We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Varick Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #121 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family of four stayed over New Year's and had a great stay! The staff is exceptional. Every employee we encountered--desk staff. barista, HVAC--was helpful, pleasant and polite. Moreover, the location is amazing. Having stayed in Midtown/East side many times with the "WOW" factor lobby and hotel bars--we were ready to try a new location with more of a neighborhood feel. There are innumerable restaurants and stores about a 3-5 minute walk from the hotel. We were there during "Super Storm Hercules" and walking during the storm to dinner was not a problem. I would definitely return as I did not see a hotel in a better location for Soho, plus the rooms were fine. NYC hotel rooms are small but 4 of us (husband, myself and two BIG teenagers) survived fine in the double room--and that is saying something.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the Hotel's location in SoHo! As you mentioned, the Hotel's location is so convenient to the downtown area of Manhattan including shops and Restaurants! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    154
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
88
130
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My partner and I spent 12 nights here over Xmas and had a great stay. The hotel is a fantastic base to explore Manhattan & beyond with a subway stop extremely close to the hotel, and another 2 lines less than 10 minutes walk away. The service in the hotel is genuinely friendly and efficient - we were on the 10th floor and weren't disturbed by traffic noise at all - great blackout curtains (often a bug-bear of mine), very comfy king sized bed, loved the free zippy internet, and yes, the room is reasonably small but not by New York standards and we never felt that we were bumping into each other. The room servicing was great - spotlessly cleaned and we were left bundles of extra towels and toiletries each day.

We had chosen to stay at the Courtyard because of other trip reviews, and as it had a gym - and we weren't disappointed. The gym was small but had enough cardio machines and a set of weights to get a decent work-out, and most mornings we were the only people in it. We also found the coin operated laundry to be really useful during our long stay.

We didn't have any meals at the hotel, as there are so many fantastic cafe options walking distance into Soho or the Village. Wonderful location - we'd definitely think about staying again on another trip to NY.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo including the service, cleanliness and overall facility. Thank you for your kind review! We hope when your travels bring you back to New York City that your partner and you will join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

As a former New Yorker, I don't expect much in the way of friendly service when I visit the city. However, the team at this hotel is not only friendly and accommodating, but also incredibly efficient. They had no problem switching us from a suite to two adjoining rooms and were extremely helpful with all of our requests. The rooms were comfortable and spotless. The hotel itself is ideally located blocks from Greenwich Village and steps away from a subway station. We will definitely return here anytime we want to stay downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Providing great service is a primary goal of the Hotel and I am so happy to hear that you found this to be true! Thank you for staying with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for a long weekend in the big city! Location is great! It's out of the all the chaos but very conveniently located near the subway. Walking distance to the Village. The staff was extremely pleasant! The room was a good size for two, especially for New York. I recommend room 1806. Awesome view and high enough so traffic noise isn't really an issue. Bed is comfy and the amenities are just what you need. No bells and whistles. Just nice! I would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and the overall room and location. We hope when your travels bring you back to New York City that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great hotel with incredibly helpful staff! Rooms were comfortable and clean. Location was convenient to the Subway, walking distance to many restaurants. Front desk staff was amazing- providing excellent recommendations to local restaurants, best way to get places, and what to see based on getting to know us!

We used a combination of rewards points and AAA rates to be able to afford staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay including location and the overall service from my Team. Providing great service is a primary goal of the Hotel! We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great stay at the Courtyard Soho. Effortless check-in, room was just as we expected: plenty of room by NYC standards, comfy bed, spotless bathroom. Location was perfect for us as our daughter lives just around the corner. We will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the overall location. Thank you for selecting the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had a lovely stay. We spent a week here and set out in the morning for sightseeing and did not return until time for bed. There are subway stations close by, one just 1/2 a block away. The bed was very comfortable. The West Village is close by and there are a few casual eateries within a block radius. We did not try out the hotel restaurant. The front desk staff were pleasant and eager to help. Our room was next to the elevator, however we heard no noise from it nor other guests. There was some street noise, especially on a Sat. night, so a slight rating ding for that. I would stay here again, given I could get a similar Priceline Express Deal on the room rate, as I did for this stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your week long stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo. We hope when your travels bring you back to New York City that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact the Hotel prior to your next stay and we can assist with your room preferences. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho

Address: 181 Varick Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.