We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look around for a better value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Stone St, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #300 of 451 hotels in New York City
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Look around for a better value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Check in requires an elevator ride from the entrance, only three elevators for 44 (?) floors, rooms are tiny, housekeeping is average, elevator beeps all night, you can hear neighbors alarms etc.... The major benefit of this hotel is location IF you need to be in the financial district, otherwise it really isn't very convenient to anything.

They let me check in at 11:30 which was nice. However I have a tiny corner room with a shared door to another room and I feel like we are roommates. I hear his phone conversations, phone alarm, etc. and my room is About 6 ft from the elevator (as they all are) and I hear the darn elevator beeping all night. And despite it stopping on nearby floors so often in takes up to ten minutes for the elevator to stop on 28. For the discount rate of $ 260 / nt and I can't get a good night's sleep (although the bed is very comfortable), housekeeping did not even replace the cheap shampoo from one day to the next, and I am constantly delayed by the slow elevator. I really see no reason to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear AnnieJ1979,

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you for the unsatisfactory experience you had while staying with us recently. Your feedback will be addressed to the Executive Management Team as well as to the appropriate departments. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review, as it is an excellent means for us to continuously improve our level of service. I apologize for not being able to meet your expectations in this particular stay and hope you would give us another opportunity to make things right for you. Have a wonderful weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    375
    197
    59
    42
See reviews for
145
267
63
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree for 3 nights and found the location convenient to visit the south of Manhattan and walk across the bridge to Brooklyn. The hotel is also close to subway stations which makes it easy to go up to Times Square for Broadway shows. Room was spacious and clean and staff were helpful. Nice touch on arrival with warm cookies at the reception. Elevators were a bit of an issue (very slow coming to your floor, no matter what time of day) so you may wish opt for lower floors which makes it possible to use stairwells (which we did).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear LuceHenriette,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and for your favorable review of our location, guest room size, helpfulness of staff members, and warm cookies. We do apologize for the waiting time for the elevators, however. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to the Financial District in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

this was a great suprise ... a hotel i didnt want to stay at but when the door opened i realized what everyone says is true ... dont judge......i apologize i was wrong .... great staff.. great especially the late night sunday room service crew... i would recommend this hotel ... any day of the week

Room Tip: no pool.. so no lifeguard.... upgrade to a city corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear skippysnippy,

Thank you very much for your compliments towards our hotel staff; we are very happy that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay. The AC/Heat unit noise concern will be addressed to the Chief Engineer and our Engineering Team will look into this matter. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to have another opportunity to be at your service again very soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

First time staying here and I loved it. Right in the middle of the financial district. Wall Street Bull and Battery Park steps away. Staff was courteous and helpful. Room was clean and priced well. Awesome hotel to stay at. Would recommend to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear joeregistre,

We are very excited to receive 5 stars from you! It is always a great compliment when guests find value in our hotel. Thank you very much for your time and business from Doubletree – Financial District. It was our pleasure to be at your service and we look forward to your next visit. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed in the hotel on a recent trip to New York. I was arriving late and I was able to check in very late with no problems. I was handed a cookie and it was warm. I'm not sure what this hotel has with cookies, but I ate it the next day and it is a damn good cookie even when it isn't warm. I ate breakfast in the dine in area on the ground floor and I gotta say breakfast there is good. The first day I was there I had blueberry pancakes with real blueberries! Delicious! And the belgian waffle... You have to try it, you just can't stay here and not eat it. Everything about the hotel is first class. My only gripe is that there is no free wifi in or internet in the hotel. No free wifi includes the dine in area as well. That being said, I am considering staying in the Double tree in midtown, near times square the next time I have the ability to come back to NY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife broke her ankle within two hours of our arrival. No one could put us in touch with a doctor. There was no wheelchair available, nor was anyone helpful in trying to help us find one. We were in town for two nights. On our last day in town, we used the room office chair to transport my wife to the front desk lobby on the second floor so that she could say goodbye to family members. A young African American receptionist (name started with a K) insisted that I immediately return the chair to the room. I explained the situation that my wife had severly injured her ankle, and asked if we could please wait a few moments while my wife visited with family in FULL VIEW of reception staff. I was told that I must immediately return the chair to the room. 10 minutes later, I had to carry my wife upstairs, which was considerably more painful for both of us than using the chair. Her ankle was clearly bruised and swollen. I understand not taking furniture out of the room, but we were in the MAIN RECEPTION AREA, with an exceptional circumstance. I am apalled that anyone would show such a lack of compassion, particularly in a service industry. We were in town for a wedding, and did not want to create a scene or detract from the happiness of the event.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I expect a small room in manhattan but this was extreme. The bathroom was so small there was nowhere to out your toiletries and the sink was a a very poor attempt to be modern but entirely impractical
The bed was shorter than any I have ever slept in and my feet hung over the end....!
Nice location and perhaps the high price is because of the proximity to Wall Street
There are better hotels
On the plus side the staff were helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District

Address: 8 Stone St, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.