We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for seeing Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #13 of 451 hotels in New York City
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great base for seeing Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here for Fri/Sat night in May. Room was comfortable, newly decorated and spacious (we were on the 14th floor) and didn't break the bank. Excellent location, immediately opposite The Book of Mormon show (so handily placed to enter the $32 front row ticket lottery that closes two hours before Showtime - we managed to get drawn out so got to buy 2 fantastic tickets for $64, probably about 10% of the normal price).

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast is the usual fayre of cereals, fruit, drinks, yoghurt and bakery items but plentiful and the 4pm free wine and snacks were very welcome. Complimentary coffee, crisps (that's chips to American readers) and biscuits were available all day.

We were celebrating our birthdays and let the hotel know in advance; when we arrived a birthday card and bottle of wine were waiting for us.

Would thoroughly recommend the Pearl and would happily stay there again if/when we return to New York.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    941
    302
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
388
479
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

What a find! The Pearl Hotel is an absolutely fantastic hotel and is an equally great bargain. The location couldn't be better (you're steps away from Times Square, Central Park, theatre district, etc). The rooms were very comfortable, clean, and modern with thoughtful touches. Great beds and pillows. The staff during all shifts were wonderful and incredibly helpful, and went beyond the expected to give a warm welcome to the city. There is also a tasty continental breakfast and coffee all day. Wouldn't hesitate a second to recommend this hotel-- it's perfect for families, friends, couples and people who look forward to having the best of NYC at their fingertips. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I tend to stay in smal boutique hotels when we come into the city. This was our first time at The Pearl and probably will not be our last. From check-in to check-out, the staff was friendly and helpful. As we were celebrating our anniversary, I had informed them of that when I booked, and asked for a quiet room. They wished us "Happy Anniversary" on check-in and we found a bottle of champagne in our lovely and quiet room. Very comfortable bed, more than adequate drawer space, and nice bathroom amenities. Complimentary wi-fi, continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were aded bonuses.

Room Tip: We had room 706, which didn't have much of a view, but was nice and quiet, which is what we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Right across from the Book of Mormon. Wine in the evening - Breakfast in the morning. And even hard boiled eggs on the continental breakfast for carb conscious dieters like myself. the rooms are clean and spacious. the bathrooms are well laid out. If you ask for a high floor they accomodate if possible the restaurant next door has a great filet. i was surprised becuase it is not on eof the big steakhousese but i think it was better than most i have had in the city. Woudl love to have a better comforter on the bed. that woudl be my only suggestion.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Pearl Hotel while we were in mid town Manhattan for a night at the theater. This is our second stay at The Pearl Hotel is was just as memorable and nice as the first time. The Staff at the front desk is really the best it was raining during our stay and we would always forget the umbrella in our room . Each time we went down to the lobby to go out the doorman and the front desk would always offer to let us use one of the umbrellas they had at the front desk. This Hotel is really in a great location to most of Manhattan and close to the all the major Transportation hubs . One staff member in particular was always on her A game Donna was just the best very professional always make sure everything was fine with the room and any directions we needed.

Room Tip: if you want quiet request a room away from the view of 49th street .However if you have a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertzeliya
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed for the second time at the Pearl hotel for 5 nights and I must say that this hotel is by far the best hotel I stayed in.
The hotel has a great location right in the center of the city yet it is a very quit hotel. The rooms are very clean and big and especially the bathroom (they even have makeup towels).
The staff was amazing very friendly, kind and helpful.
The hotel also has complementary breakfast, wi-fi and happy hour with cheese and wine between 4pm - 5pm.

I would definitely return to The Pearl and highly recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I went to "the pearl" hotel because a really good friend of mine recommended.
The location is just perfect - right in the middle of everything, and the rooms are really nice and clean.

Well worth the money

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Boutique, Charm...
Show More
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#1 of 451 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,387 reviews
Boutique, Roman...
Show More
Manhattan
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#6 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Manhattan
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#16 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#15 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Charming, Free...
Show More
Manhattan
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#3 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,443 reviews
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
Manhattan
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#30 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.