We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Element New York Times Square West to your Saves list
Element New York Times Square West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Restore Pantry Credit
Ranked #203 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel is value for money. My advice would be get a low floor to avoid the slow elevators and use the stairs. Avoid peak time for the FREE breakfast. There is free wifi, free happy hour and snacks Monday to Thursday, great location and the staff were very very helpful and very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again, my experience was great.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Topkat007,
We are delighted to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast at Rise and our complimentary evening reception during your stay. Thank you for sharing your great experience with us and future guests, and we look forward to hosting you for your next trip. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    1,099
    277
    123
    81
See reviews for
483
1,145
171
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Element by Weston was a great NYC hotel choice. I chose it from the reviews on Trip Advisor and for the value for $. It offered free Wifi and breakfast. I booked a double room for 4 of us (kids 10 and 19).

What we found did not disappoint. It is not new but it is tasteful, modern, eco-friendly and it was CLEAN! Our double room was bigger than many other NYC hotels I've stayed in. The shower was wonderful and the bathroom not a bad size for NYC. The beds are extremely comfortable. Free bottled water when you're heading out. Filtered water and efficiency kitchenettes in the room (including microwave, full fridge, stove and some dishes/cutlery, etc.). Smart in-room storage. Complimentary Manager's reception including wine, beer and snacks (both hot and cold) from 5:30PM - 7:00PM Mon-Thurs. The breakfast offered standard fare with the addition of breakfast sandwiches, pancakes and smoothies. Others said the breakfast room was crowded and it was but there was ample seating a few steps away in the lobby and the sofa's had small tables on them. This is a rare freebie in NYC hotels and even if you just grabbed something to get you on your way to early line ups for attractions it was extremely well done and appreciated. The Wifi is a bit slow but free in room and lobby. You can't watch TV but you can do web searches, email and text just fine.

The service was EXCEPTIONAL - Samantha at the front desk was FANTASTIC! She went out of our way to make our stay a great one. She also graduated from Trainee during our visit and we're happy for her - she earned it! Everyone we met from the Manager to the concierge and all of the staff were friendly and efficient. The elevators will drive you crazy but they said the company was coming to look at ways to make them better next week and this did not impact our holiday.

There is a small but nice rooftop patio where you have beautiful day and night views of the city including the Chrysler Building and Hudson River. You can take your free drinks up there and enjoy the views and get some great photos.

Location is around the corner from Carlo's Bakery Store which, contrary to what I expected, had delicious fare if you got there early enough to avoid the line up. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to Times Square depending on how fast you are. We took 5 minutes with a 10yr old. Parking is conveniently across the street. Make sure you leave about 20 minutes to get your car at the end of your stay though. It's not run by the hotel but they validate so you get a better rate.

The service is the real star here. At Element by Weston the staff made us feel welcome and went out of their way to ensure we had a good experience. I travel to NYC for both business and pleasure and have stayed at Essex House, Marriott Marquee, Royalton and Edison. Element was perfect for a budget-friendly family getaway. Big value for the price.

Room Tip: A room with 2 double beds gave the four of us enough room - better than most NYC hotels. We were ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed two nights over last weekend and will definitely come back again. Pleased with the level of service we experienced - it seems to come naturally for Lynn Woods and the team. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgable on all the activities we were interested in. Staff always quick to make us feel comfortable and looked after, whether it's a couple extra bottles of water, some gourmet cookies or helping map out directions - it felt like they really were looking out for you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I always read a variety of reviews to work out the pros and cons of the place before I arrive, so was highly aware of people's opinions and expectations.

Like London, you pay a premium for just the location, and it's a comfortable walk to many main sights, good food venues and port authority station.
We had a standard room, and yes it is a bit cramped to try to fit in all the furniture, as a lot of things are larger than need be and so could be revamped a little but not due to it being severely outdated or anything! The kitchen area is well equipped with skinny dishwasher (had to ask for tablets), microwave, job, sink, large fridge freezer and coffee maker. I made a bit of a mess trying to use it to make a cup of tea! Bathroom was a good size and included soaps and shower gel. The room also seemed to have lots of item needing to use many of the plug sockets so was a case of working out what did not need to be plugged in! We were on the 33rd floor and had a good view of the Empire State Building and could just about see down to the new trade centre building.
Breakfast was included, but I'm not sure if it's just me or a British thing, that the breakfast isn't quite...doesn't hit the mark. It was always very busy and hard to find somewhere to sit, so people would take a tray from their rooms table to carry back upstairs. It is very much a canteen, no kind of service so can be a bit of a free for all dive when something got restocked. There is a choice of three very sweet cereals, or some porridge pots. Pancakes, which just seem a bit rubbery. Two choices of hot food (in like a foil blanket to keep warm), which would rotate every few days, such as "bacon" cheese and egg in biscuit- it's actually like a scone. But that just like bagels are very dry. Then a choice of muffins or fruit (Apple or orange), or little fruit yoghurts. The yoghurts for me were the only thing I couldn't really complain about!

