We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disorganized but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Little Red Hens

Two Little Red Hens
1652 2nd Avenue, New York City, NY 10028 (Upper East Side)
212-452-0547
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 223 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Brunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“disorganized but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This tiny bakery is very crowded and the "order here, pay there" system doesn't work very well because you have people constantly bumping into each other in the relatively small space. But the proof is in the cupcakes. People just keep on coming back. If cupcakes aren't your thing, there's also a variety of very pretty cakes (someone clearly takes his or her time making them beautiful), pies, and so on.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    53
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis of home charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went for desert after burgers at Stargate. The store is tiny and has a real homey New England feel, almost out of place in NYC. The proprietors are ultra friendly and the cakes are yummy. Try the Pecan pie, mmmmm. There are only a few tables, so you have to be lucky to get one. We were there about 20 mins and witnessed a steady stream of New Yorkers getting their cake fix; recommendation indeed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best cup cakes ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is an amazing little bakery hidden behind the 2nd Ave subway construction on 2nd Ave between 86 and 85 St. They make some of the best baked goods you'll find anyehere in NYC, with the cup cakes being parricularly good. If you like chocolate, try the Brooklyn Blackout cup cake!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best cakes EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

For our wedding celebration, we ordered the Brooklyn Blackout and the Carrot Cake. Holy moly, people went nuts for them. this is by far my favorite bakery; cakes are beautiful, moist and iced to perfection. well worth the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best cheesecake ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have never been a big fan of plain cheesecake, I thought it was boring. Until I tried the one from Two little red hens, it was so delightful! The place itself is rather small, there are three or four tables, people there were very nice and helpful. I had a piece of cheesecake and iced coffee (they have beans from Irving farm) that was also lovely. They had also many types of cupcakes and my favourite key lime pie which I haven't tried, because my mission was their cheesecake, and a few other pies. I would definitely go there again! Be aware that due to current contruction on the street it might be slightly harder to find this piece of sweet heaven (or for hell for those on diet, it must be very hard to say no to these tempting goods, I haven't even tried)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Little Red Hens also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Two Little Red Hens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Little Red Hens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.