We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mondrian SoSo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mondrian SoHo Hotel to your Saves list
Mondrian SoHo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #228 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Dammam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Mondrian SoSo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Don't get me wrong this place has some real pluses. Location great, Isola restaurant was good and staff there was very good. The rooms are painfully small even for NYC, supposedly they have a doorman but I never seemed to see him when I was struggling with heavy bags trying to open the very heavy door with full hands. Liked the look of the place including the art installation in the reception area, but the gardenia fragrance was a bit overpowering. One thing that happened would make me not come back though. One of the staff members, and I am sure inadvertently game me the name of a guest complete with room number, which I thought was pretty poor form. I have stayed in that area several times and try a new place but I must say the Mercer has been the best of the bunch.

Room Tip: If you want a room you can have more than 1 person in along with luggage, you better get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    292
    105
    56
    30
See reviews for
105
364
57
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our stay was short but nevertheless, we really enjoyed the Mondrian. We had a king suite which was small but not tiny. Definitely bigger than some NYC hotels. Lovely view. Beautifully decorated white on white with touches of cobalt blue. Really hip and upscale. Beds and linen are super comfy and luxurious. Bathroom are a little tight, but sleek looking and manageable. The hotel even smells nice (something scented) when you enter the lobby. Common spaces are also visually interesting and very on-trend design wise. Surprisingly quiet even at night with a vibrant bar scene downstairs. We wanted to be walking distance to all of the shopping and restaurants in Soho. This is the perfect location for that. Staff was mostly helpful (had a hard time hailing a cab one night- just make sure you request one at the desk before you even get down to the street. The hotel is sort of "tucked away" and cabs don't generally pass by the entrance). Definitely stay here if you want to enjoy Soho and nearby NY attractions. You can do a lot on foot, subway, etc. The one cab ride we had to take to see a show on Broadway took forever. Have to leave at least an hour of extra time just to compensate for distance, traffic, etc. Or take the subway. All in all, it really feels like a special, private little retreat after a busy NY day. Only meal we ate here was breakfast. The room, which converts to a bar a night is truly beautiful. Food was okay. Price per night was a very good value.

Room Tip: Would opt to be higher up with views toward shopping area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

No bellman No assistance the rooms are zoo small I wouldn't put my child in one. the room was poorly stocked hardly a closet it is more of a b and b than a hotel. The hotel sucked but beautiful. Don't get me wrong great for a visit not to stay

Room Tip: if you can beg borrow or break the bank for a larger room or stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay 4 night stay. Glad we had a so called suite at the highest floor. The room was so small I can not imagine staying at a regular room.
The tray with glasses and ice bucket are placed in the bathroom sink as there is no space anywhere else. I decided to place them on the desk. Be prepared.
The restaurant was delicious every time we tried it. Has a great atmosphere to relax after a long day of walking in the city.
We have been to NYC many times and wanted to stay in this area instead of midtown, but this hotel is a bit away from the nicer part of Soho.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent the weekend here, it was a lovely hotel, the blue accents with lots of mirrors was quite unique. Room was a decent size for NYC, bathroom and shower were awesome. Location was great for our wedding in Little Italy. Close to the subway station that services most lines (Canal St.).

BEWARE: AVOID THE BAR!!! (Outside/patio bar named Isola, this may be different than the inside bar.) The bartender tried to add extra drinks onto my tab. She took them off when I pointed out her error (she claimed she thought I was paying for another guy's drinks, simply because I was talking to him while waiting for my drinks). However, she added an extra ten bucks on to the tip! Shady stuff, so beware. If you must buy a drink at the bar, stick to cash!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed in one of the deluxe suites in June for my wedding night as well as for the night before my wedding. The pre-wedding night was with all my bridesmaids, so it was such a great place in a wonderful location for us to hang out and be girls! The hotel is artful and beautiful. I love the blue that pops everywhere you go. I thought the room itself was amazing; I loved the floor to ceiling windows, the two bathrooms was awesome (just what we needed!) and the bed and pullout couch were great. The showers are roomy and very pretty. They also provide complimentary VOSS water and nice glasses for you to drink from. It's pretty cool that they have an ipod/iphone docking station; we used this to play music while we were getting ready in the morning!

The wedding night was in the same room and it was just as great. Service there is excellent! My husband and I ate at the restaurant for breakfast the next day and loved it. I just really loved this hotel :) It wasn't cheap but I think it was money well spent.

Room Tip: my deluxe suite really was spacious and just beautiful. You can't beat having 2 bathrooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

WE jsut came back from 4 nights at Mondrian Soho - it's a great hotel, really cool vibe and the feel of a small boutique hotel.

Location is great - in easy distance of the subway and 2 blocks from the shopping! Both high street (uniqlo, levi, topshop) and high end (tiffany, chanel, burberry) - also really close to Bloomingdales.

We got upgraded to a Superior room which was nice - loved the Malin&Goetz toiletries. The bed is also really comfortable but the walls are a bit thin. We part-paid for this with Avios, not sure if I would pay full price.

The rooms come with an ipad which is great for surfing and using google maps. The concierge is also great - recommended some nice restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: We had a nice view from 11th, facing the East side but not much to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian SoHo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian SoHo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by Jean Cocteau’s cinematic interpretation of the tale of “La Belle et la Bête”, Mondrian SoHo is yet another innovative vision by Benjamin Noriega Ortiz. With Mondrian’s design, Noriega awakens the imagination and invites guests into a fantasy that offers an escape. The hotel boasts a mesmerizing ambiance that captures the sparkling charm and romance of New York, Isola Trattoria & Crudo Bar - a Coastal Italian restaurant with food and ambience inspired by the Amalfi Coast, Italian Riviera and Sicily. Mister H - an intimate downtown nightlife concept inspired by old New York, and 270 guest rooms - each with stunning views wrapping around the island of Manhattan, custom-designed bath fixtures, and a clever nod to the tale here and there. All guest rooms at Mondrian are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian SoHo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian SoHo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.