We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for access to Columbia University and Harlem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Harlem to your Saves list
Aloft Harlem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard, New York City, NY 10027 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #212 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for access to Columbia University and Harlem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Aloft in October, 2014 while visiting my Columbia University daughter for 5 days. A convenient and nice walk to campus from the Aloft Harlem location. Comfortable, clean accommodations (remember Aloft is modern, but not fancy, but has everything you need with a little refrig in room). Staff friendly. Even if there had been other hotel choices around the Columbia location I would still select the Aloft. It was much like others I have stayed at in other cities. I will return! (There is a Starbucks several blocks down the street on which the Aloft is located, on the other side of the street. Ask the desk clerk for directions.) Also there is a very nice Middle Eastern restaurant within a block of the hotel, and a terrific specialty store on the way to Starbucks with takeout food items and a great beer selection! On the way to Columbia, there are plenty of restaurants along Amsterdam Street.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    202
    43
    6
    9
See reviews for
106
128
46
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here several times particularly when I wanted to be close to the legendary Apollo Theatre on West 125th Street in Central Harlem. Very comfortable and intimate atmosphere. Highly recomend. Bob Stebbings

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Recently stayed here with my husband and 9 month old daughter, while he attended a conference at Columbia. I was worried about the location, but felt fine walking with my daughter to the campus area. Nice hotel and nice staff. The breakfast is ok if you are in a pinch for food, otherwise walk 3 blocks over to Amsterdam and go to Max Caffe or Kitchinette for a great breakfast. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was nice hotel with larger than average room sizes for NYC. Area can be a bit edgy at night but very vibrant during the day. Very convenient being close to 125th street Subway which is an express stop. Had real difficulties with my account though. Have been duplicate charged for 1300 dollars. Have rung the hotel twice but they have still not resolved it. First time I rang the hotel staff laughed and thought it was funny. Second time I rang was promised it was a known problem and that it would be sorted. 11 days after I checked out they have still stolen 1300 dollars from my account. Have made two expensive calls to the USA and exchange rate fluctuations means that even if refunded in full I will have lost substantial amount in pounds. Please beware !!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Aloft Harlem for your stay in NYC. We understand that your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback about your experience at our hotel. I will share your review with your staff. We look forward to having the opportunity to have you stay at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel three times and would go back in a heartbeat. We chose it initially because of a Starwood discount, but we keep coming back because we have fallen in love with the hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel is super close to LaGuardia (about a $20 cab ride) and the staff is genuinely lovely and helpful, especially with restaurant recommendations. We love Harlem itself and have tried to explore the neighbourhood as much as possible with each visit. It feels like a real neighbourhood, away from the crazy tourist crowds you get elsewhere in Manhattan. But you still have all the conveniences nearby, from drugstores to the movie theatre across the street.

The area is changing / gentrifying quickly, though - we notice new restaurants and developments with every visit. Speaking of restaurants, there are some incredible ones nearby, from the Red Rooster to the Cecil, and our favourite, Barawine.

You sometimes hear some street noise (and it's across the street from a police station) but as far as New York goes it's pretty quiet and we've never had any issues with noise. Even when there are parties happening in the lobby bar / lounge area, the rooms stay quiet. There is not a lot of extra space in the room when the large bed and desk are factored in, but there's enough room to relax and there are some helpful little storage nooks as well. On our last stay, my husband found the mattress to be a bit too firm for his liking, but I didn't have any issues. My only complaint is the bathroom door, which in every room is a sliding door and doesn't close all the way, making for a slight lack of privacy.

Other pros to mention: A great gym, free coffee and snacks in the lobby, free hi-speed wifi, and the subway only a few minutes' walk away. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your Wonderful review! We are glad that you continue to chose our hotel for your stay in NYC! We appreciate your comments about hotel and our location. I will share your review with our team. We look forward to having you stay again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want an affordable hotel in this area this is the place. Nice hotel with extremely courteous and helpful staff. Lively bar with reasonable prices. Rooms are very clean and whilst not large they are very adequate. We will certainly stay in this hotel when we return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about your experience at our hotel. We look forward to having you stay again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The area around the hotel is not nice, but it worked for our purposes, like visiting Columbia University. I would not recommend staying here if visiting regular mainstream NY attractions.

The hotel itself was fine, the lobby is funky and functional, there's free coffee and tea, a small business center and comfy chairs. It becomes a party/bar at night, but the noise does not carry on to the rooms.

Noise, however, was my main issue with this property. Depending on your room location, you'll have different sources, but it will be noisy. We moved rooms during our stay because of the noise and the staff was nice and accommodating, but we just went from having very loud neighbors and thin walls, to having a very noisy street below. Not to mention hearing the elevator dinging every time someone used it! Therefore, sleep quality was very low.

As mentioned above, the staff was helpful and professional, so that was a positive experience. The rooms were clean, small but decent sized, with a good shower & TV. Too bad the there was no actual bathroom door, it was just a sliding door that didn't close all the way (on both rooms we stayed).

One last thing I want to mention is that, although I appreciate the free WiFi, the speed was unusable on the first room, very slow on the second room, and appropriate only on the lobby area.

So if you must stay in Harlem, I believe it's probably the best choice in the area. But otherwise, I would choose to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in Harlem. I understand that you had a couple of issues regarding our hotel amenities. I will share your comments with our staff. We look forward to having you stay again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard, New York City, NY 10027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Harlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.