We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont book” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cassa Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Cassa Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cassa Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Weekend Stays
Ranked #76 of 449 hotels in New York City
1 review
“dont book”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

dirty room, broken shower, non existing service, the worst boutique hotel i have ever stayed in
this place is an absolut no-go. next time i will book again one of the known chains.
i am surprised that there no more bad comments

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear gegloff - In checking your stay, I see that you stayed for a week at the Cassa; however, we did not receive any complaints or concerns during your stay with us. I am very disappointed that we fell so far short of our usual standards - and as soon as we saw your review we dispatched an engineer to check your shower, as we certainly do not want any other guests experiencing such problems. Best wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    623
    337
    103
    21
    26
See reviews for
128
534
73
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights early december and just back,First impression of hotel was very good.Nice area,good cafes,bars near.Checkin was a very slow as was paying cash and receptionist did not know how to do same.So waited a long time to check in.Room was good size, bed was big(some reviews say small there not),very comfy beds,Room clean but some housekeeping and maintance issues,(small things)hole in door in bathroom(609room)paint cracking in walls,floor in bathroom had dust all arount the edge,did not change during stay.Only small issues.FOH staff very slow,on checkout had hotel car service ready to go to JFK and had to call down twice to reception and told some one would be up,Took another 20 mins and me going to door man to get help with bags. Overall small issues could be great if little things fixed.Used the lounge twice found it very stuffy,they could do so much more with it, make more a bar than a lounge area, great space and would be great in area as they have a terrace, would be a little gold mine as hotel has exterior of a hip hotel.Will return again next year,as issues where small and not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: We had room 609, street view, was quite big for nyc what I can see all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello MisseyB. Thank you kindly for your review - it’s one of those we can use to help emphasize to our staff how important even the small things are. We look forward to your return so you may see all our improvements - please give us a call in advance so that we can ensure you have an even better experience than you expect and deserve. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Again, so close to Times Square, you are paying for location. That being said, I have stayed at quite a few hotels in that area and Cassa is BY FAR my favorite. I have stayed her numerous times for business. My standards for where I stay for business is far higher than when I stay somewhere for personal

First, they are the biggest and cleanest rooms I have had in NYC....enough said right?

The beds are super comfortable, staff friendly (for NYC) and helpful, and free wifi in your room. Again, since it is NYC, price flucuates greatly based upon demand....anywhere from the $200-$400 range for the same room. If you want this general NYC location, you would be hard to find another hotel that is better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Tee B. Thank you for honoring us with such a title! You are always welcome. And you will probably see all the upcoming changes first hand! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has a great location and is perfectly adequate for a short stay in NYC. I think the things that would move it from being average to above average are in process - namely, they need a better waiting area and a restaurant (being built).

Our flight arrived early in the morning and we got to the hotel about 10:30. We are perfectly prepared to stow our bags and occupy ourselves until check in, if necessary, but I always check to see if per chance we can get in early. It's much appreciated if they can do it, but not expected. After the initial pre-check in, we occupied ourselves til about 1:30. Thought we'd check again to see if anything came open. No. OK, occupied ourselves some more, checked back about 2:30 (check in is at 3). Still nothing. OK. Asked if something would be ready by 3 (check in time) and was informed she wasn't sure as they had given some guests late checkout. I was getting crabby as I'd been up since 4 a.m. and walking around the city since 10:30, so I was prepared for a fight if our room wasn't ready at 3 as that's cutting into time I am paying for. Giving late checkouts is nice, but not at other guests' expense. We went next door to the Pret to wait the next half hour as the hotel has no comfortable lounge at the moment. They have a temporary lounge set up on the 10th floor (looks like an employee break room in reality) with no water on offer (they don't open til 4). In fact, there is nowhere on site to acquire a bottle of water at all except for the mini bar in the room. Checked back shortly after 3 and was informed by Arta that they had upgrated us from the Executive room to Grand Executive in order to get us in on time. Phew. That was very nice.

As to the room, there wasn't really anything grand about it - I can't imagine the Executive being any smaller. The bathroom was of a decent size and had a nice shower with rain showerhead. Good quality shampoos and soaps, though I found the smell sickening (I think it was chocolate-scented? Just a personal dislike I have with that fragrance in bath products). otherwise, the room had all the basics - hair dryer, safe, closet with plenty of hangars, bath robes and mini bar if you care about it. The bed was very comfortable! Other than that, there was a small desk and chair and another small chair and footstool. Electrical outlets by the bed were non-existent, though there was one iPod docking station. Some people don't have iPhones and others have two - many of us use our clocks as alarm clocks or just want their phones charging on the nightstand, so having outlets accessible to guests is really a must-have in this day and age.

As to the aesthetics of the hotel decor, I can see where some of the negative comments come in. While the primary color theme is white, it is often set against dark brown (at times worn). The effect ends up stark, yet dark and drepressing. The lobby furnishings are white, but the floor is dark-finished concrete and the halogen lights don't flood the area well. The hallways are dark brown carpeting, dark brown walls and dark brown doors - our floor at least looked a little worse for wear - the effect of all the dark brown was reminiscent of 70s wood paneling vs the rich look I think they were going for.

Anyway, all the staff was friendly and our stay was fine. They just need to step up the amenities a bit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello ellsbird. Thank you for your thought out comments. Yes there will be many changes coming up soon and we are very excited for them. Especially the restaurant is highly anticipated. I hope you return to see all the upgrades! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was my first trip to new york with my boyfriend and this hotel is perfectly located for tourists. Short walk to all major sight seeing locations. The staff was super helpful during our whole trip and even upgraded us to a bigger room when we arrived. We have reccomended this hotel to our family and friends. Im hoping we get to go back soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Olivia G. Thank you very much for your comments. I’m glad we could offer such a good experience for your first time here in our beautiful city. Thank you for your recommendations. Yes, please come back and see us again! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable week in the Cassa Hotel, very well located to Time square and the Theatre district and many notable sight seeing attractions. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to an executive room on arrival and found the room to be a great deal more spacious than we expected in New York. It was clean and comfortable and very quiet considering its location in such a busy part of the city.we would gladly recommend it to any visitor.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello john h. Wow, thank you very much for the awesome title to your review! You are more than welcome to stay here again. Please let us know when you are next in the City! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Cassa and all I can say is great things, the location is perfect one block away from Times Sq and near all the main Manhattan attractions. The room was excellent and extremely large really nicely decorated with a huge comfy bed and great bathroom with huge shower.

The staff are simply excellent probably the best I have ever experienced, anything I wanted or asked for was taken care off in seconds. Eric and Stephanie just to single a few out are a big credit to this Hotel but really all the staff are friendly and helpful,Thankyou so much for looking after us and on my next trip to NYC there is only one place I want to stay Cassa!!

We stayed in room 2708 a great room!!

Many Thanks again the Halls!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Matt77777! Thank you for your wonderful comments! I know Eric and Stephanie appreciate the appreciation! They are a wonderful asset to us. Please let us know when you come back to NYC and we’ll make sure it’s special. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cassa Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel New York

Address: 70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#67 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassa Hotel located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan is the perfect location for business leisure and group visitors to the city. Qualified companies and groups enjoy special rate programs and outstanding service at the most unique luxury address in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Cassa Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassa Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.