We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room terrible airco” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NoMo SoHo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NoMo SoHo Hotel to your Saves list
NoMo SoHo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel) (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 15% off Best Rates!
Ranked #259 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small room terrible airco”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Nice hotel , great restaurant fine staff but typical minute room Worse though is the AIRCO location in the room .This unit is a sure guarantee for any traveller to the US in summer to get a real bad cold...
The top floor with its great view is more or less unaccesible to Hotel guests and one is often treated as an ""intruder '' by the staff...NOT DONE!

Room Tip: get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NoMo SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear johnblo,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience with us. We appreciate your patronage as well as your candor. I am so sorry you had an issue with your in-room temperature controls during your stay. We feel confident that we have identified the room in which you stayed and have tried our best to rectify the problem. It is also disappointing to here that you did not feel welcomed at Sonny's Soda Shoppe, our rooftop bar. While admittedly in past years we have had logistical challenges with holding open spaces upstairs for our hotel guests, we are now committed to ensuring that all hotel guests are able to visit Sonny's, with one guest, whenever the space is open to the public. It will, always, be the best idea to make a reservation before the space opens, which any staff member can assist you with.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again if your travel plans bring you back to New York,

Regards,

James Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    337
    134
    68
    36
See reviews for
124
406
73
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is one of 3 hotels I've stayed at in NYC and whilst I loved the others (The Standard Highline and the Standard Soho), the Mondrian is the winner for me. It combines the great elements of the other great hotels, with the additional fact that it is super affordable (relatively) for what you get.

I stayed at the Mondrian for a friend's 40th birthday celebration where 6 of us gathered from all over the world in this gorgeous hotel. I loved:
- the design
- the incredible views from all 3 rooms which our group stayed at
- the beds were super comfortable
- the service delightful.
- the rooftop bar
- the location, near some pretty funky bars, restaurants and shops

Perhaps our favourite part of our holidays was the time we spent at the rooftop bar (Sonny's Soda Bar) - it literally felt that we were on top of the world both at their 4th July party where we saw the fireworks, and also when we spent leisurely afternoons eating gelatos and sharing a cocktail. Mostly though, I loved the design of the hotel, the incredible location and the views from our rooms. An unforgettable NYC experience.

Room Tip: We requested rooms on higher floors. Two of the rooms we had were corner rooms, and they were just m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel was very nice friendly staff and very nice clean rooms Very disappointed in the club at the hotel though we wanted to go in and they wanted to charge us 400 dollars are you kidding me being a guest of the hotel we should have been able to get in for free.

Room Tip: pick a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed at Mondrian SoHo in january 2014 with my girlfriend. Great rooms with a great view of the city, we hade a room facing Brooklyn. The staff was really good and help us with anything we needed(from bookning tickets to arrange transport to Newark).
The hotels location i perfect, close to broadway and several different subways stations.



We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

...anyone with class will be overwhelmed by the "bling" that attempts to cover up for the thin walls and small rooms. Even at a discounted rate I would choose stay elsewhere. The rooms are small and oddly shaped with bathrooms that are very small. TVs are off certain end from beds so be prepared to have only one person see the tv. There is a rooftop club that just opened as well as the famous club in the lower floor. While exciting for party goers who can crash in the hotel after a crazy night, all others will never be able to avoid the noise. Bring earplugs. The saving grace is the beautiful restaurant with amazing service and a delightful menu. The pizza with capers and salmon (while it may sound odd) is delicious!!!!! The wine flight is refreshing and the appetizer I would recommend is the octopus. While I didn't have any cocktails, my collage who is a manager at a restaurant and former bartender loved the drinks - even suggested that they were unique and properly proportioned for an enjoyable taste without limiting alcohol content. Enjoy a dinner here and it almost makes up for the noise in the room. Or come for dinner and stay elsewhere. Your choice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotels in NYC can be tricky business, but this hotel was just wonderful, our room had a decent size and the bed (king size) was really comfortable. The location was awesome, close to Broadway for shopping and eating - and close to the subway. The breakfast was lovely too. In the evenings the clientele was trendy and funky, and the roof terrace was wonderful. We also stayed in a junior suite, and loved that to bits. An elegant and comfy hotel. The staff were also really sweet and helpful (no, we were not paid for this review...)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hip, fun little high-end place to stay in Soho -especially if you're a 20 or 30 something looking for a great spot to dress up and hang out. The rooms are nice but could definitely use some attention to detail. Our room was on the higher floors with good views and it was very light (lots of windows, but some were painted out for some bizarre reason). The beds are comfy, albeit a tad too small (why put a double mattress on a queen base and make your patrons suffer at night?) The bathroom was clean with a killer window along half of the wall making it also light and nice. They really should fix the bathroom door, however, so it will actually close.

Summary: Cool place, easy to pull up in a car and jump in and out (really rare in NY) with great places to hang out both for night life and just yummy food.

Pros: Great location, clean, friendly, hip and fun with nice, well lit rooms

Cons: Needs some maintenance, not especially kid friendly (but that's not the focus here)

We'd come back :)

Room Tip: Depends on the view you'd like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NoMo SoHo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NoMo SoHo Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NoMo SoHo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NoMo SoHo is perfectly situated in New York City's SoHo district, an area renowned for fashion, art, and design. The modern, sleek design and energetic ambiance of the hotel are evocative of the surrounding neighborhood, which offers plenty of opportunities for shopping, dining, and exciting nightlife. Unique to the neighborhood, NoMo SoHo is one of the tallest buildings for blocks and features one of a kind panoramic views from the 25 floors of the hotel. Guests are just minutes from New York's remarkable cultural and historical landmarks, including the nearby neighborhoods of Little Italy, Chinatown, Lower East Side, and SoHo-- plus Battery Park, New Museum, the 9/11 Memorial and Museum, the Empire State Building, and a quick boat ride to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. NoMo SoHo features a conservatory-style restaurant that serves delectable dishes from award-winning chefs and a nightlife hotspot that offers craft cocktails and extensive wine selection for a night out in the city. After a busy day in NYC, the luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites provide a relaxing oasis complete with exquisite bedding, premium amenities such as daily newspapers, minibar, and iPod docking stations, plus breathtaking views of the city below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your NoMo SoHo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NoMo SoHo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.