We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does David Chang Know What Is Going On There?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Momofuku Ma Peche

Momofuku Ma Peche
15 west 56th street, btwn 5th & 6th Ave., New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-757-5878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Momofuku Ma Peche is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,624 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $150
Cuisines: American, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Does David Chang Know What Is Going On There?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Anti-esthetics of this place is appalling. From casually-derssed, visibly-detached staff, through the size and composition of the meals, you feel neglected as a customer from the get go. I am wondering if this a norm across all of the Mr.Chang restaurants or this is the isolated case of disintegration right in the heart of Manhattan?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    71
    36
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The start of a memorable evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to Ma pêche before going to the theatre. Finding the restaurant is a little challenge but worth it – make sure to note the address before you leave. After reading some reviews saying that the plates were small, we ordered too much food! Everything was perfect including the very attentive service. The atmosphere is very casual and this is great.
All the food is tasty, offering an interesting and challenging mix of flavour and texture. The presentation is spectacular. We had the small plates foie gras and apple, larges plates veal and cod plus the vegetable beet and carrot (we should had only one – they were both great but it was to much) Finally we had the white chocolate popcorn – yummy! My wife had also the seven spice sour drink that she said was fantastic.
It was the start of a memorable evening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Always Love It Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our last two trips to NYC have always included a stop here. We just love it. Great atmosphere, complemented by the great food and courteous service always makes for a great dining experience here. We love the baos, as we do with every momofuku restaurant. We also enjoyed their other creative menu options here too. We loved their take on brussel sprouts, which was so delicious and had surprising textures with it. The ramen broth had an exceptional flavour and consistency and was also coupled with some crunchy bacalao which added a different textural dimension. My partner enjoyed her hangar steak, which was also surprising as she is not a the biggest fan of meat. But our waitress had convinced her to try it and fortunately for her, and me, she took her recommendation and thoroughly enjoyed it. As did I. Good selection of beers too. I loved the stout on offer here for those interested in trying craft American brews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stopped by Ma Peche for a quick food stop.
Only went for the different items on the "raw" menu.

Spanich Mackerel was lovely, and the scallops, black bass was really really good
If you are going for a dessert, then definitely try the white chocolate with popcorn.

Will definitely come back for more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a weekend dinner here this winter. We shared the seafood tower and then order a bunch of different things to share such as noodles with lamb, sweetmeats and a shortrib dish. Everything was delicious. The only drawback is the room is a little boring and they don't serve dessert. I'd definitely go back though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momofuku Ma Peche also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Momofuku Ma Peche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momofuku Ma Peche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.