We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's Birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #14 of 449 hotels in New York City
Newtown
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Daughter's Birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Very nice despite still being under construction. Two issues, first the walls are very thin and we heard a lot of ambient noise. Second, there was only one mirror in the entire king suite. With 4 of us including a teenage girl this was nearly catastrophic. For us the fitness center could be an issue as well, only 2 treadmills and 1 bike.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    929
    299
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
381
473
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Bad points ..hotel is not a 3 or 4 * hotel by european standards .. not even close to it. Probably relate it to a very good 2* .. no restaurant.. no bar...no mini bar...no room service.....no inside catering.. limited continental.breakfast is served on paper plates and plastic cups in an area that seats approx 20 people and has nowhere near enough seats.

The rooms are new and very clean. No point wasting money on an upgrade to a king as you do not even get a bath for the extra cash. All you get is a bigger bed.

The location is fantastic.

the photographs you see are accurate but the bigger picture is not.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Staff was very helpful, always had smiles, made our stay very enjoyable.
Rooms are nice with ample space - big for NYC.
Hotel conversion completed in past year so nice and new feel.
Very close to Time Square, Radio City Music Hall, Theatre district.
Nice walk to Central Park or Empire State Building - 20 minutes +/-.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011 via mobile

This place is a real gem - great place, great location, great value. When we went they still hadn't had there grand opening - were in the midst of their soft opening so breakfast area wasnt done.

I would definitely stay here again.

Biggest issue were some of the staff - the concierge was just lazy and didn't even know how many people you could legally get into a cab and made us pay twice as much for a private cab to the airport. In addition, she wouldn't help us just after 5 pm because she said she wasn't getting paid overtime!

This aside I still think for the money this really is a gem and when in NYC how much time do you spend in the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed at The Pearl the last week of March 2011. It was immaculate and the room was very comfortable. Although there were a few things unfinished this being a new hotel (grout was needed in the marble by the elevators) it in no way diminished our stay.

They had a very good continental breakfast (coffee, juice, cereals, bread stuffs, pancakes, boiled eggs). The location is also excellent with a food store, restaurants, subways all within a short walk.

The doormen are welcoming and ready to help with the door, luggage or a taxi.

We will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia suburb
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. I will categorize key points in this review, which will explain why I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 star rating.

Checkin: Upon arrival we were met outside the main entrance by the doorman. He took our bags and took care of valet parking our car. We were escorted to the front desk where we were warmly greeted and provided with an upgrade (without our asking) at no extra charge.
Our Room: we stayed in a king room with a small refrigerator, coffeemaker, and microwave and was very spacious and quiet, especially considering New York standards. The room was very clean and in a quiet part of the building. The bathroom has a large shower and nice tile work.
Concierge: at front desk, who was very helpful with theatre tix, restaurants, and directions.
Location: in the heart of the theatre district, within convenient walking distance to theaters and times square
** here's why we rated it out 4 out of 5
Breakfast - continental - included in rate: had all food items one would think would be included in continental breakfast except fresh fruits (apples were not ripe)
Wine reception: daily from 4-5 PM - included WINE ONLY. no munchies, no cheese. hmmm.
TV - in room - hard to work and hard to access movie channels.
we felt that the service and cleanliness of hotel outweighed any of the minor problems and will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: request your wishes when making reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

A great hotel....right in the thick of things at Times Square. Everything is brand new. Located within 10 yards of two large theaters and within 5 minute walk of thirty theaters.

Highly reccomend for the traveller looking for cleanliness and proximity to the excitement.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.