We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Element New York Times Square West to your Saves list
Element New York Times Square West
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel had everything we needed but just lacked character. The bed, and bedding, were very comfortable. It was convenient (but not as close to Times Square as other hotels that we have stayed in). Breakfast was a bonus, but could be busy and as we were on the 30th floor we did have to allow time for the lifts

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    975
    239
    112
    73
See reviews for
400
1,068
153
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights on the 39th floor and so had a fantastic view of this beautiful city every morning. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was very spacious, modern and clean, with a small kitchen and fridge. The hotel has a great location as it is a short walk to Times Square and great shopping too. Breakfast was included and was ok, although quite crowded every morning. This hotel definitely needs more elevators!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

stayed on 21st july after being ripped off at riff hotels just few streets down and expected rubbish as this hotel was of similar price category.
pleasent accomodating ataff extremely well eqipped room with even a mini kitchnenette witheven spices and a very comfy bed was apleasent suprise. fantastic location at times square an walking distance to hudson cruises and exhibitions.free good breakfast -only con as overcrowded with no seating

Room Tip: higher floor may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Asoka K,
Thank you for your kind review. We strive to provide well equipped accommodations so our guests can maintain their modern lifestyles while traveling, and we are delighted to hear you loved the amenities in your guest room in addition to the other complimentary services we provide. Thanks again for sharing, and we hope to see you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As others have commented, this hotel is in a good location for tourists, just a fire blocks from Times Square. There a quite a few economy franchises nearby. However, our stay was badly colored by the worst elevator system that I have experienced. The capacity of the evelevator system is far below that needed for this 40 story building. It was common to have to wait 15 minutes or more as elevators passed by without stopping going up and down, or turned around before reaching the higher floors. I was on the 32nd floor so climbing the stairs was not convenient. My kids who were in the 17th floor typically walked down to breakfast since the elevators were so hopeless. Truly the worst elevators that I have experienced, and I have about 2 million miles of travel. I also should note that little attempt was made to put our rooms close to each other.
If you are pressed for time to meet others or trying to rush to a Broadway show, these elevators will give you a headache.
The rooms are small but clean and and the kitchenette is handy to curb food expenses. The breakfast is included in the room charge, but it is very simple with cheese/egg biscuits that were just bad, and the space is extremely crowded on the weekend.
Overall this hotel does not seem to be adequately designed for the number of guests that stay there. I would not stay again until I hear that the elevator system is improved and the breakfast is more appetizing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear tippster,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Manhattan giving you great access to the best attractions in the city, but are disheartened you did not fully enjoy your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry for the elevators. We are a busy New York hotel, and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevators during peak times. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, and we hope the rest of your trip to NYC was a good one. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in a suite on the 39th floor - nice view overlooking the skyline and a fairly big room with kitchen/small lounge too. Hotel is a little soulless but a great location for exploring the city. Everyone complains about the lifts but being near the top it wasn't an issue at all for us - a few times you did seem to stop on every floor going down with people having to wait for a while though. Breakfast was basic and in a school canteen type area but was included unlike most hotels in New York, as was Wifi. Also had a gym which was pretty good and dead quiet!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Laura M,
We are delighted to hear you liked your guestroom view overlooking the beautiful New York skyline, hotel amenities, and were able to enjoy our convenient location in Times Square. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review, and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to NYC. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Starwoods , the fine hoteliers of the W , The Westin , The Sheraton to name a few have deceptively gone low end rent. I say deceptively because they disguise this as their "green " alternative hotel. What they have done is drag the Starwoods name into the gutter.
This is a cheap low scale hotel and there is nothing wrong with that if that is what you are looking for. If , like me , you are used to a Starwoods property being about good rooms, good service, friendly staff and a hotel with some standards you have become used to , then this will surely disappoint you. If you were expecting the motel 6 you will be pleasantly surprised by your upscale selection.
Starwoods should be embarrassed of this debacle called The Element!

Room Tip: don't stay here is the only tip I can give someone looking for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear knuknut,
Thank you for your review and loyalty to SPG. We are very sorry to disappoint you during your recent visit. Just like all of the Starwood brands, we strive to deliver a unique experience with outstanding customer service which results in a great stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations, and we hope you will give us another chance to make this experience up to you in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

As far as New York hotel rooms go this one was great. I didn't realize that their standard rooms come with a mini-kitchenette complete with a full-size fridge and freezer, 2 burner stove, and sink. The room itself was small (but expected since its NY). The bed was extremely comfortable. The best part of this hotel is its AMAZING roof deck on the 41st floor. You can see almost every major NY landmark from here. I was very impressed.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Rachel F,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. It’s our priority to make each guest have an enjoyable visit, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for sharing, and we hope to see you again very soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element New York Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.