We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book direct and SAVE !!
Ranked #13 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New York Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We recently spent a few days vacationing in New York City and decided to stay at the Pearl Hotel. We enjoyed this gem of a little hotel very much. It was clean, well managed and with very friendly staff. The continental breakfast was excellent and included a good variety of items with excellent coffee. One of the highlights was the free happy hour wine and cheese offered by the hotel every afternoon. Both white and red wine of a very good quality were served. In addition there were excellent cheeses, veggies, dips, fruits and crackers. The lounge where it was served was restful and airy with many comfortable seaing areas.

The location of the hotel - right off of Times Square was fantastic. On our first evening, we walked out and in 3 minutes were in the middle of Times Square!

The room was a deluxe room with two queen size beds. The bathroom was great with a huge rain-fall shower and a full deep tub! Also there was a vanity and sink outside the bathroom. The room was also furnished with a microwave oven and a mini-fridge.

Climate control was impeccable and the beds were comfortable.

The only complaints were 1) there was a whining sound coming from outside somewhere but the hotel corrected the problem the very evening I complained about it and 2) there is very little closet space - the already small closet is compromised by the personal safety vault which projects out into usable space. We were a family of four and there was hardly room for me to hang up my shirts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    360
    42
    8
    9
See reviews for
472
609
48
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was a awesome place. Very relaxing. Wife love the bathroom very roomy and the decor was very nice. Great location mins away from Time Square walking distance. Perfect for visiting the Design district, Rockefeller plaza, Trump tower and ect.... When we come back again that is were we are staying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff of this hotel was extremely courteous. This was the first trip to New York City for my sister and I, and they made our stay well worth it. The rooms have a modern design and are very spacious. It's a really quick walk to Time Square and subway. There's also a really nice restaurant in the hotel. I'll definitely be staying at The Pearl Hotel on my next trip to New York City.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Pearl at the beginning of December. We stayed in a queen room with two queen beds. Very spacious but small bathroom. Once in the room you don't hear a thing from the other rooms or traffic outside. Complimentary breakfast was lovely.. And the wine hour was great!! Perfect start to the evening. Reception staff were always welcoming and polite. On one occasion the doorman was a bit rude but on all other occasions the alternative doorman was lovely. Couldn't do enough to help. Perfect location too!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Pearl for 4 days. The staff was fantastic and very service minded. In the 2nd floor they has a free lounge with coffee and the around the clock, cheese and wine at 4 PM and at no charge at all. Free wifi in the hotel and the rooms. The room was nice and clean with a good standard and the location close to Times Square was great. We will absolutely be back at this hotel again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Four of us had two rooms for three nights starting Feb 14th. A five minute walk from Time Square. Six minute walk to the subway. Nicely laid out rooms with comfortable linens, beds and pillows. The bathroom in 705 has a wonderful shower. The bathrooms were very nice. Included breakfast is a bonus too. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location makes it a great base for seeing New York. Will be returning for sure.

Room Tip: Seventh floor rooms 704 is at the front of the hotel and 705 is at the back of the hotel. 705 has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great location right by Times Square and all of the eating, drinking, shopping, sight seeing, people watching, nuttiness that entails. The rooms were very nice and modern and the beds great. The front desk wasn't super friendly, but very businesslike and efficient so that's fine. Close to Hell's kitchen too so lots of really good restaurants in walking distance.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.