We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient hotel in theatre land” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #13 of 451 hotels in New York City
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Efficient hotel in theatre land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Everything works, well trained staff, good restaurant next door. Good value by New York's inflated standards. Mainly a tourist hotel, slow internet service. While a very central mid-town location this is a pretty tacky district - but that's not the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    898
    288
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
390
479
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose The Pearl because it was listed as #12 on Trip Advisor--that was really our main reason--also it looked very nice and at $600 per night (we chose a larger room for higher price) we expected it to be lovely.

I don't want to be nasty--the service was nice, the room was spacious although no great amenities.

We were disappointed that there was no lobby--as in, lobby bar for a pre-theatre drink and people-watching. On arrival we were invited to the wine and cheese from 4-5 (?!) -- not great red or white in plastic wine glasses, cheese cubes on paper plates. What? Breakfast was the same--plastic plates, forks, etc. and a menu that ranks with the best Motel 6. We thought the mattresses were
exceptionally bad--tossed and turned. People banged on nearby doors around 3am and that lasted intermittently until about 4--drunk and loud guests made it more unpleasant.

We checked out and went to another hotel, $100/night less and it was sublime. Someone needs to have a talk with The Pearl--unless I'm the only person on the planet who thinks the way I do.

Room Tip: ROOM was ok, and location is great for theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here in Nov 2013 for a short 4 night NYC break.
Location is very good - literally a 5 min walk to Times Square.
Flew in from the UK to Newark, and after looking at options for getting to the hotel went for the bus which leaves at Stand 2 just outside the terminal - $16 per person one way and drops off on 7th Ave and 42nd St (I think!) - short walk to Times Square.
Hotel is quite easy to find and doorman welcoming - although reception staff not quite so (did arrive early-ish - 1pm - so room wasn't quite ready - although reception more than happy to store baggage). Don't know what it was, but the initial welcome wasn't quite what you'd come to expect from hotels in the US - which are usually very good.
Anyway, stored bags and went for a walk - visited Madame Tussauds on 42nd St - v good!
By this time went back and room was ready. Again, very stylish in the 'boutique' style - but lighting levels were very dim! Is this a NYC thing? Found this to be the case in a few bars and restaurants?
High standard of decor, heat was comfortable and controllable, well appointed room and bathroom - fridge in room - although empty - ideal for storing water etc.
I'd read TA and asked for a 10th floor room at the back and away from the elevator - all catered for.
First night ate at 'Lillie's' just along from the hotel - very good - the Filet Mignon was very good and not too pricey.
Continental breakfast on Level 2 is included and, although self service with plastic / disposable plates / cutlery - was all ok and provided enough choice to set yourself up for the day.
All in all I would say a 'Recommended' - reception just need to work on that initial welcome a little!

Other 'must do's' I did:
Top of the Rock (go to the top of the Rockerfellar Centre for the best view in town)
Walk through Central Park up to the Metropolitan Museum of Art (...you could spend a few days in here and still not see it all)
Walk from the top of 5th Ave all the way down to China Town - a few miles but well worth the experience
Liberty Island - followed a tip and got the Water Taxi around the bay instead of actually going to the Island
Times Square after dark - just to see it!
World Trade Centre memorial - very peaceful and thought provoking - also the new 1 World Trade Centre building is a sight to behold!
Take in a show - saw 'Jersey Boys' in the August Wilson Theatre - Excellent!

Avoid: Applebee's on 50th and Broadway - billed as the largest Applebee's - avoid - awful meal and service - such a shame when there are so many restaurants to choose from that I 'wasted' an evening meal here (have used this chain before in Florida and they were excellent - this one isn't!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We traveled to NYC for business, and stayed the weekend. It was centrally located, and a fantastic value! The room was very nice. It was large, clean, and modern. (Especially by NYC standards!) We found it surprisingly quiet for the location. They always had fresh, delicious lemon water in the lobby. Our reservation included a free breakfast. I've had many free hotel breakfasts. Most of them leave something to be desired. The Pearl's was quite good. They could have had more fruit options, but the baked goods were great! The only thing that could have been better was the gym. It was small, and didn't have much equipment variety. Overall, we were impressed, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our wonderful experience started as soon as we arrived. Having had a turgid 2 hour journey from airport terminal, then via 2 other terminals and 4 other prior hotel drops, the warm welcome from the porter and reception desk was just what was needed. We asked for a high level room and received that and the receptionist pointed that out as we had asked for it. There are many nice touches around the hotel i.e. fresh water on tap, the complimentary cheese and wine every afternoon 4pm - 5pm and the complimentary continental breakfast. Nice feather pillows. The location is superb with being 50 yards off Broadway and just above Times Square to get around and the Subway on 50th is just round the corner. We strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Pearl was a great place to stay. It is centrally located with very nice rooms. The staff was helpful and always very courteous. We will certainly recommend this hotel to friends visiting New York.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to NYC. What a surprise! Wonderful staff, clean rooms, great location right smack in the middle of everything yet pleasantly quiet.Windows that open for fresh air. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.