We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & Stylish Boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian SoHo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mondrian SoHo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUITE VIEWS
Ranked #195 of 451 hotels in New York City
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Modern & Stylish Boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We decided to take a hotel on the spur of the moment the night before so we shopped around. Normally we would stay in The Standard High Line, but it was booked out so I took a look around this gem of a boutique hotel came up. We took a standard room and booked it the night before for something like $230. We checked in with crystal I think her name was. She was very helpful and accommodated us with a room on the 19th floor on the SE corner. While we didn't have a view of the Empire State building, it was a great view. We could see everything from the Manhattan Bridge down to the Brooklyn Bridge and the financial District. It was a great view at night. It is a stylish hotel but it lacks in a few areas. The bathroom area is much smaller than I anticipated, but I can't complain too much for the price I paid. I was expecting a rain shower instead of a bath, but it was pretty large anyway. The service was great and the main entrance is great to walk through. We arrived the night before the MTV VMA after parties so the rooftop bar was closed. The breakfast was the other letdown, my partner ordered something completely different to me. I got the smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel with capers but was not blown away by it. I would have expected better. Although the night before we ordered a delicious gourmet pizza. As we had a late check-in Crystal gave us a late checkout of 1:30pm. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Andrew G,

We are so glad that you gave us a chance and decided to stay at Mondrian Soho. Crystal is a true gem and a great part of our team. I have shared your compliments with her and the rest of the team here which are truly appreciated.

We hope that you will join us again soon and that you will have the opportunity to experience Soaked on a night that it is open to the public. Also, if you happen to join us for breakfast again, we recommend you try the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes - they will truly blow your mind as well as your taste buds.

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    256
    84
    49
    26
See reviews for
90
323
53
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in August 2013. Check in experience was fast & courteous.Had a corner room on the 20th Level with fantastic views, expecially at night. Hotel handy to subways, Little Italy only a 5 minute walk away. Very convenient & relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Glenn B,

We are happy to read that you had a very pleasant stay and interaction with our staff at check-in. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon and thank you for choosing Mondrian Soho during your New York City holiday!

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August. The "pre check-in service" is second to none. Vivien was always helpful and attentive in her communications. Randy on the front door is very also friendly and helpful. This hotel is very stylish without being over the top - which is in line with other Morgan hotels. The room decor is beautiful. We had a suite so there's no complaint re size. I have to admit though - I don't get the bathroom with the shower and toilet in it and then the vanity in the bedroom. It's something I've seen at a few US hotels. I've read in other reviews problems with air conditioning int he hall ways. Something else I don't get! Really guys, it wouldn't be anymore than 20 steps from the elevator to your room - does it really matter if the hall way is a little stuffy? I'm more concerned with the air conditioning in the room - and we had no problem with that.

I think this hotel relies heavily on its night club patrons. Having only 3 elevators for 24 floors - and one being blocked at night for guests of the roof top bar, only leaves 2 for hotel guests. I found this really frustrating - especially when one of the remaining elevators was out of order leaving only one for all hotel guests. Position - close to Little Italy and Chinatown with great restauarants close by. Also close to the subway.

If SoHo is your preferred NYC location - you can't do much better than the Mondrian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear tvlerSydney,

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay. Vivian and Randy are a true asset to our team and we are happy to read that they made a wonderful impression on you. I will make sure to share your compliments with them and the rest of the team.

I would like to truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our elevators during your stay. We truly understand your frustration and we are working on a solution for the next summer season when Soaked re-opens.

We hope to be welcoming you back very soon for another wonderful stay.

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. rally nicely decorated. the rooms are a little small but that didnt bother us. We had a free upgrade because it was our honeymoon which was really nice of them. the staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. There is a really cool rooftop bar which is the olf penthouse. Stunning views of manhatten at night. All the trendy people seem to hang out at this hotel!! Loved the fact that is is away from all the touristy spots. The metro is just around the corner so very easy to get around. Stay here, its a bit pricy but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Emma S,

It sounds like you had a very fun honeymoon stay at Mondrian Soho. We are happy to read that you were able to experience Soaked during your visit and that our staff upgraded you on your special trip. Congratulations to you and your husband. We hope you will join us again soon!

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Mondrian for 2 nights in May 2013 on the recommendation of a colleague as we needed to have a small team meeting. It was a beautiful hotel, the conference services were really nice and well organised and I loved the restaurant. Full of beautiful people, it felt very cool and the food was really good. We were people watching and the atmosphere was fun and welcoming! Rooms a little small but great views, super clean. And very tasteful, cool music everywhere. Would really stay again on a tourist visit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear FTR2013,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled to read that we were able to accommodate your groups needs and hope that you will be joining us again soon for fun!

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you value style and the "right Manhattan attitude" over function and comfort this is a good choice for you. The rooms are chicly decorated, but small and there is not much place to put clothes or toiletries. The garden entrance is very pleasant. The gym is adequate but a bit claustrophobic. I think I am just not hip enough to fully appreciate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent 10x nights here with my wife. LOVED IT! staff were all very professional and helpful. Amazing hotel with beautiful views. clean, comfortable and very well located if you want to stay downtown. Central part of Soho, within walking distance to Greenwich Village and the Lower East Side. Rooftop bar great place to have an afternoon drink and the restaurant downstairs has good food.
The only thing I could possibly criticize is that fact it didn't have a pool. (space is limited with NY hotels) Other than that I would definitely recommend the Mondrian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Nick O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mondrian Soho during your long visit to New York City! It thrills us to read that you loved our hotel, staff and neighborhood. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back for another terrific vacation in the near future. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian SoHo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian SoHo Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by Jean Cocteau’s cinematic interpretation of the tale of “La Belle et la Bête”, Mondrian SoHo is yet another innovative vision by Benjamin Noriega Ortiz. With Mondrian’s design, Noriega awakens the imagination and invites guests into a fantasy that offers an escape. The hotel boasts a mesmerizing ambiance that captures the sparkling charm and romance of New York, Isola Trattoria & Crudo Bar - a Coastal Italian restaurant with food and ambience inspired by the Amalfi Coast, Italian Riviera and Sicily. Mister H - an intimate downtown nightlife concept inspired by old New York, and 270 guest rooms - each with stunning views wrapping around the island of Manhattan, custom-designed bath fixtures, and a clever nod to the tale here and there. All guest rooms at Mondrian are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian SoHo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian SoHo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.