We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cassa Hotel October 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York to your Saves list
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Prepay & Save, up to 15%
Ranked #96 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cassa Hotel October 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It was a pleasant surprise! I was very pleased with Cassa's location, interior decor, the comfort of the mattress/pillows/beddings, the cleanliness and their customer service! The interior of my room was modern and designed to function and provide the spacious, elegant feel. I also like the vanity accessories they provided, good quality. The shower pressure was fantastic as well comparing to other boutique hotels in NYC. Everyone at the front desk was professional, friendly and helpful.

I was slightly disappointed with their rooftop bar/lounge. It was like a cafeteria more than a real bar/lounge/restaurant. Their staff was very friendly and helpful answering my questions. I was informed that they are in the process of building a real bar/lounge/restaurant downstairs next to the lobby.

I was also slightly disappointed with the severe corner wall and desk damage which is not pleasant to look at, but they covered it with the desk chair which made it a lot more pleasant for the eyes, but I can still see them when I sat at the desk. It would be nice if Cassa can place a work order to have that patched/fixed. It doesn't seem like a big nor a pricy job, but it would match the quality of everything else this hotel offers.

Overall, my stay at Cassa was fabulous and would definitely stay here again next time I visit NYC. I highly recomend Casa Hotel if you are looking to experience boutique hotels in NYC.

Room Tip: Inform the hotel in advance your preference for the room you desire. I informed them that I prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello Gina168! Thank you very much for your comments! Yes we are on the edge of our seats in anticipation of the opening of the restaurant, located in the lower lobby. And about that corner – we’re tracking it down and will have it in good shape before the next guest arrives. We would love to welcome you back next time you are in NYC! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    424
    121
    27
    28
See reviews for
154
677
84
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week. The staff is very friendly, Stephanie took a lot of time to help us book a musical and finally found us great seats. All the staff we met throughout the hotel were very friendly and thoughtful, for example they saw me walking towards the elevator and clicked the button for me. The room was small, no real view, but that's what's to be expected in NY. Very little space to hang up clothes, which was the only negative. The room was very clean though and the bathroom was good as well. Wifi at 10 dollars per day is expensive.

The location is great, near Times Square on the one side, Fifth Avenue on the other side. I'll stay here again next time I'm in NY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Steven K. Thank you for the very nice comments. Of course we would love to have you again! Please especially check us out when we do some remodeling over the winter. One of the plans is to expand our closets, so we hope they will be more to your liking then. Also our lounge provides free wifi. Please feel free to use it next time you stay with us! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel lobby is minimal. A desk, sofa and some lifts to take you to your room. What's important though are the people working there. Arta at reception was exceptional throughout. Not only were we kindly upgraded after a long transfer from the airport, later during our stay she helped make restaurant bookings and imparted helpful advice. Eloy and Kevin were very friendly and helpful with advice and local knowledge too. So were all the other staff there including housekeeping, but these are the ones that come to mind first and foremost

Our room on the 21st floor was a superior deluxe with a king bed, sofa, dresser and chair. Street noise was hardly audible. View of building opposite was nothing special. But location of hotel is the key selling point. Two blocks from grand central, times square, Bryant park and 5min from the Rockefeller complex.

The negatives are only a couple. The hotel wireless service is extremely expensive at $10 a day. The business centre services were at a cost. Minor points perhaps but I found myself hanging out at the coffee places nearby to get some tourist information, bookings done.

On the whole, i would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello City_Slicking_Hobo. Thank you for your comments. We definitely pride ourselves on our staff and our location! Yes, the nice thing about being a relatively new construction is our windows are fantastic at keeping the noisy bustle at bay. Our lounge on the 10th floor actually offers free wifi, so if you stay with us in the future, please feel free to utilize that space. And we hope you do! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I just arrived home from vacation in New York from October 1st-8th. We found that with this being our first trip to the city it was difficult to choose from the multitude of accomodation options available. We couldn't be more thankful for having chosen the Cassa. The location is ideal within only a short walk of Time Square and only steps from access to the Subway. I am an avid runner and was easily able to take the subway to Central Park for daily jogs. Our room (King Bed) was of good size and very clean/modern. The building is in very good condition overall and elevators are fast/efficient. The staff is the real treasure of the hotel. Front desk personel was continually helpful in providing direction and advice in terms of enjoying the city in addition to continually offering assistance with any accomodation questions/thoughts we might wish to discuss. Really, we didn't have any questions as the hotel was exceptional. Will definitely recommend the hotel to others and will quite possibly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Simon L. We are very thankful you chose us from all your options as well. You are right, our staff is the treasure of the hotel! Please let us know when you do return to our beautiful City. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wow.....just got back from NYC and the Cassa was great! We stayed here based on other reviews and were not disappointed at all. Upon our arrival we were upgraded to a king bedroom without even asking. The king bedroom was spacious and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. My husband loved the large flat screen TV and I loved the bath amenities which smelled fantastic! The room was modern, which we loved and the bathroom shower was great with the rain shower fixture. The staff at the Cassa was extremely friendly and helpful (kudos to Rodger) and helped us out with everything from show reservations, restaurant recommendations, and printing out our boarding passes before we checked out. The location of the hotel couldn't be better right in the heart of Midtown and within walking distance to all the sites. We will definitely stay at the Cassa Hotel on our next trip to NYC and would recommend it without hesitation to friends and family.

Room Tip: The king bedroom was perfect for a four night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello PRetired! Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We always like to please our guests. Please let us know when you and/or your friends and family plan to come back to NYC! Best Wishes -Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksdale, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was our first visit to New York and booked at the Cassa after reading all of the wonderful reviews. Location was key for us and the Cassa definately wons us over as far as the location and friendly staff. We book through expedia which on gives single beds and we desperately needed a room with double beds. Well thanks to Henry we was able to get an upgrade to room with a double bed..thanks alot Henry!!! The hotel is only a 5 min walk away from time square which was awesome, it has numerous resturants and bars on the street next to the hotel, it has a car services that will pick up or transport the guest to the airpoirt for around $70 (con: the driver droved very fast and had us all fearing for our lives when transporting us for our 6:00 a.m. flight). There is a starbucks with free wifi directly acrossed the street(con: the hotel doesnt have free wifi). The is breakfast on the 10th floor(con: the breakfast isnt complimentary). Pros: room where standard, very clean, bathroom was great, very great location and i would definately recommend friends and family to stay there!
Cons: no free wifi, no complimentary breakfast, and the driver needs to slow down when transported guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello Cinnamonsage! I like your user name. Very seasonal sounding. Thank you for all your wonderful comments! I’m happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs for an extra bed.

I’m sorry about the driver. We will speak to them about being more conscientious. We do have a breakfast package if that is of interest to you. You can see it on our website, or if you call we can book it for you over the phone. And we would love for you to come stay with us again. Complimentary wifi is available in the lounge space, so next time you don’t have to cross the street. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very close to everything, still you're in a more quiet street. Not bothered by any noise. Ok sized room. Everything fresh and clean. We got a good offer on our stay, not sure it's the best choice if you pay full price.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view, and got it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello vibekese. Thank you for your comments. Yes we are very lucky with our location. Please stay with us again! Also if you let us know and depending on availability, we may be able to accommodate you in a larger room so that you can keep your price down while having a fantastic room. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Address: 70 West 45th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#94 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassa Hotel located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan is the perfect location for business leisure and group visitors to the city. Qualified companies and groups enjoy special rate programs and outstanding service at the most unique luxury address in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.