We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York to your Saves list
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save & Give
Ranked #74 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Miami, FL, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed the weekend of Thanksgiving. This is a nice, comfortable, modern hotel located close to Fifth Ave and Times Square. There are also lots of cool neighborhood restaurants and bars nearby. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was fantastic, small but a good size compared to most NY hotels, and looked just like the pictures on the hotel website. Great, comfortable King size bed, nice big shower, flat screen TV with HBO and other pay cable channels and great Frette robes.

Two complaints - Elevator was out one morning and that was inconvenient. Also, they should have free wireless internet.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hello NyShaw - Thank you for sharing your holiday with us. I hope you got a good view of the Thanksgiving parade. Please contact us next time you are in NYC! And we are definitely looking forward to your next stay as well! - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    381
    109
    26
    27
See reviews for
138
624
80
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel prices in NY during the first week of December were horrendous! But I stumbled upon this hotel and they offered a great rate over the phone. The room was fantastic (executive with king bed)! Tastefully furnished and everything in working order. It is what I would call a "low service" hotel.... There is only a small lounge/restaurant that serves breakfast and tapas/cocktails in the afternoon evening, and the lobby area is very small. No room service, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.... But there is a 24 hour Duane Reed just around the corner and cafes and delis close by to eat at.
Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello GJH63. Thank you for your comment. I assure you that all those issues are being addressed and answered very soon. Please come back when our restaurant is finished! You will be amazed at the improvements. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked a juniorsuite for more than 500 $ a night expecting def. more than that. No restaurant, no bar, no lobby, no glasses for the drinks for the minibar (we asked for glasses and the frontdesk couldn't understand why we needed glasses - they never have been changed - we had to wash them up daily). The wall in the bathroom broke away because of the water running out... The aircond is extremly noisy. The only good thing is the location. Never again at cassa's, this is for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear paperona - It would appear that you were in the same room as gegloff, and had the same opinion of your week’s stay. If we had been notified of your concerns while you were here we certainly would have attended to them immediately. Fortunately, experiences and viewpoints such as yours at the Cassa have been very rare. Best wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

dirty room, broken shower, non existing service, the worst boutique hotel i have ever stayed in
this place is an absolut no-go. next time i will book again one of the known chains.
i am surprised that there no more bad comments

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear gegloff - In checking your stay, I see that you stayed for a week at the Cassa; however, we did not receive any complaints or concerns during your stay with us. I am very disappointed that we fell so far short of our usual standards - and as soon as we saw your review we dispatched an engineer to check your shower, as we certainly do not want any other guests experiencing such problems. Best wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights early december and just back,First impression of hotel was very good.Nice area,good cafes,bars near.Checkin was a very slow as was paying cash and receptionist did not know how to do same.So waited a long time to check in.Room was good size, bed was big(some reviews say small there not),very comfy beds,Room clean but some housekeeping and maintance issues,(small things)hole in door in bathroom(609room)paint cracking in walls,floor in bathroom had dust all arount the edge,did not change during stay.Only small issues.FOH staff very slow,on checkout had hotel car service ready to go to JFK and had to call down twice to reception and told some one would be up,Took another 20 mins and me going to door man to get help with bags. Overall small issues could be great if little things fixed.Used the lounge twice found it very stuffy,they could do so much more with it, make more a bar than a lounge area, great space and would be great in area as they have a terrace, would be a little gold mine as hotel has exterior of a hip hotel.Will return again next year,as issues where small and not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: We had room 609, street view, was quite big for nyc what I can see all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello MisseyB. Thank you kindly for your review - it’s one of those we can use to help emphasize to our staff how important even the small things are. We look forward to your return so you may see all our improvements - please give us a call in advance so that we can ensure you have an even better experience than you expect and deserve. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Again, so close to Times Square, you are paying for location. That being said, I have stayed at quite a few hotels in that area and Cassa is BY FAR my favorite. I have stayed her numerous times for business. My standards for where I stay for business is far higher than when I stay somewhere for personal

First, they are the biggest and cleanest rooms I have had in NYC....enough said right?

The beds are super comfortable, staff friendly (for NYC) and helpful, and free wifi in your room. Again, since it is NYC, price flucuates greatly based upon demand....anywhere from the $200-$400 range for the same room. If you want this general NYC location, you would be hard to find another hotel that is better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Tee B. Thank you for honoring us with such a title! You are always welcome. And you will probably see all the upcoming changes first hand! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has a great location and is perfectly adequate for a short stay in NYC. I think the things that would move it from being average to above average are in process - namely, they need a better waiting area and a restaurant (being built).

Our flight arrived early in the morning and we got to the hotel about 10:30. We are perfectly prepared to stow our bags and occupy ourselves until check in, if necessary, but I always check to see if per chance we can get in early. It's much appreciated if they can do it, but not expected. After the initial pre-check in, we occupied ourselves til about 1:30. Thought we'd check again to see if anything came open. No. OK, occupied ourselves some more, checked back about 2:30 (check in is at 3). Still nothing. OK. Asked if something would be ready by 3 (check in time) and was informed she wasn't sure as they had given some guests late checkout. I was getting crabby as I'd been up since 4 a.m. and walking around the city since 10:30, so I was prepared for a fight if our room wasn't ready at 3 as that's cutting into time I am paying for. Giving late checkouts is nice, but not at other guests' expense. We went next door to the Pret to wait the next half hour as the hotel has no comfortable lounge at the moment. They have a temporary lounge set up on the 10th floor (looks like an employee break room in reality) with no water on offer (they don't open til 4). In fact, there is nowhere on site to acquire a bottle of water at all except for the mini bar in the room. Checked back shortly after 3 and was informed by Arta that they had upgrated us from the Executive room to Grand Executive in order to get us in on time. Phew. That was very nice.

As to the room, there wasn't really anything grand about it - I can't imagine the Executive being any smaller. The bathroom was of a decent size and had a nice shower with rain showerhead. Good quality shampoos and soaps, though I found the smell sickening (I think it was chocolate-scented? Just a personal dislike I have with that fragrance in bath products). otherwise, the room had all the basics - hair dryer, safe, closet with plenty of hangars, bath robes and mini bar if you care about it. The bed was very comfortable! Other than that, there was a small desk and chair and another small chair and footstool. Electrical outlets by the bed were non-existent, though there was one iPod docking station. Some people don't have iPhones and others have two - many of us use our clocks as alarm clocks or just want their phones charging on the nightstand, so having outlets accessible to guests is really a must-have in this day and age.

As to the aesthetics of the hotel decor, I can see where some of the negative comments come in. While the primary color theme is white, it is often set against dark brown (at times worn). The effect ends up stark, yet dark and drepressing. The lobby furnishings are white, but the floor is dark-finished concrete and the halogen lights don't flood the area well. The hallways are dark brown carpeting, dark brown walls and dark brown doors - our floor at least looked a little worse for wear - the effect of all the dark brown was reminiscent of 70s wood paneling vs the rich look I think they were going for.

Anyway, all the staff was friendly and our stay was fine. They just need to step up the amenities a bit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello ellsbird. Thank you for your thought out comments. Yes there will be many changes coming up soon and we are very excited for them. Especially the restaurant is highly anticipated. I hope you return to see all the upgrades! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Address: 70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Business Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassa Hotel located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan is the perfect location for business leisure and group visitors to the city. Qualified companies and groups enjoy special rate programs and outstanding service at the most unique luxury address in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.