We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and not to over expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Element New York Times Square West to your Saves list
Element New York Times Square West
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average and not to over expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and we picked this hotel because of location and our budget. It was my first time to New York and planned a lot of activities to explore the city, hence a hotel with easy transportation access is crucial. Glad we picked this, the location was great. As for the interior of hotel, honestly, given the budget that we set for this, we weren't expected a lot. The room was ok, it's not big but we've seen smaller so no complaint about the size here. The shower, for some reason, the temperature was not consistent at all and very difficult to get it right. Such a shame because the shower head is amazing but we couldn't enjoy a good shower without struggling with the water temperature every time.
The breakfast, honestly, don't even bother. The queue was so long and not even worth your time for some basic low quality yoghurt, muesli and bread. It's just easier if you go out and dine at the cafe nearby. Initially we chose this hotel because it comes with free breakfast, given we are the sort of travelers that like to start our day early with breakfast and thought this would be easier. If you are the same, suggest you look somewhere else. On the other hand, it gives us the opportunity to explore breakfast in New York.
Lastly, reconfirming with what everyone said, the elevator was ridiculous. We stayed for a week and probably used it less than 5 times our whole trip. Thank god we are on 11th floor and not too bad to walk down. So my suggestion, go for lower floor. There's nothing much to see on high floor anyway, since it's next to port authority. Unless you like buses watching. Was it a pleasant stay? Indifferent to me. Will I come back? Probably no.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    877
    217
    99
    69
See reviews for
351
996
138
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is one of those hotels near time square that is full of European and Asian tourists. Very busy, crowded lobby. Annoying wait time for elevators. That being said, clean small rooms. The kitchenettes are a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I recently stayed for a long weekend and it was a great experience and very good value for money.

Location is great, very clean and if you are traveling with kids is perfect, all the rooms are well equipped and with a kitchenette that make your life easier. The room also has a big fridge to keep all the food that you could need for your babies.

Breakfast included and all the personnel is always willing to help you and make your stay the best.

I really recommend this smart hotel in the heart of Manhattan.

Room Tip: Try to ask for room in the top floors, they have beautiful views and are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Two adults and 2 teens loved this hotel for 5 days. Cab ride from airport was $50 plus tip and took 40 minutes. 3 blocks-(5 minutes) to the subway station which we used to go to the Yankees game, Chelsea, and Ground Zero area. Everywhere else-Madison Square Garden, Grand Central, The Rock, theaters, Times Square etc. we walked. Safe area even at night. 7th and 8th ave. are nicer areas than 6th and 9th---so use your judgement when walking with family. Hotel is super clean and comfortable. High quality towels, bedding, kitchen, etc. Great offerings at breakfast-but the majority of guests speak limited English and skip lines, grab extra food to place in backpacks etc. Be patient if you are not used to this! We asked for a lower room to avoid elevator waits-and I'm glad that I did. Go to the roof if you want a view-stay on a lower floor for your convience. A/C was broken in first room on 7th floor-I was moved to 12th. 3 phone calls/1 mechanic visit---a bummer, but they did move us and the new room was perfect. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: super crowded, but we heard no above, below or next door noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear 50 states before I die,
We are thrilled you loved your recent stay with us and liked our services and amenities. We understand the perks of being centrally located when traveling to NYC, and we are glad you enjoyed our location during your trip. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we would love to host you again should you visit NYC in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

What a find. Great hotel, within walking distance of both Time Square and Penn Station and fantastic value for money too. The free breakfast is a huge bonus, (big thanks to Liz and her co-workers) with a variety of hot and cold options - enough to keep me going until evening. Sure the lifts are too slow, but hey, if it was too perfect everyone would want to stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Nerys B,
Thank you for your raving review. It’s our pleasure to provide you and all of our guests with great service. We are very happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and we will congratulate Liz for her outstanding service to you. We hope you will return for your next visit to New York City. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I recently stayed for one night for a weekend trip. I was very impressed with the proximity to Penn Station and also to Times Square. I also thought the staff was exceptionally kind and the the room was very comfortable. It had a nice view of the city and was very clean. The beautiful roof top sitting area and free breakfast also added to a wonderful stay. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I cannot stop raving about my recent stay at the Element Times Square. Located right in the heart of the city, you can easily get to any part of Manhattan with a short walk to the subway. Only 10mi from LGA (about 30min depending on traffic). We stayed in 3604 and 3602 and had an AMAZING view of the Empire State Building, midtown, and the Hudson River. The rooms were clean, nice amount of space (especially for NY), and the beds were extremely comfortable.

The rooms include a full kitchenette (dishwasher, stove, microwave, FULL refrigerator/freezer, glassware, etc). If you're staying in the city for more than a night, this is very useful. We got snacks from the market around the corner and had our own happy hour before going out for the evening. They also provide a wonderful breakfast. This is much more than your cheap processed muffins and bananas. They had scrambled eggs, pancakes, fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereal, and (my favorite) two different kinds of meat, egg, and cheese breakfast biscuits that were already wrapped up and ready to go. Now the food wasn't 5 star, but for free it was perfect! And hit the spot for a full day of strolling the city. The hotel also offers a FREE Happy Hour with wine, beer, and appetizers! I didn't get to partake in this because they only do it Mon-Thurs, but my family who came before me got to enjoy it and they absolutely loved it. Where else in NY do you get a free happy hour?! There is also free wi-fi and a business center with computers available for use for free.

I am so glad that we stayed at the Element Times Square, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the city. I will definitely book here for all of my NY trips. If you can try and stay on a top floor to get the best view :)

Room Tip: 36th floor has great views of the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear CarlyM24,
We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay and liked our very convenient location, clean and comfortable guest rooms, in addition to our complimentary breakfast and evening reception. We are so glad it sounds like you had a wonderful visit to NYC and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element New York Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.