We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value for the City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Stone St, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #325 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, United States
1 review
“Terrific Value for the City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was the perfect hotel for meetings in the financial district, but I would also consider staying here for pleasure. It's not far from shopping and is a 10 min cab ride from Time Square or a 25 min train ride.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    437
    245
    79
    56
See reviews for
172
309
76
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

From start to finish this was an amazing stay my husband and I were greeted by the bell person Abrahima he was very friendly and helpfull, checkin was smooth and quick special thanks to Justina, Cinthia and Kemisha who made us feel welcome right throughout our stay, this is a great location for seeing the sights in Ny city, such as 9/11 memorial the wall street bull etc great breakfast, VERY clean rooms, OHH the cookies WHAT A TREAT !! I could go on and on but I won"t lol most definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not a bad location for Wall Street and access to The Statute of Liberty and Ellis Island as well as Federal Hall where George Washington was inaugurated as the first President of the United States. Also great open air restaurants close by on Stone Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Yes, the reviews are true - the elevators are slow, the front desk staff is less than enthusiastic to see you, and the views are really bad from lower floors. However, let me just say that the guys on the street were AMAZING! Upon our arrival they confirmed with me that the cab fare we were being charged was appropriate, and every time we needed directions, advice or even someone to complain to about the construction, they were there with expert (and accurate) information. I would definitely stay here again. The location can't be beat for lower Manhattan, and the attached restaurant is quite good (though service is pretty slow).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica G, Guest Services at Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I apologize for the extended elevator wait time that you have reported as well as any inconvenience that this may have caused you. I would like to thank you for your kind words towards our bell staff; I will be sure to share your feedback with all our Team. Please, make us your hotel of choice, whenever visiting the New York City area. We greatly appreciate your business. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms are small but first it is NYC and hopefully your not there to stay in the room all day. Elevators took awhile but not a big deal. The only down fall was the shower took forever to drain but otherwise the stay was wonderful and definitely would stay there again. Awesome tavern right next door.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were staying down in the Financial District because of a wedding that was a few blocks away. The hotel is very affordable, the rooms are clean, the parking across the street was nice, and the staff is generally friendly.

All that said, the elevator situation is an absolute joke. It's a 44 story building with 3 half elevators. That means during busy times (see Sunday morning at 9am) I had to wait for 5 elevators to pass before there was one large enough for my wife and I (a combined 275lbs) to fit into. There were multiple instances of having to wait 7-9 minutes before a single elevator stopped at our floor. Adding to this issue is the fact that there does not appear to be a service elevator. That means all hotel employees must use these same 3 tiny elevators. I'm sorry, but it is not acceptable to have to wait that long just to get off your floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica G, Guest Services at Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for the extended elevator wait time that you have reported as well as any inconvenience that this may have caused you. I am glad to hear that you found our rates, location, and rooms appropriate for you travel needs. If there is any way that I can be of any service to you, regarding this most recent stay, or any future stays that you may have with us, please contact me at veronica.guerrero3@hilton.com and I will do everything in my power to assist you. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you need a place to stay that's a decent price and near the office then its not a bad choice. The rooms are small but have everything you need. I haven't tried the food so I can't speak on the service or quality

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District

Address: 8 Stone St, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.