We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in Chinatown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mulberry to your Saves list
Hotel Mulberry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel in Chinatown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were safe and comfortable in Chinatown at this hotel which is located in a quiet part of a famous street opposite Columbas Park where the locals do Tai Chi, play soccer and basketball) on synthetic services.. We stayed for four nights. the management and staff were a bit offhand at times but generally met our requests, for example provided a bottle opener and assisted in operating the safe very promptly. The breakfasts at Mamas a few doors down are appalling (greasy poorly presented poor quality food with rude staff) and definitely to be avoided. We recommend trying to get a tariff without this addition. We were dismayed by the paper cups but at least we were able to make a cup of tea in our rooms (which does not seem to be a feature of American hotels - or at least our next two hotels did not have the facility despite being more expensive). The pillows are uncomfortable (no feather option) but the rooms are clean and servicable.We were able to use the fridge (again not to be assumed in American hotels). The rooms are small but that is to be expected in a place like downtown NY. Hotel WiFi is a bit patchy and unreliable. Despite these shortcomings we were very comfortable and happy in this hotel and would recommend it. We were located on the 6th floor and noise was not a problem.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always quieter in NY. Request a view over Columbus Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    159
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
130
138
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from 2 night getaway with our teenaged sons who love Chinatown. With a ton of cautions about staying in Chinatown by our NYC relatives (who assured us there weren't any nice hotels in Chinatown) I trusted my research and went ahead and booked a room at the Hotel Mulberry. I love it when I am right! Great location, exceptionally CLEAN, beautifully appointed rooms. Plenty of room in the modern bathroom, and an exceptional shower (great water pressure!). The beds were so comfortable with fluffy duvets and great mattresses. All 4 of us stayed in one room w/ 2 queen beds (SO many NYC hotels only offer doubles). We even brought an air mattress that fit perfectly so our sons could have their own beds. Breakfast included for 2 of us- was a bonus. We sampled soup dumplings all over Chinatown, got amazing foot reflexology, walked to the 9/11 memorial, and enjoyed a great dinner in Little Italy. This is not the 4 seasons, but at this price range, you won't find a better place to stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Worth staying on side of hotel facing the park- nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A decent hotel choice for NYC for its price/quality ratio, is situated in a nice spot of Chinatown, facing the small and very pleasant Colombus Park. Ideal position for strolling through south Manhattan, has good Metro connections nearby (City Hall station is more convenient than Canal Street). Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped, although the shower is quite cumbersome to use effectively (an american standard, we were told afterwards). Personnel is of course chinese, quite helpful but did not know how to take care of an erratic a/c behavior (finally they did a total reset of the system control). Wi-fi reception was excellent throughout the building. The breakfast offered at the nearby eatery is an all-american experience, but for a longer stay is rather lacking variety, we could not eat eggs or pancakes for more than four days.

Room Tip: Front side rooms of higher floors look over part of the city skyline, including the One World Trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Hotel Mulberry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review us, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAF Lakenheath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Loved it. We were a little worried since it was our first trip to NY. Hotel was perfect for us. There was a total of 5 of us (3 little ones 7, 5, and 4). Hotel staff was great help with everything from directions to luggage. Easy walking to Metro stations, Chinatown and Little Itlay as well. We were very happy and will definitely stay again if we get the chance

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Hotel Mulberry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are glad to hear you had a nice time here and we are looking forward to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

...but there are some things that make this hotel just a little downmarket for its price:
The Cons:
o They do not provide glass glasses, only paper glasses in the room.
o The pillows are synthetic and hard, no feather pillows are available.
o The coffee provided in the room is instant! But there is fresh perked coffee downstairs in the lobby, which in our case, was 12 floors down.
o The cost to use the phone in this hotel is $2.00 per minute even if you are making a local call!!!!
o You need to be prepared for the location of this hotel. This is not uptown or even mid-town standards. You are in the heart of China Town with its street markets and vendors and the touts on Canal Street are constantly at you to buy their knock-off purses and other wares. We are very comfortable in this sort of environment, but if you are not, you may be shocked to discover the neighbourhood in which you are staying.
o There is only one elevator in the building, so sometimes getting the elevator was very time-consuming, especially in the mornings during check-out time. I’d hate to think what things would be like if the elevator was out of service.
The Pros:
o Easy access to the subway, which you will need to use to get to mid-town or uptown. South Manhattan is close at hand
o Very clean rooms and lobby
o Brand-new hotel
o Breakfast is included at a nearby diner
o Friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: As there is only one elevator, I'd choose a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Hotel Mulberry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions regarding your stay in Hotel Mulberry. Your comments are very important for us. Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Mulberry is a nice boutique hotel located in Chinatown near Little Italy. Staff members were very nice and helped us enjoy our time in New York. Our room was quiet and pleasant. We enjoyed walking around the area near the hotel. A full breakfast (included) was served in a nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Hotel Mulberry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Overall rating is very good. Our room 1002 is comfortable, spacious, very clean with 2 good queen size beds, good quality flat screen TV, well equipped bath room, nice view of the park. The noise of the shower of the room above us is the only weakness. Staff is helpful and friendly. We stayed here during Sandy hurricane, the receptionist walked up to the 10th floor to give a us a flash light because of power outage (in all NYC downtown). We were grateful to have hot water in the bath room during the 4 nights of power outage. The receptionist managed to book for us a limo transportation to JFK airport at reasonable price while there was shortage of taxis in the city due to Sandy aftermath.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Hotel Mulberry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the TripAdvisor forum. Hurricane Sandy was a very trying time for our region, thus we are glad that hotel mulberry team's efforts did not go unnoticed. We look forward to seeing you again, although under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mulberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.