We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elevator nightmare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NOMO SOHO Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NOMO SOHO Hotel to your Saves list
NOMO SOHO Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel) (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% off Best Rates!
Ranked #260 of 464 Hotels in New York City
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“elevator nightmare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Great hotel, great location, nice bar and friendly staff - only downside was the elevators - big wedding on but it took ELEVEN minutes for an elevator to come to the 9th floor!!

room very clean and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    348
    142
    68
    36
See reviews for
127
419
75
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

There were a few offenders:
Initially I was put on the 2nd floor for a 4 night stay.
After I complained I was moved to the 24th floor, which was better, but had a broken fridge, that just didn't work. Showers were grimy. Unreliable Wi-fi.
The worst offender was the room service. I ordered a breakfast in which they forgot the bacon and the cutlery. They then told me it was my fault for not ordering bacon specifically, even though it was listed on the menu. By the time they had sorted it out, the whole dish was cold and they didn't apologise.

Honestly, New York Hotels think they can get away with anything. Only hope that they are reading reviews. (the sad thing is a friend works there in marketing - so if you're reading this - sorry!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed there over the June 21, 2014 weekend with my husband and 15 year old twins. We all loved our bedrooms, the location and the staff. We walked back from MOMA to the hotel - a walk that brought back the memories of my NYU days. We loved the design of the rooms, the view - everything. I also liked the vibrancy of the club below. The hotel which is a Morgan chain hotel reminded me of the original Morgan. We are all looking forward to another stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to ensure - this way you get the view of SOHO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just got back from a 3 day stay at this fantastic property. The staff was great, very engaging. The facilities were beautiful, and well maintained. The rooms were clean, the beds were super comfortable. The atrium bar is a great place to drink the morning joe, and an even better spot to enjoy the end of the day cocktail.

One unexpected treat was the rooftop bar, the views as well as the drinks were exceptional. Very hip crowd, and again the staff was welcoming, not stuffy.

This is a wonderful property, in a great location. I look forward to returning again soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Visited here last 4th of July for the rooftop bar. Watched the NYC fireworks and had an unforgettable night! The building was very modern and the lobbies were very cool! But the white marble bathroom was our favorite part! Close to plenty of NYC musts!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel, for which I have always held in high regard.

Unfortunately, this recent stay made me realize the quality, cleanliness and customer service is no longer at a standard I’d return to. There were a few items of concern that were brought to the hotel’s attention without a response. I will not go into detail here but it is extremely disappointing of a hotel to ignore the concerns of its customers.

While I did send the hotel an email to make them aware of the multiple concerns I did not receive a response.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear trusso8976,

Thank you for your candid comments and thank your for you repeat patronage of Mondrian Soho. With regards to your email from earlier this month, I have verified that all deficiencies mentioned have been addressed. It is beyond unacceptable for your email to have gone without response and I am personally looking into the circumstances therein. I will also be reaching out to you directly to further our conversation.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the first time in April 2012 and besides an initial misunderstanding with the manager my stay in this hotel was super. A fabulous high-floor room with a breath taking view of the city. The room was lovely, spacious for three people, clean and with the most comfortable beds I have ever found in a hotel.
After this experience, I chose this hotel to spend a few days of my honeymoon in May 2014. So I had my travel agent book a room for this special occasion in good advance and furthermore got in contact myself with the customer service in order to make sure that everything was ok.
Just to make it simple in main points what happened:
- Just a few hours before our late-night arrival I called to make sure everything was ok. After two long-distance calls the hotel told me there was no reservation at my name. I was a bit worried because of the late arrival but they reassured me there was a room for us. At our arrival the reservation strangely came out..
- The room was very small and nothing but at a high-floor. During our stay we asked for a room change even at our expenses but no attention was given to us. I even asked why we were given a 6th floor room when we kindly asked in advance for our honeymoon to have a high-floor room and I was told that it depended on who arrived first at the hotel. In my opinion this is not a correct way to treat customers especially those who come back to the hotel after a previous stay and who tried to book a special room for their honeymoon with such advance. For sure something went wrong and our reservation got mixed up (for the second time after two years). All the US hotels we stayed in during our honeymoon had a special treatment for us that was very thoughful and appreciated.
- We had a problem with the a toilet clog. The service was instant but I unfortunately noticed that housekeeping did not use any detergent to clean up the mess. Terrible. On our second day we found sheets with a stain: sheets must be always checked carefully every time. Clean sheets and towels make 90% of customer satisfaction.
OK, we’re talking about New York but I think that a high price should be accompanied by good service. I personally don’t bother spending a higher price for a nice hotel but request to have a very good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor room if available. The view of the city is breath-taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear ZiaMemy,

I am so sorry to hear that your second stay with us was not up to the standard of your first. Our aim is to make everyone's Mondrian experience as special as possible and that is even more the case when we have been informed of a special occasion you are celebrating. It sounds like you did not make your reservation directly though the hotel, which is always the most direct method, but regardless it is unacceptable that your message did not get though to the hotel to be auctioned on. I will personally look into the miscommunication with one of our reservation partners in hopes that this doesn't happen to anyone else in the future. I do hope you'll return to us in the future and give us the opportunity to treat you to a stay more similar to your first with us.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#161 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,903 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#148 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#185 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#6 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
TriBeCa
Tribeca Grand Hotel
Tribeca Grand Hotel
#156 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#304 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NOMO SOHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NOMO SOHO Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NOMO SOHO Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOMO SOHO is perfectly situated in New York City's SoHo district, an area renowned for fashion, art, and design. The modern, sleek design and energetic ambiance of the hotel are evocative of the surrounding neighborhood, which offers plenty of opportunities for shopping, dining, and exciting nightlife. Unique to the neighborhood, NOMO SOHO is one of the tallest buildings for blocks and features one of a kind panoramic views from the 25 floors of the hotel. Guests are just minutes from New York's remarkable cultural and historical landmarks, including the nearby neighborhoods of Little Italy, Chinatown, Lower East Side, and SoHo-- plus Battery Park, New Museum, the 9/11 Memorial and Museum, the Empire State Building, and a quick boat ride to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. NOMO SOHO features a conservatory-style restaurant that serves delectable dishes from award-winning chefs and a nightlife hotspot that offers craft cocktails and extensive wine selection for a night out in the city. After a busy day in NYC, the luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites provide a relaxing oasis complete with exquisite bedding, premium amenities such as daily newspapers, minibar, and iPod docking stations, plus breathtaking views of the city below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your NOMO SOHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NOMO SOHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.