We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Element New York Times Square West to your Saves list
Element New York Times Square West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #227 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel had everything we needed but just lacked character. The bed, and bedding, were very comfortable. It was convenient (but not as close to Times Square as other hotels that we have stayed in). Breakfast was a bonus, but could be busy and as we were on the 30th floor we did have to allow time for the lifts

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Francis58 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights on the 39th floor and so had a fantastic view of this beautiful city every morning. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was very spacious, modern and clean, with a small kitchen and fridge. The hotel has a great location as it is a short walk to Times Square and great shopping too. Breakfast was included and was ok, although quite crowded every morning. This hotel definitely needs more elevators!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margarita_c17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

stayed on 21st july after being ripped off at riff hotels just few streets down and expected rubbish as this hotel was of similar price category.
pleasent accomodating ataff extremely well eqipped room with even a mini kitchnenette witheven spices and a very comfy bed was apleasent suprise. fantastic location at times square an walking distance to hudson cruises and exhibitions.free good breakfast -only con as overcrowded with no seating

Room Tip: higher floor may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asoka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Asoka K,
Thank you for your kind review. We strive to provide well equipped accommodations so our guests can maintain their modern lifestyles while traveling, and we are delighted to hear you loved the amenities in your guest room in addition to the other complimentary services we provide. Thanks again for sharing, and we hope to see you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As others have commented, this hotel is in a good location for tourists, just a fire blocks from Times Square. There a quite a few economy franchises nearby. However, our stay was badly colored by the worst elevator system that I have experienced. The capacity of the evelevator system is far below that needed for this 40 story building. It was common to have to wait 15 minutes or more as elevators passed by without stopping going up and down, or turned around before reaching the higher floors. I was on the 32nd floor so climbing the stairs was not convenient. My kids who were in the 17th floor typically walked down to breakfast since the elevators were so hopeless. Truly the worst elevators that I have experienced, and I have about 2 million miles of travel. I also should note that little attempt was made to put our rooms close to each other.
If you are pressed for time to meet others or trying to rush to a Broadway show, these elevators will give you a headache.
The rooms are small but clean and and the kitchenette is handy to curb food expenses. The breakfast is included in the room charge, but it is very simple with cheese/egg biscuits that were just bad, and the space is extremely crowded on the weekend.
Overall this hotel does not seem to be adequately designed for the number of guests that stay there. I would not stay again until I hear that the elevator system is improved and the breakfast is more appetizing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tippster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear tippster,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Manhattan giving you great access to the best attractions in the city, but are disheartened you did not fully enjoy your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry for the elevators. We are a busy New York hotel, and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevators during peak times. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, and we hope the rest of your trip to NYC was a good one. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in a suite on the 39th floor - nice view overlooking the skyline and a fairly big room with kitchen/small lounge too. Hotel is a little soulless but a great location for exploring the city. Everyone complains about the lifts but being near the top it wasn't an issue at all for us - a few times you did seem to stop on every floor going down with people having to wait for a while though. Breakfast was basic and in a school canteen type area but was included unlike most hotels in New York, as was Wifi. Also had a gym which was pretty good and dead quiet!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Laura M,
We are delighted to hear you liked your guestroom view overlooking the beautiful New York skyline, hotel amenities, and were able to enjoy our convenient location in Times Square. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review, and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to NYC. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Starwoods , the fine hoteliers of the W , The Westin , The Sheraton to name a few have deceptively gone low end rent. I say deceptively because they disguise this as their "green " alternative hotel. What they have done is drag the Starwoods name into the gutter.
This is a cheap low scale hotel and there is nothing wrong with that if that is what you are looking for. If , like me , you are used to a Starwoods property being about good rooms, good service, friendly staff and a hotel with some standards you have become used to , then this will surely disappoint you. If you were expecting the motel 6 you will be pleasantly surprised by your upscale selection.
Starwoods should be embarrassed of this debacle called The Element!

Room Tip: don't stay here is the only tip I can give someone looking for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knuknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear knuknut,
Thank you for your review and loyalty to SPG. We are very sorry to disappoint you during your recent visit. Just like all of the Starwood brands, we strive to deliver a unique experience with outstanding customer service which results in a great stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations, and we hope you will give us another chance to make this experience up to you in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

As far as New York hotel rooms go this one was great. I didn't realize that their standard rooms come with a mini-kitchenette complete with a full-size fridge and freezer, 2 burner stove, and sink. The room itself was small (but expected since its NY). The bed was extremely comfortable. The best part of this hotel is its AMAZING roof deck on the 41st floor. You can see almost every major NY landmark from here. I was very impressed.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTravelers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Rachel F,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. It’s our priority to make each guest have an enjoyable visit, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for sharing, and we hope to see you again very soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#112 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,527 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#34 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,112 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#166 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#196 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#304 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,167 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#135 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing