We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21st century rooming house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian SoHo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mondrian SoHo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUITE VIEWS
Ranked #203 of 449 hotels in New York City
London
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
542 helpful votes 542 helpful votes
“21st century rooming house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our travel agent suggested the Mondrian as we wanted a change of hotel and district in NYC. On arrival we were pretty disappointed - we did not like the decor ('like a lady's hairdresser'), poorly lit hallways and lifts, minute rooms, wash basins in the room not the bathroom, almost total lack of storage space, minimal service, extra charge for poor internet etc. When we complained we were given a slightly bigger room with a larger bathroom which has the wash basin IN THE BATHROOM! Unfortunately it has no storage whatsoever apart from a tiny closet - not a single drawer.As a result we are not able to unpack and our detritus litters the room, which we hate. However, we've grown used to our junk littering the room and having nowhere to relax except the bed, It's like being teenagers again, though our energy levels are lower. And the room is clean and comfortable. So overall it's not awful, and better than we first feared, but we won't return if we can possibly avoid it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    254
    83
    49
    26
See reviews for
89
321
53
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I love it, i spent a lot of night in most of NYC hotels and i wasnt expecting much to be honest, i know that NYC has small rooms and most of the time unfrendly staff but morgans reserve as usual surpises. Hotel is in the collest location of NYC, i got upgraded to a corner room so i had larger space ( still small compared to other cities). Room all white and blue, but surprise teh view of NY is amazing ( from the 22nd floor). Well i didn't want to leave the room just to watch the view. Restaurant Isola great and breakfast up to the expectations.
only one defect, once you arrive especially out of busy hours ( i arrived at 11pm) it is extremely difficoult to identify the reception lobby so i would recomend an signage integrated in the design or more support to guide the clients to the lobby.

Room Tip: try to get top floors corner rooms, it costs more for sure but it pay the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Mondrian Soho is in a great location but is a very impersonal hotel. Ground floor has a nice bar and restaurant but hotel reception is upstairs. Once you have checked in you never see reception again, and staff are young and need work on their customer service skills. They don't know who is staying there and who isn't with no security, anyone able to enter the lifts as you don't need to present your room key. Rooms are very tastefully decorated, clean and fresh. The window opened in the room which freaked me out a little bit, escpecially from floor 19. I was really disappointed that hotel guests didn't get use of the roof top bar. Its run separately from the hotel and I believe falsely advertised in hotel material. You need to line up (like at a nightclub) and pay a minimum table fee, its also only open certain days of the week.
The hotel also took a $150 per night security deposit from your credit card and took 7 days to release it. I wouldn't recommend this hotel

