We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in the Pearl hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #14 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in the Pearl hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We were in the pearl hotel in march 2011.
The location was great; the room was big enough for 3 people (and a lot of luggage).
The bathroom was clean and spacious. We had free wi-fi, coffee machine and refrigerator in the room.

The breakfast wasn't very rich but was adequate for a continental breakfast, after the third morning we went outside to eat.
The staff were very nice, except for the concierge lady that talk to us in an impolite way.

We will definitely go back to the pearl hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    323
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
433
550
43
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taveuni Island, Fiji
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

New York City! Nearly every hotel in this city runs $300 + .and rooms tend to be tiny
the Pearl was the exception
excellent value in a lovely room with great staff and great service
\my only suggestion? ditch the coffee machines.
other than that, 5 star!

thanks so much

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I stayed at the Pearl with some friends in March 2011 and I'm very satisfied with everything! The room was spacious, comfortable and super clean. The bathroom was modern and spotless. What you see in the pictures is really what you get! The hotel being located in Times Square, it made it fun to be close to action and yet, quiet enough to have a nice sleep. Plus, it's only a 10-15 minutes walk from beautiful Central Park. The free Wi-Fi was very convenient and the complimentary breakfast was better then what I expected (cereal, oatmeal, fruits, bread, bagel, eggs, pancakes, juice, coffee...) Also, I was more than impress with the service we got from the front desk and the Concierge desk. Everyone there, including the doormen, were very helpful and nice. Without a doubt, I would stay at the Pearl again. :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This hotel was amazing. The facilities were beautiful and very clean. The hotel employees were super helpful and very friendly. Our room came with complementary breakfast, and a daily wine hour in the afternoons! The hotel was right next to Times Square and in the middle of Broadway, so we could have access to all the touristy attractions. I will definitely be going back to this hotel the next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Just returned from a three night stay the the Pearl....overall, my experience was good. However, I will make a note for anyone who is making a reservation regarding the second floor - which is where I stayed. There are only three rooms on this floor...the rest of the floor is made up of the exercise room, complimentary breakfast room-conference room, restroom . The up side is that during the evening hours it was very quiet, the down side is during the early morning hours you can hear the staff setting up the breakfast room, and you can also hear anyone who is working out on the treadmill. In addition, there is some loud noise coming from adjacent work being done to a future restaurant (hence loud drilling, etc) I did not mind so much because I was in NYC and not in my room most of the time, but if I were to book a room in the near future you might want to consider asking for a room not on the second floor. The staff was hospitable and the room spotless....agree with others on the bathroom products, not great - wish I had brought my own. Location is perfect for theatre action and there is a good food emporium just down the street if you want to bring food back to the room.....wish my weather was better, but never a dull moment in NYC....the Pearl is worth your consideration. Concierge also helpful in getting "sold out" theatre tickets!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

So you know how every hotel has photos of their spacious accommodations online for you to see, but when you get there you are disappointed? Well, this will NOT happen to you at The Pearl!!! The photos ARE actually what you get :) The rooms are huge, the bathroom is spotless, and the staff is uber friendly. I stayed there with some co-workers, and was impressed by how well we were treated. There was free wi-fi, a complimentary continental breakfast, and they even had a "wine hour" for their guests to enjoy!
Cleanliness is always at the top of my list when looking for a place to stay...You can stay at The Pearl!!! I was impressed with the clean rooms and hallways. The beds were super comfortable, and we never heard the neighbours (quiet). The hotel staff was amazing...They were always ready to help you with any of your needs...I seriously loved staying at this "Pearl" of a hotel ;)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I wanted to give The Pearl four stars, I really did. But it sucks that many little slip-ups knocked off a full star.

I had a four night stay in room 1001 (Deluxe Queen with Balcony), for which I paid $335 inclusive. Note this room was next to the elevator. Breakfast and free wifi are included which is really great, and I commend the Pearl!

The room was fine in terms of furnishings. But the room is loaded with small design errors that mar the experience.

The closet is very small, and the hangars, umbrella, iron and board, pillows, safe, and robes just take up too much space and it was a pain to get my suit and three other hung items in there.

The toilet paper is a few inches off the ground directly in front of the pot. Next to the commode, where the TP should be, is a towel bar that never had any towels on it.

The bath towels were under the sink while the hand towels were next to the shower\bath. Nothing like dripping across a bathroom looking for a towel...

The showerhead is not adjustable in any way-flow, angle, or spray pattern and that's stupid. There is a hand-held showerhead though, and a handle to adjust the flow to the two outflows. But housekeeping set the controls to "hand-held" and turned the hand-held toward the exterior, so turning on the water resulted in a blast of cold water to my face. Nice!

The (terrible as always) Gilchrist & Soames toiletries were not replaced when empty, and water temperature was inconsistent and required constant adjusting to maintain the desired temperature.

There's a convenient fridge, but inconveniently two doors are required to be opened to access it. There is no bottle opener or corkscrew in the room, and I had to beg the front desk for one (I was sworn to return it immediately). Same with a pair of scissors-the desk simply did not want a guest to actually use its stuff.

The other option was to have a houseman bring one up, but only if I returned it as soon as possible. Bad in a Motel 6, inexcusable for the $300+/nt Pearl.

The lock on the balcony door was broken and did not lock. I asked them to fix it, but they didn't. The next day I asked again, and they did fix it...by locking it shut so I couldn't USE the balcony. Come on, guys!

Otherwise, excellent location and a lovely balcony. Coffee maker in room, HDTV, but a lying guide-many channels listed are not available. How tough is it to have a guide that lists only available stations?

The Lower Lobby level (LL) has an ice machine and an inexpensive vending machine right across from the elevator (otherwise you have to call for ice), and there's a grocery a few steps away for water, bread, snacks, etc.

Not much else to say, really. Nice try, Pearl, but you need to tighten it up some.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.