We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York to your Saves list
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Prepay & Save, up to 15%
Ranked #99 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We just came back from a great trip to the Big Apple and absolutely loved our hotel. The rooms are modern, specially the bathroom. The location is excellent close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Hall, etc. The service was great, Jonathan was very vitreous and helpful. The bed was very comfortable. We will definitely will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for singling out Jonathan he is a great asset to have.
Please come back and visit us again soon!
Regards,
Troy Pade
GM of CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    467
    129
    27
    28
See reviews for
169
714
90
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Based on the fact that this was a Viceroy hotel, the location and photos, I was excited to stay at this hotel for a night when they offered a last minute low rate. I was really disappointed, the room was soooooo small, dark, the carpet was really old and the walls were paper thin. The best part was the location. Had I paid the normal rate, I would have felt scammed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I am so very sorry that you were left with such a poor impression. We do have a multitude of room types and they are priced accordingly. If you are looking to come to NY again please reach out to me directly and I can assist with helping get you into the right room for your needs.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
GM of CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wonderful staff, convenient location and good room. We had an upgrade for free to a room on 20th floor with a huge bed and walk in shower. All staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Nothing was an inconvenience. First room given was small and the second room was bigger with better views. Located on 6th ave, good restaurants near, close to Times Square and subway too. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Congratulations! Thank you for spending your special day with us! Come back for an anniversary!
Warmest Regards,
Troy Pade
GM of CASSA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

On Honeymoon earlier this month my wife and I booked into the Cassa as we had stated here previously and we loved it. As it was a last minute booking we were assigned an apartment rather than a room, which we accepted. There was no safe in the apartment and it was basic at best. To top it off the rooms were never serviced and when we reported this to reception they said the apartments were "different" and a service charge applied to service the room. Staff were unhelpful, unfriendly and unsympathetic in this regard. At $500 a night this is not acceptable. So for the 4 nights we stayed there we had no clean towels, no fresh linen on the bed, no top up of toiletries and the plug in the tiny bath didn't open fully so it took hours for the water to drain when taking a bath/shower.

Best advice I could give others is to stay elsewhere as the service and standard of the accommodation was substandard, especially considering the price payed.

Disappointed. Ruined our Honeymoon. We certainly won't be back or recommend this establishment.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. I am sorry about your experience. We had rented out some of the condos for the owners and in the booking details it noted that there would not be housekeeping service daily but could be provided at a charge. The condos are treated in a different manner it would be like booking a private home on the internet which would not include housekeeping. I am sorry that this reflected on the service of the hotel. I would have preferred to have heard from you during your stay so we could have tried to sort it out. Again very sorry about the confusion, the intent was not to wreck your honeymoon.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
GM of CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed for a week with my daughter for her 21st birthday. Fab place. The rooms are fairly small but very clean and the staff were all fantastic. Great location, 2 minutes from Times Square. We didnt use the restaurant but heard good things about it. We took a kettle and tea and coffee with us but they serve coffee in the lobby each morning. Only thing it lacks is a bar but everything is so close that doesnt matter. If you are on the right floor high up you can access the free wifi otherwise its quite expensive, but we could so it wasnt a problem. If we returned to NY we would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing CASSA to spend your daughter's birthday with us. I am thrilled you had a nice time.

Please come and share many other special occasions with us.

Warm Regards,

Troy Pade
GM of CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennetbaden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

First off, we had stayed in this building last April in a rented apartment. The apartment was a bit of a disaster, but the staff of the hotel were extremely helpful, friendly and fantastic. So, we decided to stay in the hotel itself, and were somewhat happy with our experience.

The room and the bathroom were great, as was the bed - very comfortable. The problem was the heating/ac. It would come on, and just grow louder and louder then quiet down only to begin again loudly. We are used to the hums of systems, but this became rather obnoxious and woke us up. We finally shut it off at 2 am and opened the window (yes and amazingly it was quieter outside). This was mentioned at checkout the next morning and they will look into it.

The other issue is with communication. When we checked out at 10:30, we said we would be back between 2:30-3:00 to take a shower at the fitness center the hotel has a relationship with. Well, the fitness center closes at 3:00, this could have been communicated when we mentioned this. We thought we would have a shower after being out all day (nice mid-70s) and before boarding our overnight flight back to Europe. It was rather ackward when we returned and told the fitness center had closed and we could not shower. Now how much easier could it have been to tell us this at 10:30 in the morning before we left. Anyway, we used the sink in the lounge area, not much fun.

I give this a Very Good because I am basing this review on the room itself, NYC small but nice. Great view out of the 27th Floor. Great to have internet access in the Lounge for free. Also nice to have free coffee/tea in the morning. Great products in the rather generous bathroom. Bed was comfortable. The porter was FANTASTIC, I really wish I could remember his name...he was the only one who really understood our dilemna about showering and was rather sympathetic and apologetic...thank you.

Would we stay here again, not so sure. The prices of hotels in NYC are outrageous, and so this maies choosing the right hotel rather difficult, considering the minor irritants paying as much as one does they no longer seem so minor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the review and the feedback.

The Equinox gym is always open until 9pm unless there was an issue at the location or it was a holiday so we would never have thought to check on that particular day. Was it on Good Friday perhaps? My apologies. So again I am sorry that this occurred. Was clearly not communicated to us that they had intended to close early. Please do not hold this against us!!

Thank you for choosing CASSA and we certainly hope to have you back with us again.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
GM of CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed with another couple in an apartment on the 40+ floor for two nights.
We had two bedrooms and a spacious dining and sitting area with free wifi, plus some great views. If you are traveling with others this is a great option.

We also stayed in one of the hotel rooms for one night. It had a small bedroom with a small bathroom and a very soft bed. The room was clean, but I would rate it a little less than average

Hotel overall
- friendly and helpful staff
- great location
- restaurant was closed for renovation
- only one elevator was working during two days of our stay. I feel there should have been a greater sense of urgency in remedying this as the wait could be up to 5 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Very much appreciated. Hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
GM of CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#49 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#30 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#31 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#53 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,479 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#47 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,314 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Cen...
#110 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Address: 70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassa Hotel located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan is the perfect location for business leisure and group visitors to the city. Qualified companies and groups enjoy special rate programs and outstanding service at the most unique luxury address in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.