We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #14 of 453 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice,,,,,,,location is key,,,,you would think but no,,,,,,it's the rooms,the employees ,the wine and cheese,the breakfast ,,,,,,in General,,,it's the full package :)) Was a little disappointed in being charge 150 dollars for clean up when my daughter was sick,,,,,,seeing I had what I thought most cleaned,,,,,but manager was very understandable and reduced the amount .All in all,,,,a perfect place to stay for those wanting to be in the middle of things:)))))

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    304
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
417
512
42
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Vale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on my own. Loved it. The Pearl had just be refurbished, so it felt like a brand new hotel. Fabulous location on W49th Street and just a walk across the road to see the fabulous, "The Book of Morman". Was holed up for Hurricane Irene in 2011 and was very comfortable whilst there. As most hotels in NYC are expensive, this one isn't any different, but was worth every $. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: By online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights, 2 adults and 2 teenagers in room with 2 queen size beds end of May 2014. Room was big enough, very clean and quiet. But it was quite dark (best place for make up was in front of window with hand mirror...). There was no mould, or smells of any kind. Tv also in bathroom. Small kitchenette with microwave and (warm) fridge. Complimentary Wifi worked very well and is important detail. Also breakfast was good enough, even maybe not best solution on environmentally, since all plates, tools etc are plastic and trash after use.

Beds springs made strange squeezing sound when moved on it, but you get used to it in few nights! Mattresses were little too soft for me, but that is maybe just personal opinion.

Location is perfect, atleast for first timers, you can walk easily to theatres, restaurants, subway, attractions etc. Only disappointment was when we started to check for taxi to airport, doorman told, that he can get good deal for bigger car, since he thought we could not fit into taxi (not even big ones, that drives infront fo hotel all the time). Flatrate for taxi is 52 $, he make reservation more or less by himself and told it is special price 100$ for SUV. He also informed driver instructions and I confirm him the price before getting into car. At airport driver told it is 120 $ + tip. So, 140 $, when 52-65 would have been enough. Own fault, but it is easy to get transport by yourself.

Anyway, would absolutely return to The Pearl next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at The Pearl. It was our first trip to NYC. My husband and I went with two other couples, and this hotel was amazing. We were upgraded to a king suite (complimentary). The continental breakfast was very good with a good choice of pastries, bagels, toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, etc. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and quite large. The rooms came with robes, and I was pleasantly surprised to find out the hotel uses Philosophy products. We stayed on the 8th floor and heard very little to no street noise. This hotel is in a perfect spot in the Theater District..just a half a block from time square. Gershwin Theater (Wicked) is behind the hotel. It is a very short walk to Rockefeller Center and Central Park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone always spoke to us when we were leaving and entering. I can't imagine finding a better hotel for NYC!! We would love to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was located just off times square and was in the heart of the theatre district. It was lovely and clean and the staff were very helpful, especially Julliet at reception. Think of this hotel as an upmarket premier inn and that's what you get. We had breakfast each morning it had a simple spread but it was very tasty and fresh. The restaurant next doors food looked good but we just had a drink in it. If you want a clean hotel that's at the heart of everything well look no further.........

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was the best hotel that I have every stayed in while in New York City. It was a great location, close to Times Square, the subway, restaurants, Starbucks. Wonderful, safe area to walk around in. The hotel was clean, clean, clean and had a wonderful fresh smell in both the hallways and the rooms. The rooms supplied Philosophy skin and hair products, one of my favorite to use at home. The Continental breakfast was great and between 4-5 in the afternoon there was complimentary wine served. The rooms were nice a quite, no street noise.

Room Tip: we stayed in 1007 nice a quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

2 teenage girls & 2 mothers went on a trip to New York not knowing what to expect from our hotel since we were told finding a nice size room in New York was impossible. WELL!! NOT SO HERE! Our room had 2 queen beds and a very spacious bathroom. We were in room 507 close to elevator but we had not disturbance whatsoever. We were within walking distance to most of our attractions we had plan to visit but far enough where we didn't hear all the hustle & bustle from the street. Complimentary breakfast gave us the kick start we needed. I would defiantly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.