We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Urban Adventures

New York Urban Adventures
154 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)
347-878-8444
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$65*
and up
Ranked #42 of 809 Activities in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Urban Adventures unlock the secrets of over 100 cities around the world. Joining a small group of up to 12 other people, you'll wander hidden backstreets, browse the stalls of quirky markets, discover New York’s rich cultural heritage as well as exploring some of city's greatest icons; all in the company of an expert local guide. Experience the real New York on a full day or half day New York Urban Adventure.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Did the tour with guide Joey. It was just us and 3 other people. Joey knew the history of NY very good and overwhelmed us with his detailed knowledge. We now know about the birth of this big city! We also had 4 stops during the tour with authentic foods which was a very pleasant break on this hot day. Surely I would recommend this tour to all who want to know something about the history and birth of this city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    14
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Tenements,Tales and Tastings Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great fun. Extremely informative and Excellent value. We learnt so much more about the lower East side of the city - its history and peoples, than we would have done. Our guide Karen, was so knowledgable and so easy to engage with - more than just a tour guide - rapidly became our `mate` - just what you need as an introduction to a different city. Excellent

Harold and Pat Rowse Cornwall.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Eat, walk, learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you have a spare half day in New York you should definitely do the Tales and Tastes tour.
We had a lovely stroll through the story of New York immigrants and visited some old local restaurants where we sample food. We had a great time discovering a different side of the city. Nathalie was awesome like they say...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tenements, Tales and Tastes Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our tour with Urban Adventures. Our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and taught us a lot about the how NYC was settled. She provided interstice facts and it was great to have this linked with some special foods from different cultures. Taking a hiking tour really gives you the chance to get to know a bit of the city in a much better way than taking a bus would. We feel we got a really good taste of the part of Manhattan that we visited during this tour and would recommend it to others.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went on the Tenaments, Tasting and Tales tour with Natalie as the Tour Guide. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, Natalie was excellent and very informative. We walked through areas of New York we probably wouldn't of seen on our own. We loved China Town and Little Italy. Along the way we got to try little tasters of some foods we'd not eaten before like Knishes and pork dumplings and a few other lovely things. We eneded the tour in a German pub which had many different beers you could sample although this wasn't included in the price of the trip but we did have large pretzels to try to end a great tour.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Urban Adventures also viewed

 

Been to New York Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Urban Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.