We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in a superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #13 of 451 hotels in New York City
Newcastle Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in a superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is one I would stay at again for sure. So close to the action of Times Square and not too far away from Central Park either. There is also a great restaurant attached to the hotel as well which is really good. The only negative thing I would say is about one member of staff who was rude to me but all the others I came across were fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    941
    302
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
388
479
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arrived here with my sister on October 26 for a weekend stay in New York for my mother's 70 birthday gift!!! What a great location to many of the sites of New York. The staff and service here are excellent. Great breakfast offered with a good variety of fresh food. Our hats go off to Juan Valdez who is an awesome employee. Happy hour from 4-5pm is an excellent hotel service. Rooms are clean and roomy. We were supposed to leave on Oct. 29 but were waylaid by hurricane Sandy. The staff were very supportive and there were limited services such as house keeping during this time due to the fact that staff could not get to and from work. The hotel was great about extending our stay until we could finally leave on Nov. 1st. Only draw back was that our hotel room rate increased by $100 for Oct 27 stay, even though services were limited (no house keeping) and no guests were going anywhere at the moment. Brought it up with the manager and she said these were their usual room rates!! You would think given the situation the hotel would take this in to consideration. Business is business I guess. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers we would definitely come back again...but not during hurricane season!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from New York having spent ten days at The Pearl Hotel. The location of this hotel is fantastic. It is close to Time Square, subway access, Rockerfeller Centre and all Broadway Shows. The staff are friendly, accommodating and very helpful. The rooms were well sized and clean with modern features. Aving a breakfast as part of the room price was great with a good selection of cereals, Danishes, fresh bagels, yoghurt and fruit available between 7 and 10 am. The afternoon drinks were a nice way to sit and plan the evening while enjoying a glass of wine and regional cheeses with compliments of the hotel. Overall the Pearl is somewhere we will be returning to in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a family holiday. It was absolutely beautiful and the service was fantastic. It's a very short walk to Times Square. Rooms are beautiful and I would highly recommend the restaurant attached to the hotel, the food was gorgeous!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

As a native New Yorker, I am not impressed by Times Square except its proximity to the theatre. But during Hurricane Irene I did end up at the Pearl for one night. It was a pleasant surprise. Nice rooms, helpful and friendly service and it's near Eighth Avenue instead of in the heart of Times Square so there is access to less touristy restaurants and not as crowded. I enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Having lived in Manhattan much of my life, I am not bothered by street noise while indoors and just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Location - perfect!! Customer Service - outstanding!!Room - fabulous!!
My recent 3rd visit to NYC was the most memorable. We stayed at the Hotel during the Hurricane and found it to be the safest, most caring and considerate spot to be located during a very anxious time. The staff were very friendly especailly the young guys on the door, our concerns or questions were always addressed when we approached reception. We bumped into the Hotel Manager after the Hurricane had completed its destructive pathway through the area and found her to be approachable and very calm considering her responsibility towards her clients and staff's safety. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to visitors to NYC as it has everything you need and more!!! Thank you Pearl.....

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a room that would have any issues ours was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We only stayed one night, but the service from booking to departing was incredible. We were planning to stay with friends on the Upper West side. We found out the week before that we'd have to cut our visit w/ them short by a day and we had tickets to The Book of Mormon. After a lengthy hotel search, we decided on The Pearl, not even realizing the it was right across the street - honestly!! I called the hotel and asked some questions and the operator was very very helpful.
So when the morning arrived of check-in, we knew that we could leave our luggage and continue our NYC adventures. But the manager on duty had other ideas - we were upgraded and got into our room early. The room was really nicely appointed and had a decent view thru other buildings - we could actullay see sky and sunset later on. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, wi-fi easily available, nice free brekfast lay-out too, TV in room & bathroom, bar & fridge, robes, really nice bath!
Concierge helped us w/ subway directions; and @ 2:30 AM some nice person even found us a bottle opener (tee-hee)!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.