place does not have pretensions of being a calm romantic eatery. It bills itself as a burger joint. So its claims are modest and it delivers on those narrow claims. The drinks are really good with a decent selection of wines, bourbons, whiskeys etc. Service was OK. Actually pretty good.
The Bears came back and won so the obnoxiously loud guy went home happy. I'd go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Smart Eating by Columbia University”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice food spot near Columbia University. Nice atmosphere, good quality food, a bit pricey, but I'll eat here again.

Good:
-California burger
-Hangover breakfast (was alright nothing crazy)
-Make Your Own Omelette (more value & food)
-Ask for the "milkshake of the month" (pumpkin pie shake was delish)

Bad:
-a bit overpriced

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for the in-laws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Much to my surprise, my husband and I went there with my in-laws, at THEIR request! They had been there previously, and despite the loud college atmosphere, they enjoyed the food so much they asked to go back there. The burgers are great! This time I tried a veggie patty, and I was not disappointed. I had been there one or twice before and ordered, again, a Siberian Husky shake (cookies and cream ice cream, kahlua, vodka)... yum!
The ONLY thing was ... if you ask sides on your burger, open it before you take the first bite, because you might not have really gotten the cheese/avocado/onion or whatever you asked for. Also, if you ask for apple pie, you may just get... pecan pie! The runner's explanation is "sorry, we don't have apple pie, so we give you this instead". When the waitress comes, she points to the pecan pie and says "this IS the apple pie!".. um... no, it's not. It was sort of funny anyway, lol.
HOWEVER, I have to admit, we were a hard table and the manager was very nice - he came to the table, apologized, and gave us a voucher to return for dinner another night.
Maybe when the in-laws want to go to dinner again, we'll go someplace else, but my husband and I will surely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Burgers, beers & boys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is very fun- full of Columbia boys chugging "growlers" ie large containers of beer. Food is great too- we did a Groupon and got two free "growlers" of wheat beer. Kicked off Saturday night with a bang!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Burger Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.