We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Staff And Location, Thin Walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #14 of 457 Hotels in New York City
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Great Value, Staff And Location, Thin Walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This is a really good hotel if you get a good rate. I love the theater district/hell's kitchen area. Everything about it ticked all the right boxes. The only exceptions were that when I checked in the sheets had not been changed or at least not change well since there were hairs on the. This was taken care of immediately and very nicely. Also the walls between rooms are quite thin and I could hear the guests on both sides of me. This did not interfere with sleep since our schedules all seemed to match up but it could have. I would say stay here if you get a good rate. If not there are better options.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    323
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
433
550
43
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We were looking for a ideally located hotel between xmas and New Year's that wouldn't break our budgets and wasn't full of bed bugs. The Pearl Hotel is new and right in the heart of midtown. We also booked our hotel at an incredible rate for this time of year. The staff are helpful and friendly. The first thing the desk clerk did was to upgrade our room to a suite. The suite was more than enough room for two people. We are used to small rooms at an inflated price in NYC, the Pearl delivered. Added bonus was a free continental breakfast on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and modern with flat screen tvs and a beautiful modern shower that spays from the ceiling, so it looks like its raining. Checkout the lobby with real pearl inlaid in the floor.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

The Pearl Hotel was a wonderful choice for our family's visit to NYC. Our original reservation for the Monday after Christmas was easily pushed back one night due to the blizzard that took place. Our room was perfect for our family of four-queen, queen, sleep sofa. Bathroom was lovely and everything was new and clean. Great minibar with coffee maker, fridge, sink and microwave. Location was excellent. Amy, the Concierge, was terrific in helping us get theatre tickets (before we arrived) and restaurant reservations (after we arrived.) Continental breakfast (bagels, cereal, danishes, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice) was a nice way to start the day. In the evening there were cookies, milk, tea, coffee and wine available. Building is still under some construction (lobby, breakfast area), but don't let that stop you from choosing The Pearl. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed at the Pearl for one night between reservations elsewhere, and found it to be just great even though it is still a bit under construction on the 2nd floor. Our room was huge compared to most NY hotel rooms, and we got our best night of sleep of the whole trip. The bathroom is large and very functional, with a kind of European shower system that we enjoyed. They have a nice fitness room which my 16 year old daughter and I used, a continental breakfast in an area that will be delightful once the construction is done, and the employees were so friendly and helpful. It's also right across the street and next door to two Broadway theatres, at the moment playing Fela and Chicago. I did run into one woman who had her room moved because she could hear the elevators, so be aware of that. Our room was totally silent. Very much recommend the Pearl!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Belvedere which belongs to the same group, couple of years back and was very pleased so wanted to stay in Pearl this time. The property is located at a very quiet street but within 5 minutes walk from the Time Square. The room was spacious and clean, queen beds were comfy, bathroom was spacious. The only issue is that if you get up late, you'll have to wait patiently for hot water. Breakfast is okay but be there early otherwise you'll end up with very limited choice. They are still constructing so I hope they will improve with time. The reception is very courteous and allowed me to check in early and check out late. I want to commend Juliet ( or Janet) for that. The doormen were very nice greeted us everytime. The free WIFI was an added bonus and kept my two teeanagers busy. My overall experience was excellent. I would recommend the hotel to families.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aracaju, SE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

After looking for several hotels which accepted 4 people in the same room, we found The Pearl, a new hotel near Times Square. When we arrived there, the hotel wasn'n even inaugured - the reception was still in reformation - , but everything was clean and new and the room, it was terrific! Firstly, it's a large room, very big to NYC models. The bathroom is also big, provided with excelend Avena products. There is a coffee machine, a microwave and a frigobar. A flatscreem TV, a modern IHome and a spacious cupboard complete the space. About the breakfast : different donuts, juices, jams, coffee and cocoa in powder, simple but tasteful(and it is alrealdy included!). Despite the nearness to Times Square, the hotel is located in a quite calm street - the same of Chcago and Fela musicals, and close to lots of them, like Mamma Mia! , with metro stations close to it. On foot, it as easy to go to Midtown, and it is very close to lots of stores and restaurants, as well. To sum up, it was like a gift we received in NY : new, useful and pleasant!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We were so pleased with all aspects of the hotel. There was a little mix-up with the two rooms we reserved, but the staff straigtened it out quickly.
We did have access to three rooms and I was surprised at the difference in the layouts. Each bathroom and closet area were very different. One bathroom was very 'hotel-like', but the other two were awesome. While each bathroom was VERY roomy, the shower sizes varied and one even had a tub plus a shower!!!! The closet sizes varied also and one was really very small.
Amy, the conceirge, was priceless!! SO MUCH HELP!!! Thanks Amy!! The doormen were great and very helpful!! The continental breakfast was "so-so"!! The subway access was a block or two away. Times Square is just right around the corner!! And the noise of the streets was so minimal plus great blackout curtains!!
This was a great girls weekend and if the prices stay this reasonable(by New York standards) we will be back!!!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.