We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get more bang for your buck here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy & Gallard

Guy & Gallard
240 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)
(212) 302-1028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,726 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Garment District
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get more bang for your buck here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Ate here on 6/18 and today for breakfast and picked up some very much needed snacks and water for our many trips exploring the city. I hadn't had a western omelet so good since my Daddy made me one when I was a little girl! Guy and Gallard has such a variety of food, to choose from that's very inexpensive for someone who appreciates quality and value. Take it from this NYC born and bred
girl, being able to save money so I could show my daughter the city that never sleeps. Priceless.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

For a quick inexpensive lunch place, Guy & Gallard was a surprise. We were seated quickly, given menus immediately, and had ordered drinks in the table in about 90 seconds. The menu was more extensive than what you might imagine with entrees available in addition to soup and sandwiches. My son had the penne ala vodka and I had an albacore tuna sandwich. Both meals were excellent and fresh. For a quick casual lunch, you could not do much better than Guy & Gallard.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quick and fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great coffee, fresh food whether you grab a yogurt, oatmeal or have a breakfast burrito. Not a ton of room to sit down and eat or read the paper, but would be great to take back to your hotel if seats are taken. Service was also fast and friendly.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Found a metal piece in their sandwich”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Long story short I bought a tuna sandwich at one of location, 240 W. 40th St and I found an inch long METAL piece inside of it. I was chewing it and had to spit it out. When I talked to the owner on the phone about it he hung up so I went to the store. He claimed that we got disconnected and called me back but I did not get a missed call so it was obviously not done. He just yelled at me for calling him in the middle of the store and kicked me out of the store yelling that this is why he has insurance.

Be very careful of this place and the owner was terrible.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Better than a bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stopped in for a coffee break. The coffee choices were many. Had a cup of Colombian which was fresh, perfect. The snack cakes were fantastic. Had the chocolate chip pound cake which tasted like it had just been baked.

They have quite a variety of lunch items which all looked great. I'd love to go here again on my next NYC visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guy & Gallard also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Guy & Gallard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy & Gallard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.