We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pearl is a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #13 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Pearl is a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Pearl in May of 2012. The location is perfect for theatre goers and for touring New York with subway stops very nearby. The concierge desk was very helpful and knowledgable. We were delighted to have our room upgraded to a very spacious suite. Complimentary breakfast is good and the hotel bar and restaurant is quiet and friendly. If you are looking for a hotel that is central to Times Square, theaters, restaurants and convenient subway entrances this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not gace 49th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    324
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
434
550
44
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Having read previous positive reports, we recently booked and stayed for 5 nights at The Pearl. Check in was OK; however the particular receptionist that evening was not at all welcoming and struggled to raise any form of smile. Our room, 1204, was modern and generally satisfactory, but the small size of the bathroom was a complete joke. We felt it inexcuseable that a room this size could be assigned for a multinight stay, especially as we had paid an average of $400 per night. Matters were made even worse, when we became aware of another couple who stayed over the same weekend and paid only $300 per night, even though their room also had an out door terrace !
Due to the bathroom we did request a room change, which Darren the duty manager couldn't have been more helpful with, but the only rooms on offer were either located directly next to the lifts, or only had a tub and not a walk-in shower which we wanted.
On our last evening, when we returned to the room we found it hadn't been serviced. It took several phone calls, an inspection by the housekeeping manager (not sure if he hadn't believed us?), and a further 4 hours before it was finally cleaned. I still then had to make a further call to have a bar of soap delivered, as the bathroom amenities still hadn't been replenished.
As others have stated, all the door men and bell staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.
Wine and cheese hour a nice touch, but having soemone 'stand guard' to pour the wine did make you feel a little like Oliver Twist asking for more if you required your glass topping up !
Rooms are nicely isolated from the street noise, but if you need to leave the air con on during the night, which we did, it is so noisey that it wakes you up.
It appears our review is generally at odds to others posted on Tripadvisor, but on our personal experience from this particular visit, when we return to NY we will probably look to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay away from room1204, or any of those located above the emergency stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hotel was super clean.
Quiet considering you are in the middle of the theater district
and steps away from Times Square.
Staff was excellent and helpful.
Breakfast was more than I expected.
Fruit, bagels, cereal, pastries, juices...
Great boutique style hotel.
Only a few years old.
Excellent concierge..........would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in the middle of July 2012 based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor.com and a good rate. My stay was fine. The hotel is well located and convenient to Times Square theaters, restaurants and transit. There is a good complimentary continental breakfast. The room was OK, not large but a good size for New York, very small windows in the corner only so not much natural light but one has everything one needs.

I had a little problem with the car to Newark that the bellman of the hotel arranged for me. The driver claimed the quoted price was exclusive of tolls when it came time to pay him when I arrived at the airport whereas the hotel had said it was inclusive of tolls. I advised the bellman by phone and followed up with an e-mail to The Pearl and told them I would be returning to New York in a few weeks. When I returned to New York, I followed up with another e-mail to the hotel and was told the toll amount of $14 would be refunded to me and that there was an envelope at the front desk with my name. I subsequently went to the hotel to pick up the refund, front desk located the envelope, gave it to me and asked me to sign to acknowledge I received it. It was OK but I felt more like I was being asked to sign a release than that the hotel was fixing a problem and sorry for it. As noted, the amount was only $14 so it was not the money that was the important thing, but the reliability of the contractors and services the hotel uses and provides and their reaction when a problem arises.

I had a similar problem with another New York hotel and the front desk of that other hotel not only chased down the refund from the car company, but also called me at my new hotel when I did not immediately pick up the refund. They really made me feel like I was a special guest and that no problem I had was too small for them to chase down and resolve for me. The Pearl resolved the issue when I prompted it to so it did what I rightly expected it to, but did not leave me with any feelings of being impressed by their reaction and response.

I don't want to suggest that all New York hotels have problems - the incidents I mentioned are few and far between when compared with the many times I have gone to New York and stayed at hotels with absolutely no issues arising at all. However, I do think that issues arising are the times when one can really see the differences between hotels beyond the physical rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel was definitely a Pearl. The staff was very friendly. They seem to go out of there way to do anything for you. Vania(the front desk clerk) and Azurel (the bellman) was great. There were many, many more. However; I seemed to always come into contact with them. I read previous post about the breakfast and how small the hotel is. The Hotel has 14 floors I believe. Our room was 701. It is located in front of the broadway play Book of Mormon. The ice machine is located on LL, which is past the main lobby. If you don't want to go down there and get it. You can always call the front desk and they will be more than happy to bring it to you. We came in for my hubby birthday. I had a cake ordered and brought in from Cake Boss on TLC (Carlos Bakery) they signed for it and accepted it on my behalf. Also I had read a post about the hotel giving a bottle of champagne upon request and having it in the room. They did that as well as had a birthday card to go with it. It was very romantic.

OK the breakfast was not your hot breakfast with meat and eggs. They had bagels, toast, cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. The beverages included coffee, hot chocolate,tea, milk, orange, apple juice. I heard some complaining that it was served on plastic. Look someone would have to clean that up! The bigger chain hotels around the corner DO NOT offer a free breakfast, You also have to pay $29.00 a night for internet as well as to use the gym. At the Pearl all of that is included in your price. My point is if you want a sit down hot breakfast, around the corner is a all you can eat breakfast buffet for $19.99 called the Pigalle. You can go there and it is pretty good.

At 4-5 pm the Pearl also has a wine and cheese hour every night which we missed for sightseeing. They give you iced water and little snacks that is by the door when you walk in for the hot heat. The snacks includes Lays potato chips, pretzels, and cookies.

In my opinion the Pearl is awesome and we will stay here agian.

Room Tip: We got upgraded from a queen to a king room. Our room # was 701. We were right off the elevator bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just had a great experience at The Pearl Hotel in NYC. It's in a great location in the Times Square area, and with all the noise around the area, it's very quiet in the rooms. The hotel will be 2 yrs old in October, so it's the most clean and modern hotel, likely in the Times Square area. We had three rooms - 2 King rooms and 1 room with 2 Queen beds, lots of space for a NYC hotel. The service was fantastic, from check in to check out to the guys at the door. Great to see a nice boutique hotel - not one of the chains - that's gets it right!! Well done The Pearl and thanks for a great family experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great place to stay when your visiting NYC. Rooms clean & upscale.
They also give Philosophy Bath products in the bathroom (soap, shampoo, etc...) which are the BEST!!! Best product I've used in a long time.
I even left a credit card & cash in the safe. They called to tell me & returned it to me - with all the cash intact!
Great location, great service, great bath products, great hotel!

Room Tip: The higher the floor - the less street noise. (which is applicable for any hotel within NYC).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.