We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Harlem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Harlem

Save Saved
You added Aloft Harlem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard, New York City, NY 10027 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #159 of 451 hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great time in Harlem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the Aloft Harlem from September 5th to September 8th 2013 with my husband.
We went to NYC to attend the Triton music festival which took place at the Irving Plaza which is all the way down where Union Square is. I was worried that the hotel might be too far but the subway ride is super fast, especially if you take the express train. The subway station is a 2 minute walk from the hotel which is perfect. They get an A+ for that!

The hotel is very clean and modern. I loved the large windows in the room. The size of the room was perfect for 2 people and larger than the usual NYC hotel room. I’m just going the list the details that stood out to me:

The shower has shampoo and body wash dispensers so you don’t need to pack your own little bottles. The wifi signal was great
The mini fridge in the room came in handy
You get 2 free bottles of water in the room
I really liked the service they offered where if you declined housekeeping service the hotel gives you a $5.00 voucher that you can use downstairs at the bar or in the little snack shop.
Modern décor
Comfortable beds, I slept well every night

I would definitely stay here again and recommend the Aloft Harlem to anyone looking for a different part of town to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    166
    29
    2
    9
See reviews for
77
107
40
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have nothing bad to say about Aloft Harlem. They accommodated our early check-in time, the room had everything we needed, and service was amazing. I know some people are skeptical about the area, but everyone we encountered was extremely friendly. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because it's not right in the centre of Manhattan which is what most people want, but even by subway it's less than ten minutes away. The subway is only a couple minutes away by walking too. My friend and I came back on most nights around 11:30 PM and even 4 AM one morning and never really felt uncomfortable walking the streets at night. I would 100% come back here the next time I'm in New York.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the rave review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Aloft Harlem. Although not in the center of Manhattan, Harlem is growing and slowly changing skeptics minds. We look forward to having you back with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I recently needed a hotel close to Columbia University as we were dropping our son off for college. I looked for hotels close to the school and booked a room at the ALOFT in Harlem as it is very close to the campus. I have to say that we made an EXCELLENT CHOICE when we booked this hotel. The staff was courteous, the facility was spotless, and the overall experience at the ALOFT was one of the best hotel stays that I can remember. When we arrived we were pleased with the layout of the room and the newness of the decor. The contemporary feel of this hotel is bright and cheerful. The breakfast bar in the morning was excellent and the $ 5.00 vouchers that the hotel offers if you opt out on the maid service came in handy too. This hotel is in my opinion is a really great value and is far superior to many of the hotels in the area charging comparable rates. I know this because we spoke with other parents dropping off their kids at school that did not have good "hotel experiences". If you are in the Harlem area and want a nice, clean, room with great amenities, exercise room, fun bar, stay at the ALOFT, you will have a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the review. It's so nice to hear that you had an enjoyable experince at the Aloft Harlem. We hope this will become your place to stay in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, ME
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our sons live nearby, stayed here for a few nights to visit them. The layout of the room is quite different than most hotels, but it works. Bed was very comfortable. Bar downstairs was quit loud in the evenings, but we didn't hear it at all in our room (4th floor). Everything was clean. Got a $5 voucher for every night we didn't require housekeeping which we could use at the breakfast bar. The only real issue is that the air conditioner for the room was rather loud, although it certainly kept the room comfortable. A good place to stay in this part of Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank your for sharing a review of your stay at the Aloft Harlem. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed Harlem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Gardens NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family stayed at the Aloft when my nephew was getting married (my mother in law for two nights, our family for one.) The Aloft is a modern hotel with an Asian feel. The staff was extremely accommodating. They kept an eye on my elderly mother-in-law and actually locked her room when she forgot to (rushing off to the wedding). I had called in advance and told them we needed to change before going to the wedding, and we were able to get into the room early. The room had two double beds and was much larger than other Manhattan hotel rooms I've stayed in.

The room had no dressers, so we left our clothes in an open suitcase. There was a small closet, enough for us to hang our "dress up clothes." Free bottled water, good coffee and a small refrigerator (located under the sink outside the bathroom) were all nice touches. The A/C worked well and was fairly quiet. They had a "grab and go" food area in the lobby which was handy. (There is a deli on the corner but you couldn't beat the convenience of staying in the hotel to eat breakfast.) Breakfasts were cooked to order and quickly brought out to you.

There are many restaurants in easy walking distance to the hotel. We had dinner at Lido, an Italian restaurant on 117 st., on Friday night. Good food and reasonable prices. If you want to sight see, there are many subways in the area. The hotel will call a car service for you if you need one or cannot get a cab for some reason.

There is also the XYZ Lounge in the lobby, where we had a nightcap after the wedding. The drinks were strong and they also offered a light menu of snacks.

Minor gripes--the carpet had stains on it (Iooked like someone had spilled their coffee). The room had no tub, only a shower, but it was spacious and had good water pressure. The room lights were controlled by switches which turned on lights in "zones"--one for bathroom, another bedroom and the third was labeled "master" (it would turn off all the lights in the room.) Since my husband doesn't see well, we generally like to leave a light on in a hotel bathroom but we couldn't in the Aloft--the "bathroom" switch turned on a light near the door, the light in the bathroom and a light in the hall outside the bathroom. That made the room too bright for my son.

These are all minor issues. We really enjoyed our stay at the Aloft and would highly recommend it to anyone who is visiting Columbia University or wants to stay at a hotel that doesn't have teeny-tiny rooms. You'll love the staff and the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. The XYZ Lounge can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed review of the hotel. I'm glad your family enjoyed the stay at the Aloft Harlem. We appreicate hearing the good, but also honest criticism which can help us make your stay an even more enjoyable one next time. It is great to hear that the staff was attentive and accomodating. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was very trendy and current. It was almost like a Soho experience. Pets of any size are welcome for no extra charge. Nice! The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and very comfortable. Having a small fridge was quite convenient. Would have loved a microwave too. Every restaurant/eatery was within walking distance as well as shopping, movie theatre, and cultural experiences. Would have liked a continental breakfast for the price and the ice is all the way in the lobby. But the lobby bar was cool. There was a dj playing dance music giving it a club like atmosphere. Finally, there was plenty of parking on the street. Overall, a great hotel, especially for younger adults.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less external noise but the AC is pretty loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you found the hotel and surrounding area to be perfect for your needs. We hope you come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Whatever your reason to be way uptown- visiting colleges (ours), business- this is the hotel to be at - comfortable, cool rooms- great beds (in one now)- close to a slew of fine bistros and restaurants. Staff is very warm and accommodating- this is our 3rd time here and will be our place to stay visiting our daughter in college-

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Aloft. As you pointed out Harlem is changing. Restaurants, shopping, bistros. Plus convenient subway to Midtown.
We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard, New York City, NY 10027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Harlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.