We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #15 of 459 Hotels in New York City
oswestry, england
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights and everything about the hotel, the staff, the location was perfect. The rooms are clean and new, and really stylish, with coffeemaker, fridge and microwave, a well stocked bathroom, and a really comfortable bed. I was worried about the noise, but you could barely hear anything from outside and we slept soundly. There's cable TV (with all the English footy games on!) and a huge choice of films, if thats what you want, but of course the main reason for choosing the Pearl was its location - its minutes from Broadway and walking distance from anywhere in Manhattan, useful when the taxis have all run out of gas after Hurricane Sandy! The concierge, and all the staff, are so helpful professional and welcoming - they helped me reorganize our helicopter trip when the company wasnt answering our emails - the hotel got through and sorted it in no time. The breakfast was filling and tasty (I would have liked cold meat but there was plenty of other good stuff).

If I went back I wouldn't look at anywhere else - the weekend we were there there were so many places only a little cheaper with all sorts of horror stories from reviewers, but everything was perfect at the Pearl.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    324
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
435
550
44
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Like other reviewers we stayed during the hurricane. The staff are all friendly and welcoming without being gushing. The rooms and the rest of the hotel were spotless, good quality products in the bathroom and nice robes. A fridge and a microwave plus a coffee machine were all useful when we were holed up with two large children due to the hurricane. Breakfast ranged from cereal, bagels, toast, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts, juices, tea and coffee. It was self service and n plastic plates but plentiful and fresh. We also ate in the E&E grill next door (see separate review). Location is brilliant if you want to be able to walk to Times Square, 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building, Central Park.
We didn't hear the hurricane at all or any noise from the street below. Room 1107 has a bath with a good shower over. Room1105 has a very large shower but no bath. Both are very nice. Floor 11 has only 8bedrooms and I suspect that no floor has more than 10 so this is not one of those hotels full of endless corridors.
The hotel gym is small but adequate if you still have some energy left from the miles of walking you will do.

Room Tip: Room 1107 has a small bathroom with a bath and a powerful shower over. Room 1105 has larger bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We landed in NYC the eve the whole of New York was on lockdown due to Hurricane Sandy, admittedly not the best time to have our first experience of NYC!!

Our first experience of the Pearl is the guy on the door, so pleasant and welcoming, then the staff at the reception who were also really lovely.
We stayed in a deluxe executive king room 1203 with views to the front of the hotel, with a glimpse of the beginning of the lights on times square.

Location is everything and the hotel is 5 mins from times square, 10 mins from the Rock, one block from the Gershwin Theatre - Wicked the show was amazing see it if your here, its a must.
you can also walk to Empire State, Macys, central park - these are all a good walk but when there is no public transport and your in the middle of a hurricane you dont have much choice but to get your wellies and your mac on and get out there to see what you can.

The room we were in was huge with a lovely seating area, small kitchen area with microwave, coffee machine, fridge. Tv in the bathroom and in the main room!!
It was very clean and the bed was soo comfy.

Breakfast was continental but loads of it,tea, coffee, pastries, bagels, cereal, fruit juices, porridge, fruit and yes it was served on plastic plates and cutlery but not your usual white cheap and nasty plastic, i thought it was really good quality and was just fine for what we needed, we certainly didnt need china to enjoy a lovely and plentiful breakfast. Everyone who was working made sure the breakfast supplies were topped up and even in the hurricane.

You cant ask for more than that!!

This hotel is really a genuine joy to stay at, all the staff we encountered were so friendly and very helpful, we would stay here again without doubt, we need to as we didnt get to see all we wanted to because of Hurricane Sandy.

E & E grill next door id also recommend, food was great and so was the staff, who kept the grill open and stayed in the hotel as they couldnt get home and then opened the grill the next day to, excellent.

My husband even left his phone in the hotel which we realised when we got to the airport, a quick email to the hotel before we got onboard the plane and as Im typing this review the Pearl are trying to get the phone back to us.

Thats amazing service, we will hopefully return sometime soon and will definately recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great hotel in a fantastic location!
Complimentary breakfast was plentiful with very fresh products including bagels, cereals, fruit, pastries teas, coffee.
Room were clean and well stocked with towels, bathrobes, toiletries.
We also had a microwave, fridge, tea/ coffee maker.
Very helpful and friendly staff - very good lifts,
30 second walk to Times Square
One complaint - very noisy heater/ air con

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just come back after a few days in NY city and despite being there during Hurricane Sandy, we did not feel affected by the storm at all. All staff kept us posted on what was happening and were very up-beat and positive. Hurricane aside, the hotel was very clean, breakfast was tasty (despite there not being any hot breakfast) and service was impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigadoon, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is everything they say, and we had no complaints at all. We arrived very early and no rooms were available but our luggage was efficiently stored - and when we came back at normal check-in time we were delighted to have been upgraded from a Deluxe King to an Executive King room, which was generously sized with a separate sitting area. The room was very soothingly decorated in dark colours, quiet, clean and with a very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom, and lovely Philosophy toiletries. Should also mention that every time we had anything to do with any of the staff they were extremely pleasant and efficient. We are no strangers to NY, and liked the Midtown Manhattan location very much. While the hottest ticket at present, “The Book of Mormon”, is showing across the street, it is sold out for months - so book tickets well in advance or be prepared to pay a price which will make your eyes water. If you are around in the afternoon when there is the lottery for that evening’s discounted tickets it is rather entertaining to watch. The reception desk or theatre box office will fill you in on details of how to get in the lottery. Unlike some on Trip Advisor, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet (especially the pastries) – but then we had just come off a cruise ship. We always found somewhere to sit. Also, we ate in the hotel restaurant next door one evening after a show (E & E Grill House); it was very pleasant, and we were well looked after. Would certainly stay at this hotel again – although with all these glowing reviews it might be difficult to get a reservation. One might therefore hesitate to write a good review – but they deserve the bouquets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have stayed at The Pearl Hotel with my husband in October/ 2012. There was amazing! The Hotel is wonderful, charming, elegant, and very confortable!! The location is in the heart of Manhattan, near Broadway and Times Square. A little bit noisy, but the hotel has acoustics windows. The room is huge, well equipped with a little kitchen and a good coffee machine. The bed is the best one!! The staffs are attentive and helpful. The breakfast in USA is the same everywhere; all things are processed, nothing natural. Even the cooked eggs come ready in a box. But, ok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.