We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pasta & Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eataly

Eataly
200 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)
212.229.2560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pasta & Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The servings here are large, so unless you are really hungry bypass the appetizers and just go straight to mains. We had both pizza and pasta and both were delicious. We did have to wait 30 minutes for a table, but passed the time walking around the huge sections and looking at all the produce. Amazing place, even if you don't eat there you should go and check it out, it's like Disneyland for foodies!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    1,596
    829
    212
    68
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Italy Comes to NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Eataly is both a food market and a number of restaurants in one giant market. Most of the restaurants are in the area where the items they serve are sold over the counter. We are in the pasta-pizza area and the food was superb.
Wander around and browse through an amazing array of items imported from Italy. Be warned, everything is pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Foodie heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our favourite place in NYC. Went here several times- to browse through all the food stalls, for great gelato and coffee, dinner at Manzi downstairs, and twice to the Birreria roof top bar for drinks and food in a great atmosphere with views to the Empire State Building and the Flatiron building. A great NYC experience, something for everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Eataly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ate at the PIZZA/PASTA place in Eataly. We absolutely loved the entire experience. There are several restaurants - even a rooftop one that you need to make reservations for - or you may be up against a long wait.
The entire establishment is amazing. You can walk thru and graze if you want OR stop at one of the restaurants and have a formal/semi formal dinner. You can buy wine while browsing and then they will serve it to you in whatever place you chose to eat at. There is one area where you can stand at bistro tables and try different cheeses and wines. I definitely want to try that too. AND, they have a dessert area -- theya re ALL gluten free and they look so good -- I tried the tiramisu and have to say that I could not tell the difference so that made me very happy.
I cannot wait until I go to NYC again so I can try the rooftop out! There is also a bar up there that you can eat at OR just have a drink....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A lot to see, a lot to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Eataly is a food lover's heaven. Cheese, meats, pasta, vegetables, pizza, wine, beer, desserts, gelato; the list is endless. It can be insanely busy but you can usually find a spot (eventually) to order some food and wine at one of the bar tables in the middle of the market. You can also put your name it at one of the restaurants to sit down and enjoy a meal. We had a couple of pizzas that were very authentic and made with the freshest ingredients. If I lived in NYC I would absolutely want to buy some of the food available in the market.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eataly also viewed

 

Been to Eataly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eataly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.