We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to rate better, love the "green" idea, but just couldn't” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Element New York Times Square West to your Saves list
Element New York Times Square West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Restore Pantry Credit
Ranked #209 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Wanted to rate better, love the "green" idea, but just couldn't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

With a family member receiving medical treatment in NYC, I'm not going to spend for a 5-star hotel. And, since Element is fairly new, and I'm attracted to being green as well as a Platinum SPG member - I thought I'd give Element a try. It was only average. Service was spotty throughout, not as authentic or prompt as I'd expected. The rooms were a bit above average for a 3-star, but not much. But overall, the services makes this average. I wouldn't hesitate to return at the right price but my expectations would be lower.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    1,123
    287
    124
    84
See reviews for
504
1,163
173
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Let's start with good. Upon arrival, the desk clerk was very nice & somewhat accommodating. The hotel is in the Garment District so you get to see a lot of beautiful fabrics & ladies picking up their handmade dresses/gowns. Grocery & liquor store close by to stock your full size refrigerator. Time Square is just a short walk. The Concierge was very knowledgable regarding restaurants. The rooms were clean & bed comfortable. Free wifi, USA newspaper delivered outside room.

Now on to our disappointments....we were put on the 20th floor. After standing at the elevator for 10 min., we quickly changed our mind & requested rooms on the 2nd floor. The only concern with this request is there is no security card to access the stairwell. So basically, anyone off the street can get on any floor. The rooms were extremely small--max 2 people in king size room. The lobby couches were filthy beyond belief. People lounging around for hours with suitcases piled high. The lobby area is extremely small. Checking in & out with our luggage was a nightmare. I never saw a Valet. Breakfast sandwiches were awful. Stick with yogurt & fruit. We were never told upon check-in that we would need to pick up ice at the front desk nor were we told there is a snack/beverage area next to the Concierge. There isn't place to sit outside of the hotel. A huge patio....found out this is used for bring in/out huge bins of clean/dirty towels in the evening. Not easy to access the hotel when the Towel Vendor is there. Trash piled high right in front of the hotel at night. People going thru it for hours--heart breaking. Didn't see this going on just a block up.
Upon, check-out was never asked how our stay was at the hotel. Very unusual for Starwood!

Starwood Management needs to really separate themselves from this hotel.

Room Tip: Elevators take FOREVER. A view would have been nice, but we didn't spend a lot of time in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Schippers,
While we are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and experienced helpful service from our knowledgeable Concierge, but we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests because we strive to deliver the best experience during their travels, so we have addressed your comments with our team in hopes to improve on these things. Again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations, and appreciate you sharing this feedback with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel had everything we needed but just lacked character. The bed, and bedding, were very comfortable. It was convenient (but not as close to Times Square as other hotels that we have stayed in). Breakfast was a bonus, but could be busy and as we were on the 30th floor we did have to allow time for the lifts

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights on the 39th floor and so had a fantastic view of this beautiful city every morning. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was very spacious, modern and clean, with a small kitchen and fridge. The hotel has a great location as it is a short walk to Times Square and great shopping too. Breakfast was included and was ok, although quite crowded every morning. This hotel definitely needs more elevators!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

stayed on 21st july after being ripped off at riff hotels just few streets down and expected rubbish as this hotel was of similar price category.
pleasent accomodating ataff extremely well eqipped room with even a mini kitchnenette witheven spices and a very comfy bed was apleasent suprise. fantastic location at times square an walking distance to hudson cruises and exhibitions.free good breakfast -only con as overcrowded with no seating

Room Tip: higher floor may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Asoka K,
Thank you for your kind review. We strive to provide well equipped accommodations so our guests can maintain their modern lifestyles while traveling, and we are delighted to hear you loved the amenities in your guest room in addition to the other complimentary services we provide. Thanks again for sharing, and we hope to see you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As others have commented, this hotel is in a good location for tourists, just a fire blocks from Times Square. There a quite a few economy franchises nearby. However, our stay was badly colored by the worst elevator system that I have experienced. The capacity of the evelevator system is far below that needed for this 40 story building. It was common to have to wait 15 minutes or more as elevators passed by without stopping going up and down, or turned around before reaching the higher floors. I was on the 32nd floor so climbing the stairs was not convenient. My kids who were in the 17th floor typically walked down to breakfast since the elevators were so hopeless. Truly the worst elevators that I have experienced, and I have about 2 million miles of travel. I also should note that little attempt was made to put our rooms close to each other.
If you are pressed for time to meet others or trying to rush to a Broadway show, these elevators will give you a headache.
The rooms are small but clean and and the kitchenette is handy to curb food expenses. The breakfast is included in the room charge, but it is very simple with cheese/egg biscuits that were just bad, and the space is extremely crowded on the weekend.
Overall this hotel does not seem to be adequately designed for the number of guests that stay there. I would not stay again until I hear that the elevator system is improved and the breakfast is more appetizing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear tippster,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Manhattan giving you great access to the best attractions in the city, but are disheartened you did not fully enjoy your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry for the elevators. We are a busy New York hotel, and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevators during peak times. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, and we hope the rest of your trip to NYC was a good one. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in a suite on the 39th floor - nice view overlooking the skyline and a fairly big room with kitchen/small lounge too. Hotel is a little soulless but a great location for exploring the city. Everyone complains about the lifts but being near the top it wasn't an issue at all for us - a few times you did seem to stop on every floor going down with people having to wait for a while though. Breakfast was basic and in a school canteen type area but was included unlike most hotels in New York, as was Wifi. Also had a gym which was pretty good and dead quiet!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Laura M,
We are delighted to hear you liked your guestroom view overlooking the beautiful New York skyline, hotel amenities, and were able to enjoy our convenient location in Times Square. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review, and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to NYC. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#214 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#150 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#26 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Sq...
#183 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York Midtown Manhattan Times Square South Ny
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Yo...
#83 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element New York Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.