We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time and still great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #13 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Second time and still great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Another great visit to this superbly run hotel. It is perfectly located, extremely clean, good sized rooms, wonderful shower, comfortable beds and Philosophy products. What's not to love? Complimentary wine happy hour and breakfast complete the package. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    313
    35
    6
    8
See reviews for
426
531
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times when info overnight broadway show and dinner nights with my wife. Great location.. Prices are not cheap but then this is manhattan but it is clean modern and so cozy . Friendly staff and a nice continental breakfast..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends birthday party. Five girls in the queen deluxe suite. It was great just to be able to stay in one room. It was very nice, clean, very pretty. The staff gave champagne for my friends birthday, sent up a fan upon request, and basically accommodated our needs. It was great location, street noise wasn't too much of a problem. Continental breakfast was a treat. It was a great stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed at The Pearl Hotel for 4 nights from 28th February and had a wonderful holiday. I selected the hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a brilliant location, a few minutes walk from Times Square but also near various subway stops, as well as plenty of restaurants and bars. For two females, we never felt unsafe in this area, and did venture further afield without a worry.

We received a lovely welcome when arriving at the hotel, the customer service at The Pearl is excellent. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the Philosophy products in the bathroom were a lovely bonus. The complimentary breakfast was ideal and we had no trouble getting a seat - although we tended to eat before 8am. The wine hour every day at 4pm was a nice touch and the staff on duty were very friendly, asking us about our day etc.

We had a great holiday and as I plan to visit NY again next year, will definitely be staying at The Pearl.

Tips:
The hop on/hop off bus tours are a great way to see Manhattan. We bought a 48-hour ticket for 54 dollars each, which they extended for the duration of our trip (4 days). The vendors are all over Times Square so you can't miss them. The subway should also be experienced, like London, it's the best way to get across town.

A few doors along from the hotel is a bar called 'Lillies' - brilliant cocktails and live music on a Sunday. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Pearl, just one block from Time Square is an excellent choice if going to New York. We recently went to celebrate my sisters birthday. Our goal was to be close enough to walk to most of the things we wanted to do. With many ladies in one room, we had many requests. All were accommodated quickly and professionally. The complimentary continental breakfast was a nice addition. The facility was very clean and stylish as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I recently spent two nights at The Pearl Hotel. Hotel is a great location, in the heart of broadway. Plenty of great restaurants in the area. I had a 1 bedroom suite, which was very ample in space. Room was very clean and modern. Price was reasonable for NY standards, and offered a nice, nothing fancy, free breakfast.
Whether taking in a broadway show, or in town for business, The Pearl is a nice hidden gem. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights earlier in March. Our trip to NYC was for my wife's birthday and I had mentioned this when making the booking.
Upon arrival we were welcomed by Juliet at reception who was very pleasant and efficient. There was no fuss and she wished my wife a happy birthday. Even though we arrived 21/2 hours before standard check-in, our room was already available and she confirmed that we had been upgraded. Clearly this isn't something that one can expect, but we were delighted to be lucky on this occasion. We were on the 14th (top) floor and had a lovely big King Bed room with a view over the street in front of the hotel.
The room was very large by NY standards. It had a desk as well as two lounge chairs. There was a compact, functional bathroom with Philosophy toiletries and soft towels. There is a mini kitchen area with a sink, microwave and coffee/tea making facilities. There is a proper good size mini fridge which is perfect for storing your water and other drinks etc.
There is a safe and a smallish wardrobe. They also provide a good quality umbrella in the room which is a nice touch. It snowed while we we there so it was needed.
The hotel provides a continental breakfast from 7am. I have to be honest, we weren't expecting very much, but actually it's very good indeed. We were always there before 8am and never had a problem getting a seat, which others seem to had. There are cereals, bread and bagels and toasting machines. There are yoghurts, fresh fruit, croissants and a very good selection of mini danish pastries. There a couple of juices to choose from and tea and coffee. They also had warm hard-boiled eggs. We loved the breakfast. It set us up nicely for the day and saved us having to search for breakfast away from the hotel, so we could get on immediately with shopping and sight-seeing etc. It was also great that the there was a sense of respect where you would throw away you own finished items away once you had finished so you never found the place to be untidy (which can be a problem with buffet breakfasts) and you always left it tidy for the next person.
There is wine and cheese available from about 4pm at the hotel. We tried this once as we happened to be back at that time. It was ok, but I wouldn't plan to be back just for that, but it's a thoughtful touch and indicative of the way that this hotel thinks about its guests.
On the day of my wife's birthday, they left champagne in the room, which again was very thoughtful. On top of the room upgrade, this made the trip very special.
On the day of departure, I asked for a 2hour extension to the check-out time of 12noon. Within 2 minutes of the request I had a call back to confirm that this would be possible at no extra charge. This was very helpful for us and really appreciated.
This is a relatively new hotel in a fantastic location. The majority of reviews on this site are very positive and rightly so. It is actually quite rare to get a hotel in the boutique category, that isn't ultra modern or clinical. The Pearl has a very warm and cosy feel and the management have hired and trained some good staff as everyone was really courteous.
The owners and management have got everything just right here. It never felt busy despite having many guests staying. I really hope that that don't tinker with the current staff and approach. Providing they don't and over time they continue to maintain the quality of the fixtures and fittings and general decor, this hotel has a good future.
I highly recommend that you give this hotel consideration if you are looking to book a trip to New York.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.