We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a visit to down town New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Varick Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #122 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a visit to down town New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is in the SOHO area of New York and walking distance to NYU as well as tons of restaurants. You can basically walk everywhere. Our main purpose was to do a college visit for NYU so it worked out really well. Staff upon arrival was very friendly. Valet parking is available but expensive and you really don't have any other choice.

The rooms were small but very clean and functional. I would recommend this hotel.

Breakfast was weak with limited choices and very slow service. So I would recommend going out and have breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We truly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott NY Manhattan SoHo. I am glad to see our location in SoHo close to many wonderful restaurants and close to NYU worked for your visit. We do hope we can have you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    160
    33
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
136
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location of this hotel was wonderful! There were so many great restaurants just a five or ten minute walk away! The subway was across the street! We asked for a room on an upper floor and got the19th floor with a great view of the Empire State Bulding, Chrysler Building and mid town. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Not large, but there was everything we needed, including a small fridge and coffee machine. The staff was excellent

Room Tip: Opt for city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about our SoHo hotel. I agree the local options for dining and entertainment are great in this wonderful NYC location. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Do not expect a lot of room to move around but it is adequate. TV, refrigerator, new shower makes it comfortable. Staff is nice. Do not bother to take the breakfast option, it is disappointing. Dunkin Donuts is right next door and has a well rounded breakfast menu.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor and street noises were still prominent but it is NYC. This hotel is in Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the SoHo Courtyard Marriott. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Right in the middle of everything. 20 min walk to Ground Zero. 5 min. walk to the Village. Very clean and with updated decors. Helpfull staff. Starbuck ind the lobby - I love it. Super sleep quality and with restaurants and shopping all around you. You can´t go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to New York, I decided to arrive without a hotel booking, opting a good walk around before booking in. I was on my way to New Hampshire having finished a conference in Washington D.C. In D.C. I stayed at a Marriot hotel and was impressed with their service, and after walking around in NY for a few hours decided that I would try the above mentioned hotel. Obviously it seemed extremely expensive from a South African perspective, but after having a chat to the staff, we got to an agreed rate, and I booked a room. Due to its location, I enjoyed the walks up and down small side streets, getting the sound and smell of New York. The subway is located across the street so after havi9ng walked most of the night I took the subway to 42 street avenue to enjoyi the city that never sleeps!

To the staff at the Mariott, thanks for making my first stay in New York such a memorable experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We strive to make every stay a memorable one and knowing that we were able to do so for you during your recent stay makes us thrilled. I would have to agree with you, the location is very convenient for many things, dining, shopping and even transportation! Thank you for the wonderful comment and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

What made this stay nice was the friendly staff. One in particular went way beyond the call of duty and manged to get us a room as an early check-in and then helped us find a metered parking space and actually went and fed the meter for us for a period of 3-hours until we left for a meeting.

The rooms are all fresh and updated if not small, but hey good price good location in SoHo. I would recommend it as a good launch pad for touring NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Varick Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I can't wait to share your response with our staff. I am please to see you were able to enjoy the service our staff is so great at giving and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit to NYC. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was my second stay at this property and once again, I arrived and left smiling. The staff is incredibly friendly (you can tell they truly enjoy working together). The rooms were clean. Bed comfortable. The location is just perfect for anyone that likes wandering around SOHO and the Village ---- so many great bars, restaurants and shops. Not to mention fun people watching. I emailed the general manager the day before asking for early arrival and they were able to accommodate. It's also reasonably priced compared to other NYC hotels, and I'd certainly rather spend my money on fun things to do in NYC rather than on a fancy, frilly room.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor and couldn't hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate your response and are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay. SoHo is such a lovely area with so much to do and when you visit again if you need any recommendations please let us know as we would be happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho

Address: 181 Varick Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Marriott, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.