We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Apartments to your Saves list
Metro Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   440 West 41st Street, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel amenities
Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I actually didn’t expect much before arriving to this apartments hotel. It looks a bit gloomy on the internet photos but, boy, was I surprised!
The hotel has a terrific location, just 5-6 minutes walk from Times Square and right next to a subway station (on 42nd's). The apartments are newly renovated and are very pleasant on the eyes, comfortable and just shipshape! There is a fully equipped kitchenette in every apartment, cable TV and internet connection. The staff is just amazing, very kind and helpful. They're always smiling and happy to give directions or recommendations.
I'm happy that I've found this place and I'm really looking forward to visit again!

Room Tip: ask for a renuvated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    132
    61
    27
    27
See reviews for
79
118
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We just got back from a 12 night stay in room 9b. We are pretty sure that we were the 1st people to use the room, it had that lovely brand new smell when we opened the door. The studio was spacious, came with a large multi channel TV, Ipod dock and well equipped kitchen and bathroom. Great views of the city by day and night. There is construction work going on over the road but as we were out and about a great deal this was not a problem. Have to say that New York drivers do like to honk their horns, so ear plugs could still be a good idea.

The security staff were all very friendly and the check in and out was very smooth. Left our bags with them after checking out on our final morning, whilst we hit the streets for the last time.

As for the area, some previous comments indicate that the area was dangerous, I would strongly disagree. It's true that their are some homeless people to be found around the junction of 9th ave and 41st/42nd st and in the Port Authority building. However these people were no threat at all, treat them with respect as human beings and all should be fine. 9th avenue is great for food, so many different choices on offer. The Theatre Row Diner just over the road is a great breakfast option.

Very, very easy to get around from here using subway and bus service.

Room Tip: Go high for the views and ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Nothing wrong with this place. It does exactly what you want it too. It may appear tatty in the reception and lifts but the rooms are OK and they are clean. The staff were also very helpful and friendly people. Only issue was the noise from the traffic but that wouldn't stop me from staying here again. Good location also.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

There are very mixed reviews of Metro Apartments, which seem largely to do with whether the guests were allocated a new or old room. The block is in the process of being renovated - floors 9, 10, 11 and 12 consist of brand new rooms, with gorgeous shower rooms, frequently balconies, large queen-sized beds with brand new linen, sparkling kitchenettes (with filter coffee machines, fridges, hobs, microwave ovens and fantastic crockery and cooking equipment), large hanging cupboards, hairdryers, and desks with phones, modems (usable via ethernet cables), and flatscreen TVs. The lower floors (floors 2-8) haven't been renovated, and are much smaller and more tired-looking. The apartments on the back of the building overlook the roads leading into the Port Authority Bus Terminal and are pretty noisy (especially if you're on the lower floors). (The rooms at the front are quite noisy too, because it's situated on a fairly busy road, but it's no more so than most hotels in NYC). So make sure that, if you're not allocated a new room, you ask immediately to change to one that has been renovated. We were initially allocated an old studio apartment, on floor 8, at the back of the building; but the office staff were very friendly and helpful and moved us without hesitation to a brand new studio apartment. In fact, the room was so new that the boiler wasn't hooked up, so there wasn't any hot water - but again, the staff were fantastic, and moved us immediately (even though it was the middle of the night when we discovered there wasn't any hot water) to a new room in which everything worked perfectly. They couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating.
I'd wholeheartedly recommend Metro Apartments - it's a fantastic location, within walking distance of much of Manhattan. For the quality of the renovated apartments, it's absolutely brilliant value - about half the price of many of the hotels in the area. But do bear in mind it's an apartment block, not a hotel - so the rooms aren't cleaned during your stay, and there isn't a restaurant, or breakfast provided. And as long as you're prepared to be tolerant of a bit of a few glitches concerned with the renovation (ie. the check-in area is currently located in a temporary office room, which is a little chaotic), then you'll have a great time. Just make sure you ask for a renovated room, situated (if possible) toward the front of the building.

Room Tip: We stayed in a newly renovated studio apartment (room 9B), at the front of the building, and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I just got back from a one night stay at the Metro Apartments. I was going on a budget and this was the right price for us. We paid $167.00 (including tax) a night which is nothing compared to all the other hotels. I'm not a super picky person and going into this I wasn't expecting a five star hotel. We just needed a place to crash for the night.

When we arrived the lobby entrance was closed and we had to enter through an alternate entrance. The man working the "front desk" was a little over dramatic. There was only one other family in the make-shift lobby with us and he was about to have a panic attack from being overwhelmed. You just have to bear with him and get past his frazzled rudeness and you'll be fine. The elevators are a little shady, only took it one and then used the stairs. This was a bit of an inconvenience since we were on the 5th floor.

The room was clean...a lot cleaner than what I was expecting considering the price. The bedding was clean with no stains and there were no mice or cockroaches in site. The bathroom was also clean, no mold, but the grout on the floor that was supposed to be white was black. We just put a towel on the floor so we didn’t have to look at it. There is a nice size mini fridge, microwave, sink, and cabinets for you to use if you are staying for a longer period of time. Everything in the kitchenette was clean as well.

Over all it was a good experience. No major problems with rodents, or bugs of any sort. The location was great, within walking distance of Time Square and Rockefeller Center. It was also easy to find, about a block from the Lincoln Tunnel. There is a bit of noise but you are statying in the city so it goes hand in hand. It wasn't extremely loud and it didn't keep us up all night. I would defiantly stay her again for a night or two. Great if you are trying to stay on a budget and aren't expecting a five star experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This was what I would classify as a roach motel. I literally saw a roach in the room. Yuck! By far, the worst place I have ever stayed. The only positive thing was how close it was to Times Square. The pictures on the site were very misleading. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Booked a three night stay in early December. Got to the hotel around 1:15pm and checked in. Women working the desk was not exactly a pro, couldn't find our reservation, but asked for help from a manager and realized we indeed had booked a room. We got to the room, tossed our luggage inside and left to explore the city for the day. Got back to the room around 11pm, lay down on the bed, my wife starts screaming. She saw a mouse running around the floor. We booked a room at a hotel elsewhere and were able to get a refund. Plain and simple, it is very dirty and a perhaps a health risk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments

Address: 440 West 41st Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New York, this 101-room apartment hotel is near Javits Convention Center, New York, New York, United States of America, Times Square, and Broadway. Other nearby points of interest includes Empire State Building. At the Metro Apartments Hotel, you’ll discover comfortable, relaxed accommodations just minutes from Times Square, at the beginning of Hell's Kitchen and a conveniently located near the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. Our affordable apartment hotel is a convenient alternative to the many other accommodations in New York City and is the perfect choice for your extended stay vacation. You’ll enjoy easy access to the city’s diverse neighborhoods, exciting attractions, shops and restaurants. Come discover your New York City home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.