We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
43 W 55th Street, (55th St, betw. 5th & 6th Ave), New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
+1 (212) 459-9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Simply one of the best burgers in NY, nice cheeseburger a generous portion of french fries. The only problem that might be is that the place is packed and you have to wait for a table, but it worth waiting a few minutes. They a restaurant also on the 14th street that was less full,but i haven't tried it there

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    221
    37
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

In NY for new years and was recommended this place by some friends, I wasn't disappointed, the burger and fries were great, some of the best I've ever had. Only negative is the miserable staff (well at least the one that served us), would have tipped if we at least got a smile

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Value- Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If your looking to get full for a fair price this is the place. Friendly staff, prices were the same as any other Five Guys, so no surprises. The washrooms are coded for patrons to use and they were very clean. Must have been 26 selections of Soda at the dispenser.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OMG! YUMMMMM!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Amazing thick burgers full of juicy meat and salad. Fast service! Loved it. Perfectly located across from our hotel (Hilton Times Square) it was the perfect place to head to for a late night feast. Priced very well, and burgers were nice, hot and tasting fresh. THUMBS UP!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness, oh my dayum..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

For fast food, this stuff is amazing.

BEST BURGER I'VE EVER EATEN!

The meat just absorbed all the air and all the space possible all in my throat, to the point that if I wanted to start talkin', nothin' but mmmm mmm mmmm was comin' out. Werd.

The cheese was oozin', the fries, they blended perfectly. The bacon was crispity, the food was bangin'.

I saw the youtube review and the food is as shown. Went there a couple of times I liked it so much.

By the way, to those who complain about the 'atmosphere', it's a burger joint not a 5 star restaurant, so don't whinge about the atmosphere. This is FAST FOOD. Comes out fast, I damn sure eat it fast.

Go there, you won't regret it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Guys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.