We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location in the centre of Times Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book direct and SAVE !!
Ranked #13 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb location in the centre of Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 5 times now over the last 2 years and it is the best in New York for location and size of rooms. As it's last renovation is not that far in the past the rooms are modern and fresh and have little kitchen area with proper fridge, microwave, good size flat screen TV and contemporary bathrooms. Rooms are also reasonably quiet for where it is. Try to get a room higher up. Staff at reception are alright but I have seen better. Bellmen are very nice and courteous. Of all the hotels I stayed in I would always look at the pearl first however due to pricy rooms at peak seasons the company travel policy doesn't always allow it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    399
    44
    9
    10
See reviews for
531
674
53
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we planned a long weekend of Broadway shows, we immediately booked The Pearl. It was our second stay at the hotel. It's perfectly located for shows, dining and shopping. Christian, our concierge, was great. We plan to keep going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and very clean. We loved the complimentary breakfast and the wine hour. A great retreat for such a busy city. And the location was ideal for someone who wants to be in the heart of Times Square.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed one night at the pearl. The hotel location is very near the main broadway attractions and times square. The hotel staff is very friendly and cooperative, we asked and got a room on the top floor. The room was very large (30 sq meters at least) but the view was mostly blocked by the nearby buildings.
Breakfast was ok but not exceptional, not to meny vegetables (continental).

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were here for a week in May and had requested a quiet room as we were concerned about the noise on New York's streets. We were delighted with our lovely, super-quiet room away from the hustle and bustle. It was perfect to return to after a busy day. The room was spacious and very clean and although the bed was a bit too soft for our liking it was large and reasonably comfortable. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. We will definitely be recommending this marvellous little hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at The Pearl for a week from may 4th to May -11th.the booking was made entirely based on the reviews on this website.the room was big and spacious, with an excellent bathroom,the shower was excellent and separate tub was great too. Everything was very clean, I couldn't believe this as I I have traveled a lot and I have never found a clean hotel, as they claim to be. The coffee making machine intake room with a microwave was great as we could make our own coffee anytime and warm any takeaways without the need to throw them away.Location location, what can I say, so close to Times Square and Central Park and everywhere you'd want to go. It was even a $10taxi fare to the cruise terminal which was great!!!The staff were very nice and accommodating to any requests we made , was able to get a luggage scale and even borrowed their office stapler to staple luggage tags to our luggage.the breakfast was small but sufficient for us, as this was something better than nothing. The wine and cheese house from 4 to 5 was wonderful and I s able to taste some of the American wines which was good.overall I loved our stay at The Pearl, I will highly recommend if you are a clean freak and like everything clean and tidy.Excellent location and facilities.lovely friendly staff.Looking forward to visit New York and stay at your hotel..:).

Room Tip: Quiet side is towards back of hotel. Higher floors are reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent 5 nights here with my mum for my 40 th and her 65th. We got a free upgrade and bottle of wine! Room was lovely. Could fit whole family in the shower! Staff were lovely. They printed tickets for ground zero and our boarding passes for us. Jassina was really sweet. Location was perfect. Next door to Chicago and across from the Book of Mormon. You can buy cheaper tickets on the day at Tkts in Times Square. Popular shows such as Lucky guy, Jersey Town and Motown don't go cheap so boom them in advance. We had a fantastic holiday. Could not fault the hotel or the location. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had 805. No view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#31 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,961 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,616 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,999 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel and Hotwire so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.