Room Tip: ask for a Deluxe or Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for four days after moving from Soho House, where I'd spent a week with girlfriends. Now Soho House is brilliant, but too expensive on my own, so after meticulous research over months and an original booking at The Night Hotel, I came across The Mondrian. With an amazing deal online, I cancelled the Night (too dark!) and re-booked here.The entrance via garden is gorgeous. The location is brilliant for shopping the village, but also for walking downtown into financial area, Tribeca, LIttle Italy just over the road, and great metro stations. The crowd there is fashionable, which I love and got some great people watching in. The check-in lobby is a bit lack-lustre, but really, you only need to check in there. My room was bigger than expected and the layout added to the space. Mini-bar was expensive but ok. Internet was fine for speed, although agree with others that shouldn't be charged for. The only issue I had was that I was directly underneath the rooftop bar and so was serenaded every night by party hard music with a bed vibrating to the bass. This would be a nightmare for some, so see my notes on rooms. I have to say though, that I still slept ok, thanks to the extra strong margaritas in the bar and the amount of walking I'd done each day. And the beds and pillows are fantastic. Lastly, the staff were just lovely. Really friendly and helpful, especially the chaps working the welcome, bag store etc. I don't really have anything negative to say and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Build a gorgeous building with a great decor over a subway station (to make sure the hotel is vibrating and oscilating all the time), make sure you have the tiniest rooms possible at the most expensive price you can imagine, have a rude and uneffiscient staff at the restaurant (eye rolling, gum poping, 45mn to get an omelet) and sugar coat it with a door man who refuses to help you with you luggage because there are stairs (and who will say that the taxi change is between 2 and 6 pm!).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arild
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Mondrian Soho is a very good hotel. Very good indeed. You enter in style via Crosby Street with its clandestine, red carpet-like entrance (minus staring crowds and paparazzis). Or you enter from Lafayette Street in less style, where you are more likely to feel lost. Is this really a hotel? Either way you enter you will find the whole street level area is busy and relaxing at the same time. The bar and restaurant [Isola] has a lantern ceiling that crowns the place with a fin-de-siecle European atmosphere. There is also a small yard outside, towards Crosby Street, which is a true gem. However, the management has for unclear reasons decided that there is no service outside. Coffee and other non-alcoholic beverages can be consumed if you purchase them in the bar – they don’t encourage that but I even managed to eat breakfast outside. The library bar is equally cozy and inviting – and then there is the other bar… which I will get back to that later. The hotel lobby is upstairs and unless you have a specific problem you wont have to bother visiting, besides from checking in and out. Concierge is situated in lobby area and all my extra bonus points goes to them for booking fabulous places on short notice – during fashion week!!! Truly impressive. Even over the phone services work flawless. Service at its best! Same goes for the rooms. Like other Morgan Group hotels they are small but with intelligent, spacious design. No complaint what so ever, and to shower with Manhattan view is always special. This text could be called “a long elevator pitch”, and you will have plenty of time for that, while waiting for the elevators. Because after six p.m. the transportation system is broken. This is when the really posh roof-top bar Soaked, is opened. Make no mistake about it, the bar is really worth checking out, but the only way of doing that is via a completely idiotic system. First you have to go out and meet a bouncer on Lafayette Street. He will screen you and decide it you are “go” or “no go”. Having passed this instance, with a stamp on your wrist, you now have to go and see the second bouncer, occupying one of the hotels three elevators. This system is both humiliating as a guest and cock-ups the entire elevator flow, resulting in many a swearing guest stuck on each floor. And now back to the “other” bar, Mr H. Well in fact, it is back to the bouncer again. Once again you have to be screened and checked (as a guest) to be able to get a drink when coming home to your hotel. Well, I get that they want a certain clientele, but if you are not welcomed as a paying guest, maybe this is stretching the concept a bit too far as disappointed “no goers” will certify.
Even so, and with that touch of Basil Fawlty with muscles, I still want to come back to Mondrian Soho. My hope is that the door-man policy is solved by then.

Room Tip: Go for floor to ceiling windows. Yes it will cost extra. Yes it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed with friends at the Mondrian in soho. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do in N.Y. The rooms were on the small side but I think that's pretty normal for the area, but they were kept spotlessly clean . The staff are polite, courteous and helpful. The bar and garden areas are a nice place to sit and relax and unwind at the end of the day. The only negative was my friend being forcibly removed from an elevator by somebodies thug ,saying it was for "private use"....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian SoHo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#235 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian SoHo Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by Jean Cocteau’s cinematic interpretation of the tale of “La Belle et la Bête”, Mondrian SoHo is yet another innovative vision by Benjamin Noriega Ortiz. With Mondrian’s design, Noriega awakens the imagination and invites guests into a fantasy that offers an escape. The hotel boasts a mesmerizing ambiance that captures the sparkling charm and romance of New York, Isola Trattoria & Crudo Bar - a Coastal Italian restaurant with food and ambience inspired by the Amalfi Coast, Italian Riviera and Sicily. Mister H - an intimate downtown nightlife concept inspired by old New York, and 270 guest rooms - each with stunning views wrapping around the island of Manhattan, custom-designed bath fixtures, and a clever nod to the tale here and there. All guest rooms at Mondrian are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Mondrian SoHo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian SoHo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.