We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #14 of 449 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just come back after a few days in NY city and despite being there during Hurricane Sandy, we did not feel affected by the storm at all. All staff kept us posted on what was happening and were very up-beat and positive. Hurricane aside, the hotel was very clean, breakfast was tasty (despite there not being any hot breakfast) and service was impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    928
    299
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
380
473
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brigadoon, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is everything they say, and we had no complaints at all. We arrived very early and no rooms were available but our luggage was efficiently stored - and when we came back at normal check-in time we were delighted to have been upgraded from a Deluxe King to an Executive King room, which was generously sized with a separate sitting area. The room was very soothingly decorated in dark colours, quiet, clean and with a very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom, and lovely Philosophy toiletries. Should also mention that every time we had anything to do with any of the staff they were extremely pleasant and efficient. We are no strangers to NY, and liked the Midtown Manhattan location very much. While the hottest ticket at present, “The Book of Mormon”, is showing across the street, it is sold out for months - so book tickets well in advance or be prepared to pay a price which will make your eyes water. If you are around in the afternoon when there is the lottery for that evening’s discounted tickets it is rather entertaining to watch. The reception desk or theatre box office will fill you in on details of how to get in the lottery. Unlike some on Trip Advisor, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet (especially the pastries) – but then we had just come off a cruise ship. We always found somewhere to sit. Also, we ate in the hotel restaurant next door one evening after a show (E & E Grill House); it was very pleasant, and we were well looked after. Would certainly stay at this hotel again – although with all these glowing reviews it might be difficult to get a reservation. One might therefore hesitate to write a good review – but they deserve the bouquets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have stayed at The Pearl Hotel with my husband in October/ 2012. There was amazing! The Hotel is wonderful, charming, elegant, and very confortable!! The location is in the heart of Manhattan, near Broadway and Times Square. A little bit noisy, but the hotel has acoustics windows. The room is huge, well equipped with a little kitchen and a good coffee machine. The bed is the best one!! The staffs are attentive and helpful. The breakfast in USA is the same everywhere; all things are processed, nothing natural. Even the cooked eggs come ready in a box. But, ok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We had enquired before our arrival about a room upgrade. When we booked in the upgrade was already taken into account (and complementary) the room overlooked the Eugene O'neil theatre on third floor. We asked if we could be transferred to a quieter room and duty manager Luis was very accommodating, as were all the staff we encountered during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the Pearl Hotel for the first time and what can I say buy simply awesome. Great prices great service. I will be back for sure. I recommend this hotel because it’s so easy to get anywhere you need to go.

This hotel is defiantly a Pearl..

Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left we couldn't fault this hotel.
Ideal location, just off Times Sq, reception welcoming, staff polite and courteous throughout. The room was fab for a family of four with 2 x Queen size beds, and all the usual mod cons. Standards of cleanliness were excellent, towels and bed sheets changed daily. Continental breakfast on the 2nd floor each morning from 7am until 10pm was a treat, and set us all up for the day ahead. A good range of bagels, pastries, cereals, juices, fruit and hot coffee and tea made it all the more good value for money. Daily wine tasting, and complimentary crisps were a bonus.
Given the location I would have expected a little noise, but there was known whatsoever and it was a real pleasure to stay, and one hotel I would definatley recommend. If in New York again I will certainly be seeking out this hotel gain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hotel is located in a perfect spot. We found it convenient for seeing New York. The staff was extremely helpful. The room was clean but not spotless. We were on the top floor and at times we had very low water pressure. The area for the free breakfast was very crowded. The food was good but there were not enough places to eat - they should have more tables set up. Overall - I was pleased with the hotel. I would probably try a different place as it did not totally wow me or my wife.

Room Tip: I would avoid a room to close to the top floor due to water pressure - however the rooms at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.