We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Stone St, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #325 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Woodland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I enjoyed the staff at this hotel. They were very attentive and knowledgeable of the area. Small Hotel feel but big chain amenities. Many close restaurants. Close to the water and easy walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    437
    245
    79
    56
See reviews for
172
309
76
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stay fairly regularly at this hotel because it is near my NY office. This past summer I brought my kids. Families traveling to NY -- think very hard before choosing this hotel. The rooms are small and efficient, but there is little to do other than visit one of the restaurants on Stone Street and the Staten Island Ferry/Statue of Liberty. Also, the hotel is small and tall (10 rooms per floor), leading to long waits for the elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this Doubletree for three nights. Good points are the staff are all very nice-much nicer than the Doubletree in Midtown. The location is convenient to the Whitehall, South Ferry and Bowling Green subway stations, so it is very easy to get around town. The bed was very comfortable and we had a nice city view. However, we had multiple problems in our room and that tells me that attention to maintenance issues needs to be addressed.

The first problem was as soon as we walked into the room, we noticed the room safe had been locked and we needed to call maintenance to fix that. Why was that not noticed when housekeeping cleaned the room? When we turned on the television, the cable connection was not working. The very nice engineer fixed both those problems quickly, but the cable connection problem kept happening the entire three days. Finally someone told us that we need to hit a button on the cable box when this happens, but why is this happening? We have never encountered that before at any other hotel.

The restaurant staff was nice but the buffet breakfast was pretty sad for the $18.00 they charge. The scone I had was inedible. There was very little selection of food. We arrived shortly before closing, so maybe that was the problem.

The hotel arranged a car service for us back to the airport. We were told that the $65 charge included tip. I felt a little uncomfortable about that, so we asked the driver. He said the tip was optional. We ended up tipping him but if no tip is expected, that should be cleared up with the drivers, or it makes for a rather uncomfortable discussion with the driver.

The last thing was that the amount on the bill that was slipped under our door was not the amount charged to our credit card-we were charged about $100 more for no apparent reason. I have e-mailed the hotel but would prefer not to have to deal with this. This happened at the Doubletree Midtown too. Just get the bill right the first time!

Despite the negative comments above, we were pretty happy with the hotel and would stay there again if the price was right, mainly because the staff were so great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful room, comfortable bed, clean. The only negative was the elevators could take a long time. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Would stay there again for sure.

A very nice touch to walk in and get a cookie too after a long trip to the city.

A bit odd that the lobby was on the 2nd floor, which made you use the elevator more often than I'd like to (with luggage, can walk without it). But makes sense considering the small footprint of the building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I arrived to a room with phone not working and an industrial blower running in the room. I was told the blower was there because the air conditioning hadn't been working properly or at all. It took about 35 minutes and about 4 trips to and from the room to produce a functional telephone. The work area was too small. There was poor lighting in the bathroom and slow elevators. An underwhelming experience to say the least. I expected more from a top name hotel in the financial nerve center of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was very pleasantly to discover that this hotel was much nicer than I had expected. The location is wonderful, close to about 3 subway lines, battery park and the Brooklyn bridge. The rooms were a decent size for New York and very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had the chance to stay at the Doubletree on a recent business trip to NYC. Considering it is NYC, you expect everything to be small and overpriced, but the rooms were surprisingly comfortable - king sized bed and even room to walk around it which is more than I can say for many of the places I've stayed in the city. Had a great view of the WTC which was an added bonus. Get a room on a high floor for sure facing West!

The workout room is well apportioned with good equipment. I also had free breakfast based on my status and the food in the restaurant was decent (for a buffet).

The only compliant I would have is that the elevators were painfully slow (probably because the building footprint is small but very tall and so they stop a lot) but otherwise had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: high floor facing west for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District

Address: 8 Stone St, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.