We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #14 of 452 hotels in New York City
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Modern hotel in a relatively quiet location in the theatre district opposite the Eugine O'Neil Theatre. Friendly, efficient staff. Rooms spacious and clean. Relaxed atmosphere. A good hotel for your visit to New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    920
    298
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
403
491
41
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Small, but a very complete hotel. Excellent service, room and location! We've arrived at the hotel around 3:30am, because we've had a very bad experience at The Time Hotel - they overbooked the hotel - and the Front Officer was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I took my son into the city to see a play and thought it would be nice to stay over. I researched some hotels in the times square area and this one had some nice reviews. The Pearl is a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our sstay very much. When we checked in we were supposed to get a reguar room with 2 double beds. I am always leary that they will not give you what they promised but we got the double beds and an upgrade to a suite! The room was bigger than somepeoples apartments, nice sitting area with tv bedroom was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was a wonderful size with separate shower and bath. The stay included a wine/ cheese our from 4-5 and breakfast the next morning. That was a treat not to have to go looking for breakfast before we ventured out. I can't wait to go back and stay over again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just got back after 4 nights in New York where we stayed in this small (compared to normal New York hotels) but very friendly and perfectly located hotel. Situated on W49th Street between Broadway and 8th Avenue it is right in the middle of 'theatre land'. Times Square is just 2 minutes walk away. Easy walking distance to Central Park, the Rockefeller Centre, Empire State Building and Grand Central Station (amazing building and you must try the 'whispering gallery'). A few Metro stations also within a very short walk. The starting points for the Uptown and Downtown 'hop-on/hop-off' tour buses was also just around the block on 8th Avenue (the night time trip is a must see). The hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean. You could almost fit a family of 4 in the shower. A good verity of snacks and hot drinks were available 24-7 without any extra charge. A very good continental style breakfast was included. Our only complaint would be that the dining area was very small but you could take your breakfast back to your room if you wanted to. We had originally booked the Waldorf but changed to The Pearl after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were so glad we did as we saw that it was undergoing renovation work with scaffold around most of the building and the location was not as good as The Pearl. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor (only one from the top) on the north side and heard only the faint sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Oh, Pearl Hotel, how I miss thee! This is, by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in, not only in NYC, but anywhere!

We were a party of three and I was the last to arrive. I was asked if we were celebrating anything and a few minutes later, there was a knock on our door and a special gift for us on the other side. This started off our stay quite nicely.

We were staying in a queen suite and all the amenities were fantastic! The beds were ultra-comfortable and we enjoyed the living area each day. It was a nice place to eat, relax and watch some television.

The bathroom was spacious and I loved the separate shower and bathtub. The shower was divine! The water cascades from overhead while you have the option of a hand-held wand. It was an experience I won't soon forget.

The staff can make a break a business, and the employees here make the stay all the more wonderful. Every single person was kind, friendly and helpful.

Continental breakfast was so-so and we only made the wine hour one night. The area on the second floor where they hold both became hangout spot for us a few times.

Finally, the location is superb! We walked to just about every thing we wanted to go to. There is a subway stop two blocks away and another about four or five blocks.

Oh, and how can I forget about the FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel! And it was fast!

Stay here if you have the means (it is a bit pricey, but worth every dime!)

Room Tip: The room I was in faced a theater where the Book of Mormon was playing at the time. It wasn't ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

One word AMAZING as always, 2nd visit this time alone on business was great from start to finish, staff great room great every thing great. Location could not fault 8th ave some really good eats and drinks will be returning next year for our 3rd visit.

Stayed April 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We spent a week at the Pearl and found the hotel to be exactly as described on the TA reviews. The hotel is ideally situated for easy access to Times Square, the subway and numerous Broadway shows. The staff were very cordial and accomodating to most every request. The room was clean and spacious. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I were to return to NYC.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra $$ to get a 10th floor balcony unless you just absolutely feel the need to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.