We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope you like the color blue...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NOMO SOHO Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NOMO SOHO Hotel to your Saves list
NOMO SOHO Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel) (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% off Best Rates!
Ranked #259 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hope you like the color blue...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Overall the hotel is fine, the whole blue theme and feathers is a bit gaudy and tiresome after the
first day. Service and hospitality are all fine. The issues for me is that damn blue! Hope they change it soon. Note to all hotels that carry Malin and Goetz product, "it stinks" and is very masculine. Also, it would be great to have in room tea/coffee service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the high floors, as there is garbage pick up it seems everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    348
    142
    68
    36
See reviews for
127
419
75
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very comfortable room, friendly staff overall a great stay. Had free breakfast every morning except one morning after a health inspection the restaurant was closed, no other options were given except to go and buy breakfast somewhere else. Which isn't so bad considering you are in the best city in the world for food!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It's hard to believe that you can find a relaxing and quiet spot so close to little Italy and Chinatown in Manhattan. It's only a few blocks away from the metro station. We had breakfast in the restaurant, which was one of the highlights of our stay - delicious fresh fruit, good coffee and a beautiful setting. Would go back and advise friends to stay here, even though the rooms were on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the suggestion of our son, who works in New York and lives in NoLita. The rates were competitive, so we booked three nights and had a terrific stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the concierge, for whom we had lots of questions. The hotel is on the southeastern border of SoHo, and so it's very close to Little Italy and Chinatown. The Museum of China in America (MOCA) is right across the street to the east, for example. Our son's business, Soho Strength Lab, is on historic Mulberry Street, so we strolled down Mulberry all the way to Downtown Manhattan, passing through Little Italy, with the wonderful street front restaurants and Chinatown, with its own very different vibe. One day, we walked through SoHo in the other direcection, through Washington Square, the NYU campus, Greenwich Village, Chelsea and the High Line, before heading Uptown to the east side to eat that night taking the subway on the last leg.

The point of saying all this is that the hotel is nicely located for walking the streets of New York, which is what I like most about the city. The cultural variety is so dense that every step is a new discovery. And the places to eat around the hotel are numerous and varied, too. Try Jack's Wife Freda on Lafayette for breakfast, the Italian Food Center on Mulberry for lunch, and Socarrat on Mulberry for a dinner of tapas.

The hotel itself is a happening place. Men's Health Magazine was having some sort of launch party in the hotel's restaurant, Isola, while we were there. Lots of buzz about the place. Our room was upgraded to a suite by the front desk, which was nice, giving us essentially two bedrooms for the price of one. There was an iPad in the room to use to access hotel services. My wife said the gym was nice and fully equipped. Everything worked in the hotel and was clean. No complaints at all. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk to be sure you explore all the options. Higher floors give you a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is not a 5-star establishment. I´ve been at many different 5-star hotels in different countries around the world, and when booking a 5-star hotel you expect a certain level of service etc.

- No one helped us with our luggage when arriving.

Rooms are very small, which I understand is normal in NY. However, the bathroom consisted of a WC and a shower. The mirror and handwash was located in the room, next to the bed area. This is a hopeless and awkward experiment which is just weird from start to finish. Also, the bathroom is only separated from the bed area by a thin "door", with 2 cm opening in the ends, so the person standing outside the bathroom could see whatever was going on in the WC area. This is also awkward for people who´s not been married for 50 years or longer. Also, no place to put your clothes, only a small "Harry Potter" room with place for one suitcase and a few jackets.

If you want a 5-star experience in New York, stay far away from this overpriced hotel. We did not feel welcome here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear emami_daniel,

Thank you for staying at Mondrian Soho during your recent visit to New York City. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our unique design. Morgans Hotel Group has a total of four hotels in New York City and we are confident that one of our other properties would be a better fit for your next visit to New York. We encourage you to take a look at our other properties by visiting www.morganshotelgroup.com

We hope you had a memorable time taking in the sights of the city and thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed there 1 night to tour NYU. We arrived at night, and the valet service took care of our car ($55 for 24 hour parking), very polite and courteous. The location of the hotel was perfect, and allowed us to do a short walk to NYU and plenty of shopping.

The room was on the 23rd floor, and is quite small, but I suspect is typical of hotels in this area. The room was very modernly decorated, and everything seemed to be very new. The room had a beautiful view of the skyline. The bathroom was very nice, marble, great toilet and shower. Our room also had a large window to the skyline, which could make some people a bit self-conscience when showering. The bathroom wall was translucent, and although opaque, you were not given the feeling of a lot of privacy, visually or audibly. The bed was among the most comfortable that I have ever slept on [I have a select comfort].

Staff was pleasant and competent on all interactions.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, and elevators are speedy and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

First off, great location, lovely rooms and friendly concierge.

That sadly, is where it stops. This was my experience:

1. Waited 3hrs and 40minutes for check-in (after a VERY long international flight).
2. There were never any bikes (as shown on the website) nor Equinox facilities.
3. Waited an hour at the restaurant (which was empty whilst I waited for check-in) to be served.
4. Food in their only restaurant is appalling. Bland, poor produce and just terrible.
5. Despite the "do not disturb sign" I was woken up at 8am the next day for my laundry.
6. I then left the room at 8:30am to return at 4:30pm and the room had not been made.
7. The bar was closed for private events or simply closed for 4/5 nights I was there.
8. When I did go to the restaurant (again and again given there is nothing else) and asked for a drink plus nuts/a snack - they basically said no, I would have to order off the menu.

Best explanation I have is that they are grossly understaffed. Everyone was pleasant and I said the location and quality of the rooms were brilliant (room service great too). But this is no excuse as the hotel was full (events around the UN GA and Clinton Global Initiative in NY) and they should have known better.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up. The lower rooms are by the club and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#160 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#145 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#184 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#7 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
TriBeCa
Tribeca Grand Hotel
Tribeca Grand Hotel
#153 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#303 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NOMO SOHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NOMO SOHO Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NOMO SOHO Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOMO SOHO is perfectly situated in New York City's SoHo district, an area renowned for fashion, art, and design. The modern, sleek design and energetic ambiance of the hotel are evocative of the surrounding neighborhood, which offers plenty of opportunities for shopping, dining, and exciting nightlife. Unique to the neighborhood, NOMO SOHO is one of the tallest buildings for blocks and features one of a kind panoramic views from the 25 floors of the hotel. Guests are just minutes from New York's remarkable cultural and historical landmarks, including the nearby neighborhoods of Little Italy, Chinatown, Lower East Side, and SoHo-- plus Battery Park, New Museum, the 9/11 Memorial and Museum, the Empire State Building, and a quick boat ride to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. NOMO SOHO features a conservatory-style restaurant that serves delectable dishes from award-winning chefs and a nightlife hotspot that offers craft cocktails and extensive wine selection for a night out in the city. After a busy day in NYC, the luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites provide a relaxing oasis complete with exquisite bedding, premium amenities such as daily newspapers, minibar, and iPod docking stations, plus breathtaking views of the city below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your NOMO SOHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NOMO SOHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.