We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superior 4 star hotel in NYC..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York to your Saves list
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Prepay & Save, up to 15%
Ranked #91 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A superior 4 star hotel in NYC..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Cassa hotel is modern, really comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is in a great location for sight seeing with many subways near by and ESB, TOTR, and Times Square all within walking distance. The restaurant was not finished when we were there so I cannot comment on food but there are great delis and cafes on the street near by where you can get fruit salad, bagels, pancakes and coffee at very reasonable prices. It's where the New Yorkers grab their breakfast on the way to work so you know it's good and it's local, not a chain! There is also a street vendor right across the street who does excellent coffee that is even cheaper again - great for a quick fix when you are getting ready. Room wise - we stayed in an executive king, the beds are huge and really comfortable, lovely modern clean bathroom, no bath but a powerful shower, robes and good toiletries. The Ipod dock is great for charging your phone and listening to music, there's also a flat screen tv with a vast array of channels. We don't ask for much when we stay somewhere but the staff were always courteous and friendly. Overall would definitely recommend - especially if you get a good deal on Travelzoo as we did.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    416
    120
    27
    28
See reviews for
152
672
83
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

trying to evidence the design in the decor I can assure that it wasn't tottaly reached. The rooms are small and without light enough. When we change for a suite junior it was better. There atre no places to saty in the groundfloor and isn't oractical to go to the 10 th floor to stay with one sofa only . The location is very good . The staff is fantastic

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The location is perfect. The staff were great and planned out our whole stay so that we didn't miss anything out on our short time in nyc. The rooms were spotless good size, bed was really comfy.

I would defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We look forward to having you back soon!
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Positives were again excellent location, welcoming staff on arrival, large enough bathroom and good rate via e-mail offer from the hotel.

Negatives were barking dog in next room (although front desk immediately offered room change to two floors below, still a hassle) and awkward interactions upon leaving. We came back from breakfast at 12:15 to request valet retrieve our car and were told we were locked out of room. The front desk (now with a "get out attitude") did grudgingly remove the late charge from our two rooms. Check out is apparently exactly at twelve, despite being there at noon in the past and waiting in long line for elevator, check-out and car retrieval. Also, the street was blocked off for construction directly in front of the hotel, and they brought the car to the front, necessitating us back down the one way street with no direction from anyone in the hotel. The valet was also nowhere to be found upon arrival.

Overall, a pleasant hotel at a good rate, but we've had better times at the Cassa and other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again, we appreciate your loyalty. If I may address a few of the issues you encountered. The keys are programmed to go inactive at Noon. That is pretty common. If you wish to extend in the future we would always be happy to re-program your keys to add in extra time. If the the front desk team was not accomodating, then that is another issue I would like to discuss with you. As for the construction, the city had dug up the sidewalk with no notice taking up our only hotel loading space. They are not in the business of giving us any options which would forces us to find a spot somewhere down the road. The reason there are no valet present, is that they work for the parking lot where we overnight our cars, As they are running cars to various other hotels they are not allowed to wait around for the guests to come to the car. The bellman who took your bags to the car should have been able to offer assistance with directions, that is if you had a bellman. If not I am very sorry.

Please make sure to reach out next time you are in staying with us so I may look after your reservation personally.
Regards,
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in Cassa Hotel & Residences on our first trip to NY last November. We arrived around 3pm, the room was not ready. The staff at the front desk was rude and not welcoming. We left our luggage in reception and went for a walk around the area. They were supposed to call us as soon they had the room ready. After 4 hours and no phone call, (7pm) we went back to the hotel and learnt that the room WAS NOT READY. We were tired, had an 8 hours flight from UK and wanted to have a shower. The receptionist checked us in with the room NOT READY. The bed without linen, only one towel... Really????? Their excuse: we had problem with the linen company. Is that customer service? Obviously we were not happy. Due to the inconvenience the receptionist on shift gave us complimentary breakfast for the whole stay.

Pros: the location of the hotel.
Cons: The price-quality IS NOT WORTH IT. The bed and wardrobe are small. The breakfast is overpriced. The front desk staff is not friendly.

Conclusion: We are not going to return again. So bad Cassa, so bad...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. As you stayed with us many months prior to the time I have started I can say that we are working very hard to improve the hotel in all areas. As the more recent guests can testify by the posts on this page, it does not appear you will have the same stay next time. Please let me know when you are coming to NY again so I may personally oversee your booking.

Regards,
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The traveler pictures attached to the reviews are spot on. I found the room impeccably clean, unbelievably quiet - I never heard anyone, just a few distant sounds of horns, the flat screen TV was so big I didn't even need my glasses!, the walk-in shower (no tub) was huge with both the rain shower head and a hand held device and lots of hot water, the beds were fine, a bit soft for my taste, but others will probably love them. The size of the room for a single business traveler is just fine. I think if it's two people traveling, my room might have been a bit small, even though it had two beds. And the big downside for someone staying several days - storage space; the closet was small and set up such that you hang your clothes at the top and then the frig, etc. is in the bottom (though I will say I think this is the first hotel I've been in that had an umbrella in the closet), and there's no dresser (there is a desk) or any place to store your suitcase. But I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to at least business travelers who only need a night or two. If you're a couple or family, you should check with the hotel on the room size before booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! We do appreciate honest testimony! We look forward wot having you back with us again soon!
Regards,
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Cassa as part of a Big Birthday trip to NYC recently. We were upgraded upon arrival and found a lovely bottle of wine and a personal handwritten congratulatory note in our room the day of the Birthday. I had also asked the staff if they could help me to decorate the room with some ballooons, banners etc. to surprise my partner on his Birthday which they did to perfection and this was no problem at all! The room was very comfortable, with the bed also very comfortable and there was no shortage of really good quality toiletries each day. We availed of the free wi-fi in the Lounge and found all of the staff consistently really pleasant and they couldn't help enough. A nice touch would be to perhaps add a tea/coffee making facility as I felt this was missing (it may be more of a European thing) Renovations are currently taking place so there was limited scope to enjoy a drink in the evening but when the new restaurant opens and the renovations finish that will all be resolved. We really enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay at this hotel again-thanks for a really enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nari S, Guest Relations Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello MissSunshine902, Thank you very much for all your kind words! I’m very happy to hear we were able to help so perfectly with your birthday celebration. I’m really excited for our restaurant coming soon! It’s really just around the corner! Just so you know, we do have tea and coffee service for the rooms available upon request. Please stay with again and if you are celebrating something again let us know! We love celebrating something with our guests. All the best - Nari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Address: 70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassa Hotel located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan is the perfect location for business leisure and group visitors to the city. Qualified companies and groups enjoy special rate programs and outstanding service at the most unique luxury address in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.