We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for NYC - Stayed for Halloween” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Harlem

Save Saved
You added Aloft Harlem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard, New York City, NY 10027 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #161 of 452 hotels in New York City
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good option for NYC - Stayed for Halloween”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on Halloween night - pretty crazy evening in NYC. We were pretty happy with the stay. Some things to be aware of - the area is very close to some great restaurant choices, but no full restaurant in the hotel. The snack area has reasonable options + there are a few things at the bar. There is valet parking for $50 without in/out privileges. I think our rental car sustained a little damage - nothing that was a big deal. Self park is nearby not related to the hotel. When you arrive, it's not immediately obvious that you enter the lobby by going downstairs to the entry doors. There is an elevator as well. Staff as all have reported is very friendly and helpful. The best thing is that our room was very quiet - rare in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    167
    29
    2
    9
See reviews for
77
111
41
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I traveled with my husband. Our first time staying in Harlem; we traveled to attend a wedding and we were very pleased with the hotel and with Harlem. Stayed in 2nd floor and we could hear people talking in the streets but not to an uncomfortable level; not a crowded street however. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the beds and pillows comfortable. If you walk down 124-118; there are nice places to eat and going up to the main avenue there is lots of commerce. We walked from our friends house in 119 St. late at night and everything seemed ok (there is a police station almost in front of the hotel ;)). Couple of guests with pets. Subway stations with directs lines to lower Manhattan very close. There was karaoke the night we checked-in and I think people from the neighborhood come and sing there, didn't bother us but we didn't stay longer either. The appetizer menu in the bar can definitely be improved as well as the service. In general, everything was very good.

Room Tip: Higher floors on either sides of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed for only 2 nights but had a great time. The room is hip and funky, love the walk in shower, and very tech friendly. Harlem by day is very cool to explore. Aloft is around the corner from the historic Apollo theatre! At night, it's a bit sketchy. But luckily, the XYZ lounge in the Aloft is the hippest spot to be at night. The staff were great. The facility was top notch. I'd definitely stay again. 10 mins walk to the northwest corner of Central Park and it was a cheap can ride in from LaGuardia. Overall, an amazing (albeit short) stay at Aloft Harlem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights..read many reviews about loud music..asked for a room far away from that...no problem! Didn't hear it! Found accommodations and customer service above the norm...would stay there again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. So happy to hear that the room and staff were to your liking. Please visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel. Well appointed room and free Wifi great feature. The staff were all excellent and while the hotel is a little out of the way for the uninitiated to NYC in Harlem it is still close to subway. I must be getting old though as I found the music a little on the loud side sat night... Highly recommended though

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Aloft Harlem. So often people hear 'Harlem' and they hesitate, but the area is bustling with restaurants and shops, and as you pointed out close to the subway which will have you downtown in no time.
We appreciate the kind words about the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a rather original concept for a loft/hotel that it is clearly targeted to young clients (18-28): loud music, young personel attending the front desk (full of energy but sort of "Mac Donalds style": may I have your order? and ....NEXT!), a large bar with karaoker nights, a kiosk. All these features are particularly interesting for a young population who is looking for a well located (5-10 block north from the central park), medium budget and comfortable hotel (large bedrooms but awkward shower, very trendy decoration, complementary coffee).
All I can say is that it is an interesting hotel but it is definitely not for me...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We appreciate your review. Aloft is definitely a lifestyle hotel and does cater to a tech savvy crowd, but definitely not just for a young crowd. Starwood has a number of great hotel in the city so we hope you choose one of our sister properties when next you are in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We needed a place to stay for a date night. I first look past this place because it was to close to my house and it's local (long story ) I booked it in line and did not have to pay until the day I arrive ( love that ) save a lil money until I was ready to pay. We stay again on the 15 fl ( I knw lucky me ,that my anniversary date) any way to my surprise the hotel was clean and look nice inside the lobbly and the room. Check in was easy and fast. The lobby had food for sale very expensive because of the location and your in New York .our view was really nice we over look the movie theater and 125th street . The shower was really nice , it's a walk in shower , no tub less mess to see if the bathroom is old. This was a plus for me because I hate dirty bathroom. They have a big bed and TV in the room.This place was really nice and have me thinking about some local hotel( not all) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. Great to hear that you enjoyed yours stay at the Aloft. The room, the view and the convenience close to home as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard, New York City, NY 10027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Harlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.