We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Element New York Times Square West to your Saves list
Element New York Times Square West
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the 40th floor, which had a great view and no street noise. Our room was like a mini New York apartment. Very quiet. Staff was friendly. Only negative was staying all week because the morning free breakfast and nightly reception was always the same food. Other than that, can't complain!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank You on your recent review on Tripadvisor. We hope to see your back soon!


Best,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    905
    225
    103
    70
See reviews for
364
1,016
139
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Well located, the hotel is committed to sustainability. They have recycling trash, shampoo dispenser attached to the wall (the small bottles are completely non-green) and the small card on the bed(that every hotel has). Better to pay for an view, besides the great view you will wait less for the elevator. As low your room is the longer is your wait. Breakfast is great but there is not enough seats. We tool the BKF to eat on our room everyday because we could never find tables. Elevators are used by the staff too, which makes the wait even longer. The staff is nice and prepared, but always busy. The front desk has no space, the design was not well done. Overall it has a fair rate for a nice hotel. Just don't expect a 4 stars, it is maybe a 3 stars deluxe hotel. I recommend.

Room Tip: Hight floor, if you have trouble sleeping ask away form the elevator the machine makes serious noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hi Aline G,


We appreciate your feedback and if the future brings you back to the BIG APPLE please come give us another try.

Please reach out to us personally for your next travel plans.

Best,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We researched many hotels and selected Element for its location, styling, price, and amenities. We were extremely pleased. The hotel is only 2 years ,old and has a "green" concept, which we appreciated. The central location was terrific and we were able to walk everywhere, except Brooklyn. Our room was very comfortable and we were glad we upgraded for the view and kitchen--expecially the view both daytime and evening. The breakfast was really great, with lots of hot and cold choices. We were there for one happy hour and enjoyed both the food and good selection of drinks. As others have noted, the elevators are inadequate during peak times. But we were not terribly inconvenienced by them--we just planned accordingly. We would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
SusanMarie3,


We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us soon!


All the best,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from August 29 - Sept 3, 2012. Booked it on Expedia.ca after reading what seemed like endless reviews of hotels on Trip Advisor. All I can say is we were extremely pleased with this hotel.

The location is great - very close to times square and great 7th ave shopping, but far enough away from crowds on 8th Ave.....The subway is a close block away near port authority......

The staff at this hotel are extremely attentive and friendly. The complimentary breakfast everyday is a great thing, as well as he complimentary beer/wine, snack happy hour during the week was a pleasant suprise and really satisfying.

Yes, as you no doubt have read from other reviews, the elevators can be a bit of a wait, but really, unless you are running late and have to be somewhere within minutes, its not a big problem. Relax, your're on holidays.....waiting for an elevator is a great way to chat with other people from all over the place!

With a great location such as this, friendly attentive staff, and nice rooms with every convenience, you can not go wrong staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: If there are any issues with things in your room (ac leaking or tv wobbly etc(...talk to the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Drexs1,


We appreciate your AMAZING comments!! Come back and visit us soon!!


Be Wishes,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, looks pretty new, modern decor, very well located, nice spacious rooms and with kichinette! I think is a great value for the money compared to what you can get. Breakfast is included and offered in the lobby as well as afternoon snacks, coffee beverages. The only problem was the elevator taht took forever. I think the hotel was full when we were there but other than that grea option!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi CamiMasdeu-

Thank you on your recent review on Tripadvisor we appreciate all your kind comments.

All the best,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

New York is truly the city that never sleeps. We visited the Element using Starwood points as part of a trip to NYC.

This hotel is only a couple of years old. It is on a bit of a side street but is only a few blocks from Times Square and the Theatre District.

Upon first entry we were taken a bit aback by the stark industrial appearance of the interior. Decorated in a modern style, we didn't particularly find the appearance appealing. In fact, we've found McDonald's even in NYC that are decorated in a modern style and are much more attractive than the decor in this hotel.

Still, we don't go to a hotel primarily for the decor. The decor is about my only criticism and wasn't worth taking off an entire "circle" of rating. We were greeted upon an early (~10am) arrival) by a very attentive checkin desk. Kaitlyn was our receptionist and she was very helpful, saying we could store our bags and our room should be available around 12-1pm (not 3pm like most hotels). We returned a bit later and she again helped us for checking, with a smile and a description of fitness facilities, internet, and other hotel amenities.

The hotel is a bit odd in that each floor has only ~10 rooms, but there are 40 stories! The views are excellent (I would suspect from almost any room). The rooms have a full kitchenette and are almost studio apartments - with a couch, a desk, a range, and refrigerator and freezer. The room was clean and comfortable; the bed was very comfortable. The shower was a "rain shower" and was excellent. The free internet worked well.

The free breakfast had a good selection of breakfast egg-type sandwiches, fruit, pastries, and cereals.

The elevators were a bit slow given the many floors and people transiting in and out of the hotel.

On our last day we used the hotel driver to get to the airport and this was handled quickly and efficiently.

One of the nicest things about this hotel was that every staff member we talked to - the checkin desk, the bellmen, the breakfast staff - were all smiling, friendly and helpful. Good service goes a long way!

Room Tip: Just get a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

There really isn't much to say except that if this is your first time in NYC (as was mine) book this hotel and you will not be sorry. Stayed for 3 nights, and love SPG class beds and pillows. The rooms are nice, roomy, and the elevators worked. Loved the breakfast in the morning, it was a great way to fuel up for a full day of exploring the city. My friend and I walked everywhere (quite a bit of walking) but Times Square and Central Park are fairly close by. Everything else is extremely well connected by subway, and the concierge is amazing at helping you understand the train to take to get to where you're going.

Overall an amazing stay, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element New York Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.