We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to our heart!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Varick Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #136 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close to our heart!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our daughter lives in the west village, so on a visit for Thanksgiving, we wanted to stay as close to her as possible. The Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho fit the bill ... & better than ever expected. The staff was amazing, helping with our luggage, putting us in a room with a wonderful view, and ready to answer all our questions ... & offer valet parking for those of us crazy enough to drive into the city. The rooms are cozy & contemporary with very nice bathrooms. The location is perfect for anyone visiting anywhere in Manhattan ... great for walking and close to the subway ... & best for us, very close to our "heart."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    137
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
80
121
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughter and I go to NYC every year after New Years. This is the first time we've stayed at this hotel and we were extremely pleased. The staff at this hotel is first rate. I saw that someone else mention the barista at the Starbucks. When I would order lattes for my daughter and me, the barista would put it in a carrier and walk it to where I was sitting. The little touches mean a lot. On another occasion, I walked into the elevator where a nice man was cleaning. He apologized but then asked me how my stay was and said that if I needed anything at all to just ask at the front desk, they would be happy to help. The hotel itself was clean and in a very good location. The view from my room was one terrific. All and all, this was one of the best trips that we had.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street can be noisy but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband, stepson and I went on a quick pre-Christmas trip to NYC. It was my 10 year old stepson's first trip to New York, and this was a great place to stay. The subway stop is literally across the street, and it's just a short walk into the heart of Soho. We found it to be a wonderful base for our trip. My stepson was very impressed that there was a Dunkin Donuts right next door (although there seem to be Dunkin Donuts everywhere in NYC these days!!). The room was small, but clean and modern. Everyone at the hotel was very kind, and made us feel welcome. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and utterly enjoyed it - great service from front desk and Starbucks Greg (the barista that served us). The hotel is located between downtown and uptown and walking distance to gems for great coffee, shopping etc. Very comfortable room, the bed was fantastic to sleep on and everything worked. Really no complaints or improvements that I can think of. Only thing is, beware of a rude guy that worked in Dunkin Donuts a few doors away, he literally shouted at my friend who placed an order...it was rude to the point of being funny. Anyway, this hotel was near Houston Street subway stop (1 min walk) and only 4 - 5 stops from Times Square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night (1/26/13). I was impressed with the cleanliness of the lobby, seating area and the room itself. It was the perfect location since we were seeing a band perform at the City Winery, which is literally a block away. The staff was friendly, the hotel was within walking distance to several restaurants, bars etc. and it was safe (you need a room card to work the elevator so people just can't come in off the street and have access to the rooms). The room is small but certainly adequate and has a large shower and bathroom (shower can fit two comfortably). The only reason I am not giving this a higher rank is the room I was in was facing Varick st and it was noisy; we could hear the traffic. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location in Soho. Very helpful staff and I was pleasantly surprised by this new and modern property. Clean and comfortable with a great stall shower. Walking distance to Greenwich Village. I plan to stay here again when visiting NY.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last October and found it to be great. It is on Varrick St which can be busy but we were at the back of the hotel and it was really quiet. Our room as I said was at the back of the hotel and we had a view of the sun setting over the Hudson, pretty good. The staff were all excellent and very happy to help in any way they could. As it is quite a small hotel they quickly get to know you. Room was an average size for NYC with everything you need. Bathroom was a little small but very clean. Position on the edge of SOHO is just great. Some much within walking distance and a subway station on the next block. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho

Address: 181 Varick Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.