The hotel has a small roof terrace, which never seemed to get busy, but occasionally the bins didn't seem to get emptied regularly enough. But it's still a good sun trap and place to watch the sun set and the lights below come alive. The lobby is a decent size with seating, and during the afternoon etc the hot drinks machines from breakfast get moved into the entrance lobby so you can help yourself. I don't see what is wrong with having it still in the breakfast area at the back to avoid the people off the street helping themselves. There was also some salad, peanuts, wine and beer available from 530pm which is a nice little extra.
The lift thing...there's nothing they can do to fix it people! They can't add more lifts! They go pretty quick as it is- ears pop! There was one occasion we waited just over 5mins at breakfast time, this also included two people having just got to the lift then squeezing in meaning we had to wait for another lift, but generally it would arrive to us empty. We never felt like we were waiting ages for them, but perhaps we are patient people.

We would stay here again. We did look around for the cheapest price for quite a while! But i think it's for more independent people rather than those looking for more personal treatment and service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Steph T,
We are delighted to hear you liked our hotel and would consider staying with us again should you return to the city. We take our guest reviews very seriously because they provide us with our guests’ candid opinions about our hotel so we can best identify ways to improve experience, and we appreciate you providing us your thorough feedback about your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

With a family member receiving medical treatment in NYC, I'm not going to spend for a 5-star hotel. And, since Element is fairly new, and I'm attracted to being green as well as a Platinum SPG member - I thought I'd give Element a try. It was only average. Service was spotty throughout, not as authentic or prompt as I'd expected. The rooms were a bit above average for a 3-star, but not much. But overall, the services makes this average. I wouldn't hesitate to return at the right price but my expectations would be lower.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Let's start with good. Upon arrival, the desk clerk was very nice & somewhat accommodating. The hotel is in the Garment District so you get to see a lot of beautiful fabrics & ladies picking up their handmade dresses/gowns. Grocery & liquor store close by to stock your full size refrigerator. Time Square is just a short walk. The Concierge was very knowledgable regarding restaurants. The rooms were clean & bed comfortable. Free wifi, USA newspaper delivered outside room.

Now on to our disappointments....we were put on the 20th floor. After standing at the elevator for 10 min., we quickly changed our mind & requested rooms on the 2nd floor. The only concern with this request is there is no security card to access the stairwell. So basically, anyone off the street can get on any floor. The rooms were extremely small--max 2 people in king size room. The lobby couches were filthy beyond belief. People lounging around for hours with suitcases piled high. The lobby area is extremely small. Checking in & out with our luggage was a nightmare. I never saw a Valet. Breakfast sandwiches were awful. Stick with yogurt & fruit. We were never told upon check-in that we would need to pick up ice at the front desk nor were we told there is a snack/beverage area next to the Concierge. There isn't place to sit outside of the hotel. A huge patio....found out this is used for bring in/out huge bins of clean/dirty towels in the evening. Not easy to access the hotel when the Towel Vendor is there. Trash piled high right in front of the hotel at night. People going thru it for hours--heart breaking. Didn't see this going on just a block up.
Upon, check-out was never asked how our stay was at the hotel. Very unusual for Starwood!

Starwood Management needs to really separate themselves from this hotel.

Room Tip: Elevators take FOREVER. A view would have been nice, but we didn't spend a lot of time in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Schippers,
While we are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and experienced helpful service from our knowledgeable Concierge, but we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests because we strive to deliver the best experience during their travels, so we have addressed your comments with our team in hopes to improve on these things. Again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations, and appreciate you sharing this feedback with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel had everything we needed but just lacked character. The bed, and bedding, were very comfortable. It was convenient (but not as close to Times Square as other hotels that we have stayed in). Breakfast was a bonus, but could be busy and as we were on the 30th floor we did have to allow time for the lifts

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#229 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#149 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#22 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Sq...
#181 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York Midtown Manhattan Times Square South Ny
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Yo...
#85 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element New York Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.