We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times square gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York to your Saves list
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Prepay & Save, up to 15%
Ranked #96 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Times square gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I felt that the Cassa Hotel offered the best hospitality. The front desk was very helpful, knowledgable, and ensured that we were well inforned regarding tours and transportation. This was the best service I have seen in a long time. The hotel was perfectly located and I enjoyed everything about it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the great posting.
Very happy you enjoyed your stay!

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
GM
CASSA
PS I like to think of us "Times Square Adjacent", as we are just enough away from the looky loos but close enough to walk there in 3 minutes...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    419
    120
    27
    28
See reviews for
152
675
83
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

While the rooms are on the small side(typical for NYC) the location is great.
Just a few blocks to Times Square but far enough to avoid the crowds.
I stayed in room 1504 which had no view as it Watson the backside of the building but that assure a quiet nights sleep, which can be difficult to find in some NYC hotels.
Very nice staff, modern clean room and a great rate made this hotel an easy recommendation.

The only negative was that one of the two elevators was out of service for most of our stay which caused some long( 4-5 minutes) waits but was not a big problem for us.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor on the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the review.
I can point out that front of the hotel does not have much of a view either (tall buildings all around us) so you didnt miss much but the front is just as quiet as the back. We have pretty sound proof windows, a true rarity in New York!!

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
GM
CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Location:

Located midtown and close by Times Square. It is about 5-7 minute walk to a subway station. For travellers, it is as good as it can be. There is a Starbucks not to far from it. In addition, there are many restaurants around as well as fast food places including McDonalds and Pret A Manger. A celebrity chef is about to open a restaurant by the hotel, which will give more dining options. Though I had a Metro card, I walked to most places during my entire 4/5 days in NYC.


Common Area:
There are a few chairs for you to sit on and not much else. The space is very compact. It has somewhat of a cramped feeling to it. Esthetically, it is pretty modern and sparse. There is a terrace (dining area) on the upper floor. I did not check that out so cannot say much. I don’t believe there are other amenities such as a gym etc.

Room:
I had the standard room. Understandably, it was very small, but functional and manageable. My friend and I are pretty compact and therefore we did fine. But for those who are six feet+ and well nourished, it could be very cramped. Closet is small and there is not a whole lot of space for storage. There is a desk, chair, reading chair, TV, and safe box. All works well, functional, and purposeful.

The bathroom is really small, though functional. It takes an effort to be able to use the bathroom without bumping into things or knock things over. No complaint just wish there would be a little bit more of space.

Service:
Definitely a forte of this place. What lacks in space is made up for by the service I received. There is a doorman in front helping you with taxi and directions. Checking in was quick and pleasant. Local map was happily given when I requested one.

Stephanie was particularly helpful with restaurant recommendations. She was my main source of restaurant info. I did not consult guidebooks or yelp. Her recommendations were spot on.

Recommendation:
This hotel is a good fit for those who want good service, comfort but willing to forgo certain amenities such as a gym or in-house bar. This place offers very good value. I definitely would recommend to friends or stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and thorough!
As for the drawbacks, we do have a partnership with NYSC Gym on 44th that allows guest access which is a BY FAR better option than any hotel gym.
We are anxiously awaiting the opening of Butter in 2 weeks. WIll be amazing!

Come back soon!
Regards,
Troy Pade
GM
CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Cassa is a great find in NYC. The location is perfect. The staff is incredibly friendly - always a smile and a hello! The Doormen could not be sweeter. One waited with me for 15 minutes while searching for my car. The room was lovely - not too small, nice desk, beautiful bathroom - LOVED the shower, comfy bed, tastefully decorated. I'm in New York monthly for business and this is definitely my new home. What a wonderful find!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Really appreciate it. Hope you can join us again soon and bring some of that great SoCal weather to us the next time you are here! (Just moved from there...)
Warmest Regards
Troy Pade
General Manager
CASSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Perfectly located hotel, in the heart of the action, but the place itself is very quiet, clean and professional. Room was large with a nice bathroom, good toiletries etc. Nice design but not too over the top. Decent breakfast with a great terrace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind response!
Please come and visit us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived quite late and the staff were more than welcoming. The staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Loved the room.Very Clean, bed was so comfortable and the maid came every day too. We got engaged while we were in NYC and the staff gave us a free bottle of champagne delivered to our room. The position for the hotel is a 5 mins walk from times square and would highly recommend it to anyone going their. Loved every minute of our stay and thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
CONGRATULATIONS! We will be mentioned often in your recounting of the story of your engagement. I am thrilled!! Please come and spend an anniversary!

Best of luck to you two and many happ years together!
Regards,
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlederg, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at The Cassa hotel from Sept 18-26th 2013 as a couple. We highly recommend the a Cassa and our stay here was perfect! During check-in we experienced some problems which were solely down to my bank and this was very stressful as the journey to Cassa had taken us 11 hours from Ireland. Luckily Henry was on hand to help with the check in which really made things a lot better as he was able to get in touch with my banking company from the hotels phone. We were upgraded to an executive room on arrival and the view from the room on the 22nd floor was great! Throughout our entire stay the staff were extremely polite and helpful. On several different occasions Eric, Gabriel and Henry all helped us with directions and told us which subway train we needed to get. Tenth floor terrace was nice at night and the member of staff who was here was really nice! The location of this hotel was great as we were only two blocks from Times Square nearly everything was within walking distance. We will definitely stay at the Cassa again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting CASSA for your New York stay.
I am very happy that you were able to point out some of your great colleagues that made your stay more enjoyable. Henry, Gabriel and Eric are all great members of the team that make this hotel run so smoothly!

Please come and see us again soon!
Regards,
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Address: 70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassa Hotel located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan is the perfect location for business leisure and group visitors to the city. Qualified companies and groups enjoy special rate programs and outstanding service at the most unique luxury address in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.