We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mulberry to your Saves list
Hotel Mulberry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We chose this hotel mainly to be away from the main tourist areas but still be in an interesting location. It certainly didn't disappoint. Chinatown, Little Italy and the Financial District are all within easy walking distance and the park where the hotel is situated is extremely quiet and safe at night. During the day the park is a meeting place for the local Chinese community where they practice chi-gong, make music and play board games.
The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms bigger than expected and the staff very helpful and friendly. Nor will it bust your budget!
For a first-time New York visitor, it is maybe a bit out of the way but for someone wanting to get to know the city a bit better, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Pay just a little bit more for a room with a park view. From the 10th floor it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    173
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
137
146
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A fantastic property for the price within walking distance from chinatown, little italy and ground zero. Not only was the price cheaper than most of the major chains, the rooms were much cleaner and just as comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Ahh I'm so glad I chose to stay at this hotel. First time in nyc, and it was a girls trip! We were kinda nervous since we didn't know what to expect, but this hotel was in the perfect location. Felt safe and the rooms/bathrooms were so nice and clean. Breakfast spot was definitely a plus. Front desk hospitality was flawless. Whenever i go back to nyc I'm pretty sure this is going to be my go to hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is on a small street in Chinatown. Two doors down is a parking garage that is convenient but not included. The hotel and room were very clean. The room held two queen beds so it is not too tiny but not spacious either. The bathroom was very clean and tile was clean which is important. (I hate icky tile) They give you vouchers for free breakfast 2 doors away. They call it "continental" but it was quite a menu: eggs/bacon/toast or a variety of pancakes, or waffles. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were in the mood for a Saturday & Sunday getaway to NYC to see the sites and our research led us to the Hotel Mulberry. All of the good reviews that they receive are richly deserved. First they're in a great location in the Chinatown & Little Italy area. Very interesting area with great food. Second the staff was extremely polite with great service. We arrived early and they checked our bags for us and offered us the use of the "employees only" restroom. Last, the room was very clean with a great view of Columbus Park and the Freedom Tower. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I used to live in NYC, not too far from the Hotel Mulberry so I've got an attachment to Chinatown and the Lower East Side. But that's not what I chose Hotel Mulberry; I chose it based on room qualities and price. NYC is so full of fleabags on one end and $1,000 a night swank hotels on the other it's really hard to find something in the middle. But that's what Hotel Mulberry does and does well. The Canal Street Subway station is close and you're only 10-15 minutes by cab to most places you'll want to go in NYC so take a former local's advice and stay at the Hotel Mulberry.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony because you will love stepping out and seeing the buildings of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It IS possible to get a beautiful, large hotel room in NYC for under $400. I was attending an event in the Nolita/Tribecca area and had a REALLY hard time finding a place to stay. Little did I know that it was the 5-Borough cycling event on Sunday and every hotel within close distance of Battery Park was booked. I got the last room at Mulberry, room PH1. I laughed when I walked in because it was so amazing. The view over Columbus Park with the new World Trade Center in the background was to die for. The parking garage 4 doors down was very handy. And I especially appreciated the breakfast voucher for the small cafe another 4 doors down in the opposite direction.

It was quiet and comfortable and I loved getting up in the morning, seeing people doing T'ai Chi down in the park. A VERY different NY experience - one definitely worth repeating.

Room Tip: Go for a Penthouse room. PH1 has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mulberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.